10/11 Coco AMPS 222 +4 238 PMPS 485

win&coco

Member Since 2026
Yesterday.

He came down, I hope he stays in this range instead of going up. He seems with more energy than yesterday and drank/ate pretty good, this makes me happy.

We still have some rain and roads are closed, but we hopefully can go to the vet tomorrow so they can examine him and see his elecrtrolit levels. And I hope he doesn't go up again either.
 
Last edited:
That's great he's found the yellow again was down from those higher numbers. Looks like the bounce has broken, about six cycles after the previous yellows. And he's started another bounce, :banghead:

I do agree with @Bandit's Mom that this looks like too big a reduction. Good luck at the vet tomorrow.
 
That's great he's found the yellow again was down from those higher numbers. Looks like the bounce has broken, about six cycles after the previous yellows. And he's started another bounce, :banghead:

I do agree with @Bandit's Mom that this looks like too big a reduction. Good luck at the vet tomorrow.
Should Win go up to 2.5U or 3U?
 
That's great he's found the yellow again was down from those higher numbers. Looks like the bounce has broken, about six cycles after the previous yellows. And he's started another bounce, :banghead:

I do agree with @Bandit's Mom that this looks like too big a reduction. Good luck at the vet tomorrow.
So this is "normal"? I been crying non stop everytime his sensor says HI. Is there anything in particular that I should ask the vet asides from checking for ketones. Blood work? Fluids?

The yellows of today are from the previous 4u? Or because of the 2u?
 
So this is "normal"?
Yes, bouncing is perfectly normal and reduces as a cat gets used to lower numbers. Getting a cat to a good dose helps with that.

The yellows of today are from the previous 4u? Or because of the 2u?
Since this morning was the 6th cycle on 2U, it might be safe to assume that the yellow were from the 2U and the 4U depot is out of the picture. The depot takes 4-6 cycles to adjust to a reduction (can take longer for cats at higher doses).

Isn't too soon to know? How do you know when to go up.
It's been 6 cycles (7 cycles if you count the PM one) on 2U - long enough for the depot to adjust to 2U and to show you what he looks like at the current dose. And he's staying largely over 250ish which is higher than you want him to be. You had reduced the dose as a precaution on account of the hurricane and not because he earned a reduction. We don't have a lot of data at 4U, but it's possible he needed more insulin not less - one can't say this for sure since we have data for only 4 cycles at 4U.

What if the prednisolone is causing his numbers to go up.
I don't have experience with Pred (except to know that it can can cause BG to go up) so let's wait for Wendy to hear on this.

What if the vet tells me to lower the dosis?
I don't know why the vet would want to lower the dose and if he asks you to, you want to just smile and nod and come back home and do what you think is right. Many vets don't know a lot about FD and would rather see a cat stay in high numbers (over 200-250) than encourage home-testing and try for regulation/remission.


Good luck at the vet! :-)
 
Back
Top