10/12 Regs APMS 189 +1 286

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Yesterday
It seems Regs likes those lower preshot numbers at the moment. Last night he went down to 161, and this morning his AMPS was 189. He was feeling so good that he climbed all the way up his cat tree! Normally he only makes it halfway up. Maybe the Zobaline is starting to show some effect, or perhaps the lower numbers are helping with his neuropathy.

Trying to be brave, I gave him his usual dose, which seems to have been the right decision so far, as his +1 was 286. Maybe we're heading into a bounce from that 161.

BTW, have you noticed that your cats have a good ear and a bad ear when it comes to testing? One of Regs' ears just doesn't want to give me any blood! A couple of days ago, I tested both ears and got significantly different readings, 286 in one ear and 204 in the other.

Even though it means more headaches for me, I'm so glad I increased his dose to 2.5 units. We've been seeing more blues since then, and that makes me really happy!

IMG_7726.jpeg
 
Yesterday
It seems Regs likes those lower preshot numbers at the moment. Last night he went down to 161, and this morning his AMPS was 189. He was feeling so good that he climbed all the way up his cat tree! Normally he only makes it halfway up. Maybe the Zobaline is starting to show some effect, or perhaps the lower numbers are helping with his neuropathy.

Trying to be brave, I gave him his usual dose, which seems to have been the right decision so far, as his +1 was 286. Maybe we're heading into a bounce from that 161.

BTW, have you noticed that your cats have a good ear and a bad ear when it comes to testing? One of Regs' ears just doesn't want to give me any blood! A couple of days ago, I tested both ears and got significantly different readings, 286 in one ear and 204 in the other.

Even though it means more headaches for me, I'm so glad I increased his dose to 2.5 units. We've been seeing more blues since then, and that makes me really happy!

View attachment 80727
Yay! Great job shooting that blue today! And that’s awesome that this new dose seems to be working better for Regs and he seems to be more active and feeling better :)

Moonie also has an ear that’s easier to get blood from, but that’s weird that the numbers were so different. Though I’ve noticed that at the higher numbers the meter variance (15-20 percent) starts making a really big impact just because the margin for error is getting multiplied off a big base.
 
Great job shooting Britta! Regs looks so happy up on his tree! I am so happy to hear he's feeling better and getting around more easily!
Interesting about the ears...I am sure many people find that too.
Ivy hates ANY ear poked (hence the Libre)

Safe surfs today Regs!💙💙:kiss:🐈😻🌊🏄‍♂️
 
Yay! Great job shooting that blue today! And that’s awesome that this new dose seems to be working better for Regs and he seems to be more active and feeling better :)

Moonie also has an ear that’s easier to get blood from, but that’s weird that the numbers were so different. Though I’ve noticed that at the higher numbers the meter variance (15-20 percent) starts making a really big impact just because the margin for error is getting multiplied off a big base.
Im still nervous about shooting when he is lower. This week Rob is gone and that does not make it much better😫 His plus 2 was just over 300 so I assume he is bouncing today. I can see him in the camera stretched out and sleeping. I would love to have a nap like that right now 😂

Maybe they do have a good and a bad ear?!

I started just taking blood just from the “good” ear and feel so sorry for him because the ear is a bit bruised up now. But on the other ear I have to poke him sometimes 10 times until I get some blood

IMG_9263.jpeg
 
Im still nervous about shooting when he is lower. This week Rob is gone and that does not make it much better😫 His plus 2 was just over 300 so I assume he is bouncing today. I can see him in the camera stretched out and sleeping. I would love to have a nap like that right now 😂

Maybe they do have a good and a bad ear?!

I started just taking blood just from the “good” ear and feel so sorry for him because the ear is a bit bruised up now. But on the other ear I have to poke him sometimes 10 times until I get some blood

View attachment 80731
Hahaha he looks SO comfy! I wish I could take a nap like that too!

Ugh I hate it when their ears look so beat up. I try to go up and down the ear purposely - starting from the top to the bottom so that I'm never poking the same spot twice in a day. And I'd also keep trying the other ear every now and then, because the more you poke it, the more capillaries will form. Moonie's good ear still yields blood more reliably, but now we can get blood from the other ear within 2-3 pokes 95% of the time whereas it used to be impossible before.
 
Hahaha he looks SO comfy! I wish I could take a nap like that too!

