10/10 AMPS 248 + 4.5 172

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
hi, everyone. this is my first day on a new dose of 2.25. I got a 78 at +6 just now. My lowest number ever. I wanted to do a +4 but fell asleep. I am on alpha trak so my 80 is like a 50. So 78 is like 48. Should I feed HC food or can I feed LC food now.

do I have to reduce the dose. when I was on 2.0 I got high numbers? I usually feed lovey a snack at +4 since I fell asleep, I didn't feed her until I caught the +78.
If she had food maybe, I would not of gotten a 78.

I have to go to work today? I might be able to get home by about 4 and a half hours after shot to get a test. I could ask permission to leave work.
AmpS 243
 
Re: 10/9 Lovey PMPS 278 + 6 78? LOW NUMBER? reduce dose?

Catherine

I'd feed LC this late in the cycle and just get Lovey up. It's possible numbers "might" start to come up a bit and with a 78 on the AT, I wouldn't feed HC yet.

She did earn a reduction with that 78 although her SS looks like she could have used that increase. I would have increased, too.
 
Re: 10/9 Lovey PMPS 278 + 6 78? LOW NUMBER? reduce dose?

THANKS marje

hi Marje, I just fed 1 or 1 1/2 teaspoons of HC. I thought LC but wasn't sure. Lovey is hungry so now I gave her a little more LC. When should I test again?

My numbers were high on 2 units. Should I still go back? Maybe I gave a little more than 2.25 because you have to estimate?
 
Re: 10/9 Lovey PMPS 278 + 6 78? LOW NUMBER? reduce dose?

I'd test her about 30 minutes from when she ate and see if she's coming up. She probably is hungry at that lower number especially if she dropped quickly.

I can see why you wouldn't want to go back to 2u because she really wasn't responding although with no tests in between AMPS and PMPS the last two days, we don't know where she actually was in BG. I've seen cats go from 300 to 40 to 300 in one cycle and without a midcycle test, we wouldn't have known.

Syringes are notoriously inaccurate from syringe to syringe of even the same lot number. That's why I started Dosing with Calipers to get the consistency into my dosing. It's made a difference for Gracie.

If you just increased tonight, it's unlikely that increased dose was the culprit in the 78.

You hold the syringe. If you decide to hold the 2.25u dose, it's imperative you get some midcycle tests.

Insofar as tonight's number, you want to get two, rising, no food influenced number before you totally quit testing.
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

What is her AMPS number?
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

243 I did two cycles of 2.25. Maybe the second was a hair more than 2.25. I was trying my best to be accurate.
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

Since that 78 last night on an Alpha Trak is a dose reducing number and you have to go to work today, how about trying to measure a skinny 2.25 or a fat 2.00? We usually recommend the skinny and fat dose adjustments when the care giver has more data and is fine tuning a dose, but since the 2.00 seemed to need the increase and the 2.25 kind of earned a reduction, then how about trying something in between? You would need to be able to give the same dose consistantly, though.
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

I was thinking along the same lines. I can give a touch more than 2 units, but I don't know if I can replicate it. It is tricky with the quarter adjustments so finer would be tricky as well.
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

maybe I will give the 2 as a one time and rethink tonight.
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

I will be off Friday night, sat, sun, and Monday so maybe I can test 2.25 then. Let me see what I can do with the syringe? thanks for all your help Dyana, I know you are busy in the morning.
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

Different types of syringes are different and I have always used the ReliOn brand, so that's all I know.
When I shoot a fat 2.00, I would have the plunger halfway through the 2 unit mark and halfway under the 2 unit mark.
If I was shooting at skinny 2.25, then I would have the plunger just touching but not through the 2 unit mark.
It just depends on your syringes and how you can memorize the dose. I used to make a sample syringe of my latest dose, and keep it marked with some fingernail polish on the end, and I would compare that sample syringe to the dose I was trying to measure. Now, I use calipers.

Good luck, and have a good day. Are you coming home for a test?
 
Re: 10/10 PMPS 278 +6 78 + 7 120 + 8 158? Help dosing for mo

I will try if I cannot my husband will do a paw test at 11 (4 hours after shot)
 
Re: 10/10 Lovey AMPS 248 + 4.5 1 72Went to +78 last ni

Thank you Dyana and Carfurby. I don't know your first name Sorry.
I ended up giving a little less than 2.25 I believe or a little less than I gave last night.

My husband just did a + 4.5 and he got a 172. Lovey is eating now. I will see if I can get him to do another test in an hour.

Again. Thank you again for helping me this morning.
 
Thanks Carla. Lovey did pretty well today. It is nice to see a blue numbers again. I gave a skinny 2.25 this morning and tonight. I really wanted to give a full 2.25 tonight since I am home to check it, but goofed.

Anyway, thanks so much for today's help. Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top