Karen and Chispa (GA)
Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-9-chispa-166-amps-177-3.282388/
I reduced Chispa's dose to 2 units a week ago in advance of catsitter and am surprised to still be seeing numbers in the 60s. A little bouncy yesterday but seems to be leveling off in low blues today.
I've also started counting her calories. I took her in for a second Solensia shot last week and found out that she had gained three ounces since a month ago. Over the last couple of years I've had one vet after another tell me not to worry about her weight; a little too heavy is better than too thin for a senior cat with IBD. But her IBD is well under control, and losing a couple of pounds would probably help both her diabetes and her mobility. I haven't noticed much (if any) difference since she got the first Solensia shot a month ago, which leads me to think it's her weight, not arthritis, that is the reason for her stationary lifestyle. I'm going away again in a week and a half, so I'll keep the dose at 2 and see what happens with the limited calories.
Happy Wednesday to all!


I reduced Chispa's dose to 2 units a week ago in advance of catsitter and am surprised to still be seeing numbers in the 60s. A little bouncy yesterday but seems to be leveling off in low blues today.
I've also started counting her calories. I took her in for a second Solensia shot last week and found out that she had gained three ounces since a month ago. Over the last couple of years I've had one vet after another tell me not to worry about her weight; a little too heavy is better than too thin for a senior cat with IBD. But her IBD is well under control, and losing a couple of pounds would probably help both her diabetes and her mobility. I haven't noticed much (if any) difference since she got the first Solensia shot a month ago, which leads me to think it's her weight, not arthritis, that is the reason for her stationary lifestyle. I'm going away again in a week and a half, so I'll keep the dose at 2 and see what happens with the limited calories.
Happy Wednesday to all!




