10/11PowderPMPS421

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo viewforum.php?f=9

All Powdie Boy's P's in place. He stayed up through feeding the dogs and all excitement of ins and outs. Looked like he was thinking about trying to sneak out. Wondering if he's plotting something. He didn't bounce too high so hoping for a downward trend. Hope all in LL have a great day and numbers.
 
Re: 10/11PowderAMPS307

I hope Powder comes down from the pink floor, but not too far! Nice job experimenting with food last night...it's really the only way to see what works for your kitty.
 
Re: 10/11PowderAMPS307

I know I wasn't home to monitor this am which really irked me :-x I went to get Powder's syringes at Walmart "ready in 1/2 an hour" rilght :!: :!: It took over an hour and 15 mins. If I had known I would have dropped it off etc etc. Sooo I don't know what happened. He could have gone down again but he didn't last nigh. Now he's at almost 400 :shock:
I don't know what to do anymore :sad: Is he bouncing from yesterday confused_cat I can't seem to get any consistency no matter what I do. A little of this food with a little of that. Small spread out mini meals , 4 feedings. I haven't changed these variables without waiting to see if they will work.
When it seems hopeful that we may get some good numbers wham down in the lows then boing up in the 400's. He's on such a small amount of L where .1 is not enough, .25 is too much, skinny .25 may not be enough grr_red . I'm feeling very frustrated and close to crying. He just did a horse size pee so this is crazy. :cry:
I hope that someone can let me know if they've experienced this and what I should be doing that I'm not. I feel so bad that I'm not giving the care he needs to recover enough to stabilize. He's such an old guy and that is a big disadvantage for him since his organs have been used for a long time. I don't know how long his tiny 5 lb body can tolerate unregulated diabetes much longer. I'm so afraid the longer this goes on the more likely his kidneys will be damaged. I'm sorry if I seem dramatic but he depends on me and right now I feel like I'm letting him down.
 
Re: 10/11PowderAMPS307+4 220+8 393

+9 385 crying for food gave him 1/3 can lc FF beef classic. Hoping for help looking over SS so maybe I can do better. Should I feed the emaciated boy less? On the shelter scale he's probably a one. :sad: The kitty cruelty police are going to arrest me. I found a local pharmacy with the syringe barrel magnifier going to check it out. Thanks for helping us.
 
I gave him 1tbsp of cowboy cookout he wants more. Shot skinny 0.25 again 'cause haven't heard what you might think I should change or if I should change anything.
 
For now, feed Powder what he wants -- especially if he's underweight. Until his numbers even out, he may be hungry much of the time. It's fine to feed him

I think you should hold the dose for now. It's likely this is a bounce. You don't want to increase a dose during a bounce -- wait until it clears and then we'll evaluate.

I want to encourage you to step back for a moment. Powder has been on Lantus for 3 weeks. He is probably not at his optimal dose and it's pretty clear that his liver isn't used to low numbers yet. Give this more time. You're doing fine and Powder is adjusting. It just doesn't happen over night.
 
Thanks for responding Sienne. I don't think I understand this even though every spare minute is reading info on site reviewing others SS. My life for the last 5-6 weeks has been FD. I'm a nurse so this shouldn't be so hard to grasp. Maybe you can help.
1) If Powder has had to decrease to .10-.25 and his pancreas isn't working really, where are we talking that his optimum dose would be? Higher--lower? He just went up after 10 cycles at 0.1 to 0.25 again then dropped on the second dose and had to decrease again. There can't be that much difference between a skinny 0.25 and 0.10 is there?

2)Before I think it was advised to feed smaller meals more frequently so if he drops he would eat tiny amts of HC and or gravy to get them to surf. How can I do this if I feed him all he wants?

3)What is this protracted lack of regulation doing to his kidneys Is there anything I can do to prevent damage while we wait for the P to wake up besides lots of water?
4)by +4-+5 he is rising that's about 16 hours a day that he's in the potential renal harm range How long can he go like this.

I get what you're saying with the 3 weeks thing but I would have thought that his numbers would be a little more stable .especially with having to decrease so many times. Does this mean he will just go along like this for months in your experience?
 
I feel your frustration Kathy, and your worry. I don't have advice, but can give you a bump. Maybe put "Question" in your header to get more eyes?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top