10/10 Apollo PMBG 68, +14 81

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110

My sympathies for yet another all-night pokeathon. Time to prop open the eyelids and start again! Have as good a day as grogginess permits!
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110

Maybe, as his shed is clearing from that 1.25 dose, you'll be able to get a nap in today. Fingers crossed.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125

Apollo's AMPS +2 is 125.

Question: I'm lucky to work from home and be here to monitor Apollo throughout the day, but what do people do that go to work everyday with no one around to monitor? Before I recommend using Lantus to my vet, I am just trying to see if Lantus is practical to be used for folks that are not home to monitor. I don't feel comfortable leaving the house ANYTIME I give a shot between the hours of +3 though +8 time periods.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125

I am gone for 9 hours a day. I can tell from Tarragon's AMPS where he is headed by now, so I leave out HC if he is too low and run home at lunch to test. It is very doable.

Apollo is doing so great! Hope you are able to get some rest soon!!
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125

Lovely start for Apollo, and that +2 may be a food spike. Still nice #s though.

I don't have a job... yet. I'm hoping to get a part time job if Blackie gets OTJ. We'll just have to see what she does. I have a feeling my DH doesn't want me to work, but honestly, we could really use the extra $$. We're still discussing this issue.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125

Wow, I'm dizzy from watching Apollo's dose reductions. You are doing a super job. Hope you can get a nap today. Sometimes I am amazed how much a short nap helps.

We both are professors and have somewhat flexible schedules. We are trying to schedule classes at opposite times so one of us could be home if needed. We live close to the university and can run home for tests. I'm with you, I don't know how someone who works full time and is gone all day can do this. There are beans in LL who do though. They figure out ways to make it work for them and their kitties.
Liz
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125

Good morning, guys! Great numbers for Apollo... hopefully some rest today for you??


I am single and am solely responsible for Willie's care. I work an 8-10 hour day, with 30-60 minutes of commute time as well, with just one day of work at home per week. I have been able to work out my schedule to where I can almost always get up to a +2.5 before leaving in the morning, and am generally doing the poke/feed/shoot right as I walk in the door at night, which allows me to get a decent number of spot checks in the evening if needed (even getting a +6 isn't impossible). You can see on Willie's spreadsheet several periods in which we had to shoot double digit numbers then leave for work. It is key to learn your cat's responses to insulin. I know Willie generally gets a sizable food bounce from pre-shot to +1 and he is generally showing a number similar to the PS number at +3. If that +1 is flat or the +2 is already headed downward, that is my cue that it is likely going to be an active cycle, and I will feed higher carb food accordingly. While cats on any dose can always hypo if precautions aren't taken, cats on lower doses of insulin are much less likely to do so. I'm to the point now with Willie that I can comfortably shoot a green number and then leave him with low carb food, and he is fine, though I do still bust out a higher carb food for him if I am at all concerned.

Heavens, I do remember the first time I had to do it, though... I spent the whole day so worried! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Got home and my furry purry boy was just fine! As the sticky says, you have to be data ready to shoot low numbers, and that is especially true if you're not there to test all day.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125

I'm also single, solely responsible for Smokey and work 8 hr days with about 30 min commute.

I give Smokey's am shot early (then go back to bed) so that I can get a +2. I know what the +2 "should" look like at this point. If it seems low to me, I'll put out some high carb. (like half a can of FF gravy lovers) and go to work. I do worry sometimes, and a few times I've gone home to check on my lunch hour (though not often). Smokey has always seemed fine when I get home and we haven't had bounces so I'm assuming that we aren't getting too low. I give his PM shot around 6 so I am able to get a +4 to +5. Combined, those numbers give me a pretty good idea of how Smokey reacts to the Lantus.

I imagine thought, that if we get to the point of rapid reductions pointing to going OTJ, it might be difficult. One nice thing about Smokey is that his curves are pretty flat. He doesn't get those huge drops that I see from other kitties... I suppose we're lucky...
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91

Apollo's AMPS +4 is 91.

Thanks everyone for all the responses. I think because Apollo is tending to drop so fast and seemingly unpredictable works against us a bit. I can't see a consistent pattern in his numbers yet.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91

Hi guys .. boy, apollo really likes to keep you up doesn't he? These numbers are looking puuurfect though! I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91

Apollo is a cat on a mission - to get OFF this juice! I'm constantly amazed by his response.

WONDERFUL WORK BEANS!!!
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91

I think you're doing great, JOhn. You're asking good questions.

I'm glad Sienne gave you some additional info last night regarding feeding and controlling the curve. I hope that helps you feel more comfortable with the concepts.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I think you're doing great, JOhn. You're asking good questions.

I'm glad Sienne gave you some additional info last night regarding feeding and controlling the curve. I hope that helps you feel more comfortable with the concepts.