Ugh I hate it when their ears look so beat up. I try to go up and down the ear purposely - starting from the top to the bottom so that I'm never poking the same spot twice in a day. And I'd also keep trying the other ear every now and then, because the more you poke it, the more capillaries will form. Moonie's good ear still yields blood more reliably, but now we can get blood from the other ear within 2-3 pokes 95% of the time whereas it used to be impossible before.
I really need to try using the other ear a little at least try a couple pokes before I use the good ear, poor Regs always walks away now when he sees me with the meter now, or turns the head away that I can't reach his ear.

the shock moment from today was I came home and measured the glucose and the meter showed HIGH, oh shock.Not even sure when the meter shows high. But I tested twice more and we had 297 and 300 so I hope he will be fine. But that meant 3 more pokes on the ear 😥
 
Khloe has a ‘good’ ear too. Like Connie I still try to use the ‘bad’ ear for testing so it can learn to bleed better. Usually I’ll try 3-4 pokes on the bad ear and if still no blood, I just use the good one.

Great job shooting today, before you know it you’ll be a pro at all this 🤗
Thanks so much Sara, I really hope to grow the balls of steel one day like you all have.

I should try a couple pokes in the other ear too, but I always feel so sorry when I poke him 10 times and there is still no blood. Can't bribe him enough with treats. I was also very confused why the numbers of the right ear was so different to the left when they should be the same or at least similar.
 
Not even sure when the meter shows high. But I tested twice more and we had 297 and 300 so I hope he will be fine. But that meant 3 more pokes on the ear 😥
Good intuition on this. If you get a reading that seems off, always test again! Sometimes too much blood can make the meter give an incorrect reading. I believe there are a few other reasons that can give incorrect readings too, but I can’t remember them right now.

I really hope to grow the balls of steel one day like you all have.
You’ll get there, I promise! If it’s any consolation at all (so you don’t feel like you’re the only one), the first time I shot a green number I sat in my living room staring at Khloe literally for 5 hours straight. Not exaggerating at all. I didn’t even want to watch tv or anything. Just me and Khloe looking at each other like this 👁️_👁️
 
I really need to try using the other ear a little at least try a couple pokes before I use the good ear, poor Regs always walks away now when he sees me with the meter now, or turns the head away that I can't reach his ear.

the shock moment from today was I came home and measured the glucose and the meter showed HIGH, oh shock.Not even sure when the meter shows high. But I tested twice more and we had 297 and 300 so I hope he will be fine. But that meant 3 more pokes on the ear 😥
Ugh I’m sorry Britta. It’s really hard to balance testing for data / safety and preserving the ears and testing cooperation. I’m still struggling with that balance myself.
 
Good intuition on this. If you get a reading that seems off, always test again! Sometimes too much blood can make the meter give an incorrect reading. I believe there are a few other reasons that can give incorrect readings too, but I can’t remember them right now.


You’ll get there, I promise! If it’s any consolation at all (so you don’t feel like you’re the only one), the first time I shot a green number I sat in my living room staring at Khloe literally for 5 hours straight. Not exaggerating at all. I didn’t even want to watch tv or anything. Just me and Khloe looking at each other like this 👁️_👁️
Omg when I’ve done this in the past, Moonie has looked at me panicked like “am I dying?? What’s wrong with you? What’s wrong with me? Why are you staring?”

Also Britta you are a way smarter woman than me because the first time that happened to me, I posted here that my cat was dying and I needed urgent help 🤣. And I was literally in my car with Moonie when thankfully someone here suggested testing again…
 
You’ll get there, I promise! If it’s any consolation at all (so you don’t feel like you’re the only one), the first time I shot a green number I sat in my living room staring at Khloe literally for 5 hours straight. Not exaggerating at all. I didn’t even want to watch tv or anything. Just me and Khloe looking at each other like this 👁️_👁️
Moonie has looked at me panicked like “am I dying?? What’s wrong with you? What’s wrong with me? Why are you staring?”
Oh yes, I even do that when he is lower than 200, the one time he was under 100 as the AMPS I did not leave his side for hours. Or when he is low at night I do not go to bed until the sugar goes up again. So we have a lot of staring time, mostly I do, Regs sleeps in this time

Also Britta you are a way smarter woman than me because the first time that happened to me, I posted here that my cat was dying and I needed urgent help 🤣. And I was literally in my car with Moonie when thankfully someone here suggested testing again…
Oh you poor that must have been terrible for you and a big shock for Moonie that her mom freaked out. It just seemed so off, normally he does not go so crazy high in the afternoon. And since he was hiding in the cave of his tree and I had to poke him through the little window I thought something must have been wrong. It was a shocked anyway and so happy when I saw the lower number afterwards.


His PMPS was 281 so I hope he lets me sleep at least a little tonight.
 
Back
Top