10/12 Blaze amps 430, +2 529, PMPS 427, +2 402

With a bounce like this today, I feel like it’s pointless to even get a curve tomorrow, especially a day time curve when he is typically higher in the day time cycle and lower in the night time cycle. Does it seems like he needs to be increased to 1U again, after tomorrow, which would be the 7th day on 0.75U.

If numbers are consistently high from bouncing and then he has some low nadirs one or two night, how do you know when to increase the dose or when to hold the dose?
Every time Blaze gets good numbers, he bounces, so I don’t feel like I have a good understanding of what the 0.75U is doing, due to all the bouncing.
Anyone who can help, please chime in!
 
57AB1286-0F34-4D3B-8686-9646219D2B16.jpeg
 
I’ll be out of the house for most of the day so probably won’t test again until PMPS, give his ears a pokie break.
I’m making homemade Halloween sugar cookies with my mom today, we do this for every big holiday :) hope everyone has a great Saturday!!
 
Oh Blaze... you're being predictable bud, come back from the moon :P

First of all AWESOME PJs!! mega festive, also Blaze is SUCH a handsome man!

Second: I agree with you, no sense doing a curve today for sure, wait and see what is going on this evening and tomorrow morning before you decide if you should do a curve, but based on last nights numbers I would say you're in the 'hold the dose' phase :). The bounces make it confusing but just remember that the bounces are Blazes body reacting to BG numbers that are much lower than he has become used to, your lows last night are the true effects of the 0.75u dose. The more time he spends in these low numbers the 'better' the bounces are... when I say better I mean they don't last as long and they don't go as high :) Mowgli still bounces after 8 months but he clears them really quickly! it will be that way until he gets used to lower numbers.

Controversial and annoying suggestion: Do a night curve, horrible I know. The nights are going to give you Blazes worst case scenario. I have done this a few times so trust me I know its a pain but it does give you valuable information, I just use an alarm to make sure I get up. I'm going to sound lazy here but: secret admission: Sometimes when I do a curve that the purpose is to identify the nadir, I will just grab 2 more samples after the nadir to ensure Mowgli is coming up and that he has truly had his peak with the insulin. I wouldn't suggest this as a regular practice... but I think it would be ok for a night time curve personally, especially since Blaze Nadirs around +4-6 typically. Anyway, just an idea, no pressure at all for you to do that, and other members might actually think its a bad idea anyway :)

TLDR: when Blaze is going low... that is the true effect of the dose. When he bounces way high, its his body reacting to spending time in low numbers he isnt used to :)

Hope youre having a great weekend! you deserve a rest after working those extra hours :)
 
Great idea AmandaE has there...miserable time to get it...no sleep...ugh...But you really do need to get a whole bunch of tests...gotta find out when he's hitting that low spot...

Once you identify when it's happening you'll know when to feed to avoid those 'lows' and then to avoid those highs...

Love the PJ's!! He's so gorgeous...love the Tux's!!
 
Oh Blaze... you're being predictable bud, come back from the moon :p

First of all AWESOME PJs!! mega festive, also Blaze is SUCH a handsome man!

Second: I agree with you, no sense doing a curve today for sure, wait and see what is going on this evening and tomorrow morning before you decide if you should do a curve, but based on last nights numbers I would say you're in the 'hold the dose' phase :). The bounces make it confusing but just remember that the bounces are Blazes body reacting to BG numbers that are much lower than he has become used to, your lows last night are the true effects of the 0.75u dose. The more time he spends in these low numbers the 'better' the bounces are... when I say better I mean they don't last as long and they don't go as high :) Mowgli still bounces after 8 months but he clears them really quickly! it will be that way until he gets used to lower numbers.

Controversial and annoying suggestion: Do a night curve, horrible I know. The nights are going to give you Blazes worst case scenario. I have done this a few times so trust me I know its a pain but it does give you valuable information, I just use an alarm to make sure I get up. I'm going to sound lazy here but: secret admission: Sometimes when I do a curve that the purpose is to identify the nadir, I will just grab 2 more samples after the nadir to ensure Mowgli is coming up and that he has truly had his peak with the insulin. I wouldn't suggest this as a regular practice... but I think it would be ok for a night time curve personally, especially since Blaze Nadirs around +4-6 typically. Anyway, just an idea, no pressure at all for you to do that, and other members might actually think its a bad idea anyway :)

TLDR: when Blaze is going low... that is the true effect of the dose. When he bounces way high, its his body reacting to spending time in low numbers he isnt used to :)

Hope youre having a great weekend! you deserve a rest after working those extra hours :)
Thank you! Halloween is my favorite and I feel like it’s Blaze’s favorite too!:D

and sounds good about the curve. I’m sure he’s going to be bouncing for the next couple of days due to his low numbers last night. We‘ll see where he’s at tonight and tomorrow morning, but if I were to do a curve, it would have to be Friday, Saturday or Sunday so I might hold off on a curve until next weekend. And that makes sense about seeing the actual effects of the 0.75U last night, and I think holding the 0.75U dose sounds good. Hopefully he clears the bounce soon and spends some more time in those good numbers!
And I’m not opposed to a night time curve at all, I have actually thought that a night time curve would show more of what a dose is doing for him than a day time curve because Blaze is lower in the evenings. But I don’t think tonight is the night for that, due to him bouncing, but I will see where he’s at with PMPS. Typically I can only get a curve on Friday through Sunday anyways so maybe next weekend if tonight or tomorrow morning is still looking like a bounce.
Thank you for your input and advice Amanda, I appreciate it so much! Hope you and Mowg are having a good weekend!!:cat:
 
PMPS is 427
Looks like tonight is not the night. Guess it’s a good night for some rest and pokie breaks! Anyway even based on the other night I’d say I would keep the dose too!!

and no problem on the advice! Trust me, I always need advice too! The two of us will figure it out at some point ;)
 
Looks like tonight is not the night. Guess it’s a good night for some rest and pokie breaks! Anyway even based on the other night I’d say I would keep the dose too!!

and no problem on the advice! Trust me, I always need advice too! The two of us will figure it out at some point ;)
Ya, it seems pointless to do a night curve when he’s been bouncing all day and didn’t show much activity at the +2. He deserves a pokie break and I can get some sleep! Hopefully we wake up to a lower number but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s high again. He seems like he’s a three day bouncer :rolleyes:

And yes, we’ll figure it out at some point! Until then, so thankful to have everyone here, including you!:)
 
Night Sarah! It’s always nice to know you can take a pokie break.. for your sanity, and Balzes :P

sweet dreams!!
 
Back
Top