Yeah I just didn't understand the best "strategy" to use. Do I let him drop on his own (to try to earn a reduction) and only intervene if he drops too low. Or do I intervene quickly and often and try to keep him as flat as possible throughout the curve? I was just confused as what approach was best. Needed some clarification. :smile:
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91, +5 75, +6 74, +7 8

One thing I jut noticed is Apollo went into the litter box a few times about 10 minutes apart, but didn't do his business in it. I haven't noticed this before. He hasn't been eating as much wet food the last few days. Any idea what it could be? Constipation, urinary issues? Anything I should do a this point?
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91, +5 75, +6 74, +7 8

More beautious cycles for Apollo! this is a great thread, i know a lot of newbies have the same worries. I'm lucky both DH and I are retired. It would be an idea to put a link to all these rsponses in one of the stickies for newbies.

I hope you can get a nap in soon.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91, +5 75, +6 74, +7 8

Just saw your last post. It could be constipation? When was his last poo? How about urine? Has that been normal?
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125, +4 91, +5 75, +6 74, +7 8

Ann & Tess said:
Just saw your last post. It could be constipation? When was his last poo? How about urine? Has that been normal?

Hard to tell as I have 2 other cats that use the same box. I didn't really pay attention to it until I noticed him go in and out a few times quickly.

I wouldn't think constipation because he is on all wet food now, right? Or doesn't matter.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +4 91, +5 75, +6 74, +7 81, quest

i am also home at the moment, but i think the key to answering you is that each person has to know their cat's "usual" response to insulin and what signals a drop is coming. while i'm available to check punkin now, i can also see clearly that i could be working full-time because i can predict what he's going to do by the time +3 comes around. it's obviously do-able because there are LOTS of people who do it and work full-time. I've noticed that there are many people with cats on lantus who don't post once they've learned how to manage things, so what you see on this forum is just a small percentage of the people who have been here.

you're doing great - it does look like apollo has plans up his sleeve with all the rapid reductions!
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

Apollo's PMBG is 68. No way I am shooting that low of a number. Also he isn't eating much and seems to be struggling with using the litter box. I am going to keep an eye on him. I have 2 other cats that use the same box, so I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary until today when I noticed he went into the litter box a few times about 10 minutes apart, but didn't do his business in it. I haven't noticed this before. He hasn't been eating as much wet food the last few days. Any idea what it could be? Constipation, urinary issues? Anything I should do a this point? I'm kind of worried as he doesn't seem "himself".

I did find 2 small pieces of poop about a foot away from the litter box earlier today, but I don't know for sure which cat it came from. We have one cat that has had a few dingleberries episodes in the past. Maybe it was Apollo this time? The poop didn't look strange and wasn't very hard or anything.

Also maybe I am just misinterpreting his behavior (lack of energy), since he has been in the greens a lot the last 2 days and so far when he is in the greens that has translated in him acting exhausted.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

How set are your shot times? Is there any chance you could stall (you can do so up to 2 hours), shoot once you see rising numbers and then still be able to shoot 12 hours later tomorrow, or is your schedule too tight for that? I know Willie will go through phases... he'll go through a period of being positively ravenous, then will slow back down again. As for the energy levels, I think that as cats get used to being back in "normal" numbers, it doesn't always translate into feeling great. Their bodies are still adjusting to what is "normal."

Your question about food and steering the cycle... I know Sienne yesterday mentioned it was an "it depends." This morning, Willie went from 150 at shot time (which I mistakenly shot an hour late) to 65 at +2. I'm wishing I'd carbed him then, because he was headed into the 40s an hour later. If that 65 had been at +4 or +5, I would be okay with letting him go because he typically nadirs between +5 and +6, so I wouldn't have to worry about the insulin being fully operational for too much longer. Instead, I fed LC on that 65 and then fought to get him out of the 40s. Feeding smaller meals at +1, +2 and +3 takes burden off the pancreas, but allows the food to bump the numbers up a bit before the insulin takes full effect. Willie generally can eat up to +7 or so and not have it affect him too much. He eats later than that and we notice higher pre-shot numbers tend to follow.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

I would be fine with shooting him IF he was eating and acting more normal. He just seems exhausted like he was hit with a blow dart or something. I had to bring him over to the food bowl and he ate just a little bit then walked off. Definately not acting normal right now. Is it all because of low numbers or maybe something else going on with the recent litter box issues I noticed today.

Just a bit paranoid now.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

binks used to get worn out when he first started getting low numbers...but ECID.

i don't blame you for not wanting to shoot.

i give binks miralax as a supplement in his food...as many folks here do.
he drinks more water due to that, but he is as regular as can be...and that certainly lowers my anxieties.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

John & Apollo said:
Apollo's PMBG is 68. No way I am shooting that low of a number. Also he isn't eating much and seems to be struggling with using the litter box. I am going to keep an eye on him. I have 2 other cats that use the same box, so I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary until today when I noticed he went into the litter box a few times about 10 minutes apart, but didn't do his business in it. I haven't noticed this before. He hasn't been eating as much wet food the last few days. Any idea what it could be? Constipation, urinary issues? Anything I should do a this point? I'm kind of worried as he doesn't seem "himself".

