Re: 10/10 Apollo AMPS 110, +2 125
Good morning, guys! Great numbers for Apollo... hopefully some rest today for you??
I am single and am solely responsible for Willie's care. I work an 8-10 hour day, with 30-60 minutes of commute time as well, with just one day of work at home per week. I have been able to work out my schedule to where I can almost always get up to a +2.5 before leaving in the morning, and am generally doing the poke/feed/shoot right as I walk in the door at night, which allows me to get a decent number of spot checks in the evening if needed (even getting a +6 isn't impossible). You can see on Willie's spreadsheet several periods in which we had to shoot double digit numbers then leave for work. It is key to learn your cat's responses to insulin. I know Willie generally gets a sizable food bounce from pre-shot to +1 and he is generally showing a number similar to the PS number at +3. If that +1 is flat or the +2 is already headed downward, that is my cue that it is likely going to be an active cycle, and I will feed higher carb food accordingly. While cats on any dose can always hypo if precautions aren't taken, cats on lower doses of insulin are much less likely to do so. I'm to the point now with Willie that I can comfortably shoot a green number and then leave him with low carb food, and he is fine, though I do still bust out a higher carb food for him if I am at all concerned.
Heavens, I do remember the first time I had to do it, though... I spent the whole day so worried! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Got home and my furry purry boy was just fine! As the sticky says, you have to be data ready to shoot low numbers, and that is especially true if you're not there to test all day.