10/11/21 squints . Just need advice

StephanieNJ

Member Since 2021
Hi. I am just trying to figure out what I am doing wrong. Please see spreadsheet. Squints seems to be HI alot... we haven't been feeding any other food besides morning and dinner... friskies pate. Maybe some freeze dried chicken treats. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.
 
Is it possible to get any nighttime tests in? And tests later in the AM cycle? It's hard to say without the full picture ...that 71 and some blues tell me he's probably just bouncing a lot. He's newly diagnosed so it does just take some time as well.

It may help a little to spread the meals out during the day, a lot of people use autofeeders. If he just grazes all day then that's ok
 
A lot of cats seem to benefit from snacks in between. It was suggested to me to reduce meal size a bit and give a few small snacks during both the day and night. I use an autofeeder and they get fed every 2.5-3 hours. Just a spoonful or so, but it seems to help. My guys BG seems to rise if he gets too hungry.
 
Hi Stephanie,

Here is your last post for continuity (we ask everyone to cut and paste their last post into each new thread so we can review your history): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-1-21-squints-pmps-187.253713/#post-2860367

Have you picked a dosing method? You can ask for help, but it helps us help you better if you tell us if you wish to follow tight regulation or SLGS. The big difference between the two is you do SLGS if you're feeding any dry food. Tight regulation is more aggressive so we want caregivers to be feeding only wet. Given that your kitty's BGs are so high and you're feeding wet food, TR is the way to go. The only big caveat though is we would need you to test more, especially at night. It's really hard to tell you want is going on when we only have the daytime picture and nothing at night as cats tend go low at night. He might be going really low at night and you don't know. We base dosing on how low it takes a cat, not how high, and we need to see trends.
 
I can definitely test more at night. But the daytime is hard. We feed around 5am and then i test again before work at around 7-730 am. Then we are both gone til 330pm.
I could do an auto feeder but we have other cats. I could keep squints by himself all day, but that kinda sucks.
He eats a little dry food ... the young again chicken... but not that often, maybe once a week, if that....he isn't a fan of it.
 
I can definitely test more at night. But the daytime is hard. We feed around 5am and then i test again before work at around 7-730 am. Then we are both gone til 330pm.
I could do an auto feeder but we have other cats. I could keep squints by himself all day, but that kinda sucks.
He eats a little dry food ... the young again chicken... but not that often, maybe once a week, if that....he isn't a fan of it.
If you can stop the Young Again, I think you should try TR. What time do you shoot at night? If you give the insulin at 5 PM, then you could get a +2 and a +4 before bed. The +4 will tell us loads about what is going on with him because Lantus onsets around +2-+3.
 
I can definitely test more at night. But the daytime is hard. We feed around 5am and then i test again before work at around 7-730 am. Then we are both gone til 330pm.
I could do an auto feeder but we have other cats. I could keep squints by himself all day, but that kinda sucks.
He eats a little dry food ... the young again chicken... but not that often, maybe once a week, if that....he isn't a fan of it.
I see. A fair amount of people do TR while working; speaking for myself, I wouldn't be comfortable leaving that long and would prefer SLGS....but up to you and what you're comfortable with.

What do the other cats eat? Any chance he's getting contraband?
 
If you can stop the Young Again, I think you should try TR. What time do you shoot at night? If you give the insulin at 5 PM, then you could get a +2 and a +4 before bed. The +4 will tell us loads about what is going on with him because Lantus onsets around +2-+3.

I can definitely stop the young again. We shoot at 5-515 pm. I can definitely get +2 and +4
 
I see. A fair amount of people do TR while working; speaking for myself, I wouldn't be comfortable leaving that long and would prefer SLGS....but up to you and what you're comfortable with.

What do the other cats eat? Any chance he's getting contraband?

I am going to read up on the two methods. All the other cats eat the same...friskies pate. There is a bowl of dry on an island in the kitchen, but squints can't jump up there.
 
Just now at +4. He was 473.
Should I stay with 1.25 units for a few more days. Im going to read about the 2 methods.
 
All the other cats eat the same...friskies pate. There is a bowl of dry on an island in the kitchen, but squints can't jump up there.
Who is the dry food for? Is it Young Again? Never underestimate the determination of kitties to get to kibble :-)

Im going to read about the 2 methods.
Have you decided to switch to TR? Stop the dry and get more tests? We would tailor dosing advice based on the protocol.
 
Who is the dry food for? Is it Young Again? Never underestimate the determination of kitties to get to kibble :)


Have you decided to switch to TR? Stop the dry and get more tests? We would tailor dosing advice based on the protocol.

I can really only get more testing in the pm. And the dry young again was only for squints. The other dry food is for the other cats.
 
There was mention of stopping dry. Is that correct? She said she’s feeding pate and freeze dried.

please ad YA to your signature. If feeding that you can’t increase yet. If only pate you can.
 
There was mention of stopping dry. Is that correct? She said she’s feeding pate and freeze dried.

please ad YA to your signature. If feeding that you can’t increase yet. If only pate you can.

Correct.... Yes. I can stop the dry food. He hasnt had any in a few days.

The other dry food is in a place he xant get to...
 
Back
Top