I did find 2 small pieces of poop about a foot away from the litter box earlier today, but I don't know for sure which cat it came from. We have one cat that has had a few dingleberries episodes in the past. Maybe it was Apollo this time? The poop didn't look strange and wasn't very hard or anything.

Also maybe I am just misinterpreting his behavior (lack of energy), since he has been in the greens a lot the last 2 days and so far when he is in the greens that has translated in him acting exhausted.


Hi, haven't met or been in your condo before ...so pardon my barging in...if he went to the box serveral times and didn't do anything...urine...he may be blocked and needs to get to the vet ....right away. A block urinary tract is really very bad. Based on what you are stating here I'd get him in as soon as possible...like this evening.

The exhaustion maybe hypo symptoms, but looking at the litterbox issue it could be because his blood has gone toxic. Are you sure he isn't using the box!

http://www.marvistavet.com/html/body_urinary_blockage.html
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

I don't know for sure. I have 2 other cats that share it so I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary until this afternoon. I do know he has not used it since this early afternoon, but thats when I noticed he went in twice but didnt use it.

Do I really need to take to ER vet now? My regular vet is closed until the morning. Would he have other symptoms if it was a blockage? He is just sleeping here net to me now.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

I interpret him going to the box and not using as...he is straining and not being able.

A urinary blockage in a male cat is an emergency.

You are also saying he is lethargic, not eating etc. I am sorry I don't see this as a low BG issue.

If he were my cat...I'd spend the $100 bucks at the ER to get him checked, but then I am a peace of mind kind of owner. If it is not...fine. I am out the $100. If it is...you just saved his life.


Are you able to feel the bladder area? Most owners can't. If his lower tummy is firm about the size of a peach...he is blocked and needs to go right now.

Are you able to see if his penis is visible? If so this is another indication of a urinary issue.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

Well...it is your call to make. If he continues to decline I wouldn't wait until morning.

And paws & prayers up...I'm wrong. I love to be wrong ....
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

Don't see his penis sticking out, but he didn't appreciate me touch him around there. I felt his bladder but couldn't feel anything that felt harder like a peach. Just soft skin and belly fat. But I am not sure exactly what I am looking for either.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

Beth & Atlas said:
Are you able to feel the bladder area? Most owners can't. If his lower tummy is firm about the size of a peach...he is blocked and needs to go right now.

Are you able to see if his penis is visible? If so this is another indication of a urinary issue.

Was he just freaked out by the probbing or was it like a pain reaction?
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

He didn't mind me probing his tummy at all, but he didn't like when I touched his penis area. So not sure if it was a pain or probing reaction.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

Well the call is up to you. Like I said if he continues to decline or strain at the LB... I really wouldn't wait.

Now ....did you shoot the 68 or are you stalling since he is not eating normally>

What's the BG now.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

I am going to continue to monitor him. Question: If he was blocked wouldn't he be contantly trying to go in and then out of the box? He hasn't tried to go into the box since late this morning.

I am skipping the shot based on him not eating and having low numbers. Just checked PMBG +14 is 81.
 
Re: 10/10 Apollo PMBG 68

Urinary obstruction is a genuine emergency. If you're going to wait, I would keep a close eye on Apollo. If this has been building for a couple of days, it can be life threatening. It could also be cystitis or a urinary track infection. It bears very close watching. Unfortunately, male cats are more prone to plumbing problems -- there's a design flaw in their anatomy.

In response to the other question in your condo. I'm the sole caretaker for Gabby. I work full time. I do have some flex with my schedule but life revolves around shot time and keeping Gabby safe.
 
He just went pee!!!! Whew. Still not eating a ton, maybe it's constipation. I would have thought he wet food would have prevented that? Is it possible the the old dry food is stuck up in there and the wet food can't push it out?

I have a doc apt first thing this morning and will keep an eye on him after that. Just glad it's not a pee obstruction.
 
:thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat​
Yes! Apollo!!!!

Yours was the first condo on my list this morning!!!
Oh the joy of being WRONG!!!!!

John, I am sorry I caused you to worry, please accept my apology.​


How is his BG this morning, since you skipped a shot? And I do hope his Doc. appt. goes well with no serious surprises.
 
I'm still up and have been checking for updates. So glad Apollo pee'd.

If you do not see a BM today, maybe a little bit of Miralax is in order. Morgaine does not poop every day. Once she went on wet food she only poops every other day. Her old food had more fiber and filler so more waste. I also give her an animal probiotic which the vet wanted her on daily.

Off to test my girl and get some sleep. Have a great day and I am truly relieved to hear from you guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top