10/11 Basic pmps 400+ +1 400+ (spike before 7am injection and has been over 400 all day)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
I'm very concerned about my cats BG that have been above 400 since 6am spike. It hasn't come down from either injection.

He is being feed through a feeding tube and eating some on his own.

I am concerned that now he is getting the caloric intake he finally needs, his dose should be much higher.

If anyone could review his ss and give me their opinion.

He tested negative again for ketones. I'd like to keep it that way. He is already struggling enough. I don't need to worsen his condition because I have no idea what I'm doing or what is happening in his body.

It might serve him best to be on TR.

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
There is a phenomenon we call New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) that can happen in the early cycles after an increase. We don't know exactly why it happens, just that it can cause higher numbers for a couple cycles after the increase. He could also be bouncing from those low blues a couple nights ago.

It is too early after the increase to properly evaluate how the 1.0 unit dose is doing, the depot still has to build. This is where you have to be patient and wait. Even with TR you would be waiting. Thankfully the ketones are negative. Paws crossed for better numbers tomorrow.

ETA: Did you mean to post in Feline Health or the Lantus forum?
 
There is a phenomenon we call New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) that can happen in the early cycles after an increase. We don't know exactly why it happens, just that it can cause higher numbers for a couple cycles after the increase. He could also be bouncing from those low blues a couple nights ago.

His BG was spiking like this before the increase and he had a period that he was more stabilized. I assumed this was occurring because he is now actually getting a significant amount of calories. Didn't really correlate with the .25 increase.

Thank you for explaining all of that though. I'm no expert.


It is too early after the increase to properly evaluate how the 1.0 unit dose is doing, the depot still has to build. This is where you have to be patient and wait. Even with TR you would be waiting. Thankfully the ketones are negative. Paws crossed for better numbers tomorrow.

I do immediately panic when I see these numbers. His vet told me not be alarmed with his BG now that he is getting food. I can't help but be alarmed with all of it at this point. When he was diagnosed (and for what felt like an eternity afterwards), he wasn't consuming many calories at all because he refused to eat. I knew this would an increase, but I guess didn't understand to what severity.

I will be patient. Thank you.

ETA: Did you mean to post in Feline Health or the Lantus forum?
I'm not really sure where to post at this point. I'll try to be more mindful.

I have ordered a blood ketone meter, but it won't be here for a few days. I may try to get a cheap BG meter in the meantime. This libre keeps giving me errors. I am now concerned that it is faulty. I will contact their customer service tomorrow.

Thankful my guy is starting to eat on his own and more than just a nibble.

Again, thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top