10/11 Chispa, 142 AMPS, 107 +3.5, 92 +5

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-9-chispa-166-amps-177-3.282388/

I reduced Chispa's dose to 2 units a week ago in advance of catsitter and am surprised to still be seeing numbers in the 60s. A little bouncy yesterday but seems to be leveling off in low blues today.

I've also started counting her calories. I took her in for a second Solensia shot last week and found out that she had gained three ounces since a month ago. Over the last couple of years I've had one vet after another tell me not to worry about her weight; a little too heavy is better than too thin for a senior cat with IBD. But her IBD is well under control, and losing a couple of pounds would probably help both her diabetes and her mobility. I haven't noticed much (if any) difference since she got the first Solensia shot a month ago, which leads me to think it's her weight, not arthritis, that is the reason for her stationary lifestyle. I'm going away again in a week and a half, so I'll keep the dose at 2 and see what happens with the limited calories.

Happy Wednesday to all!:bighug::cat::coffee:
 
Chispa is Bella's twin :cat: I hope losing some weight will help her. It helped Bella so much, she is much more agile now. Although she does not move much more, she's just jumping on countertops and chairs so that she can see -and steal, sometimes- food. Human food.
 
About a year ago, Bella could not even stand on her back legs with her front legs on a stool, she would fall back. She had stopped jumping on the chairs she liked to sleep on, and even climbing on my bed was difficult (there is a storage bench at the foot of the bed, so it's a one-foot jump and then very low). It was such a joy to see her jump again. Now she even stands on her back legs without support (to ask for food, of course):
IMG_0413.edit1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0413.edit1.jpg
    IMG_0413.edit1.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 168
About a year ago, Bella could not even stand on her back legs with her front legs on a stool, she would fall back. She had stopped jumping on the chairs she liked to sleep on, and even climbing on my bed was difficult (there is a storage bench at the foot of the bed, so it's a one-foot jump and then very low). It was such a joy to see her jump again. Now she even stands on her back legs without support (to ask for food, of course):
View attachment 67760
Oh she is JUST TOO CUTE. Her little face ... and those little white toes! squeeee!!! :bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:

Chispa has started going up on the sofa again, but she still won't come up on the bed, even though I've placed a couple of "stepping stones" nearby to make it easier. It makes me sad (the bed's too big without you, Chispa), but I won't give up hope. As Angela said, this is the best success story ever!!
 
Cecile and Bella inspired me to start paying attention to Cleos weight, specifically there was a video @cecile & bella posted where she would make Bella work for her dinner by doing a lap around the kitchen. Since paying more attention to her calories, Cleo is more agile. So thanks Cecile :bighug:
I'll have to tell that to Bella. She runs ONLY for food.
 
About a year ago, Bella could not even stand on her back legs with her front legs on a stool, she would fall back. She had stopped jumping on the chairs she liked to sleep on, and even climbing on my bed was difficult (there is a storage bench at the foot of the bed, so it's a one-foot jump and then very low). It was such a joy to see her jump again. Now she even stands on her back legs without support (to ask for food, of course):
View attachment 67760
So adorable! :kiss:
 
Come on Chispa, you can do it. Diet changes for these girls to make better numbers all around. Hope she feels even better, Karen! It would be great to have them back in bed again. :bighug::bighug:
Ivy can’t jump up that high any more due to the neuropathy :(
 
I have cartoon images of my head of Chispa, Bella and Cleo in matching leg warmers, wristbands and head bands sweating to the oldies. Great job to your ladies for the effort in helping your cat-ladies trim down for better mobility!
Great images from the 80s, Amy. Picture Jane Fonda, etc….Lol!
 
Back
Top