10/1 Booger +8 527, +9 713

Booger's Mom

Member Since 2018
Ok so I am kinda freaking out here. I have seen numbers like this before but I wonder why he is so dang high this morning! Feeding isn't until 9:30am CST and 10pm is shot. I am assuming the number jump is due to stress of me not being awake to give him a snack? I have no idea. I am trying to catch him at the litter box to check for ketones. Hasn't made his way there yet since I have been up.
 
Good idea on trying to get a ketone test, good luck with the litterbox lurk. I hated seeing black and red George was like that on lantus at the start.

With Lantus it takes time fo the depot to build which is why it's important to hold that initial dose.
I might be being silly but I can't see anywhere which dosing method you are following with Lantus?
 
Good idea on trying to get a ketone test, good luck with the litterbox lurk. I hated seeing black and red George was like that on lantus at the start.

With Lantus it takes time fo the depot to build which is why it's important to hold that initial dose.
I might be being silly but I can't see anywhere which dosing method you are following with Lantus?
Well I did comment on my post from yesterday late last night. I believe I am doing TR without even knowing it. I was looking over the two methods again last night and was like "Well I guess I do not need to choose" lol
 
Well I did comment on my post from yesterday late last night.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-417-4-384-6-388-9-434.204008/#post-2262970
Here is the link to yesterday's post, yet another quirk of the LL board, we all try to remember to link the previous thread on the new daily thread, the reason for that is that it makes it easy for folk that are trying to help to look back through the history, and see what's been going on with your kitty before offering advice (I should have looked that up earlier and linked it for others before asking the question, sorry)

You did start a bit higher than we normally see in your swap from vetsulin to lantus, so lets see what happens and get some opinions if Booger is still high after 6cycles.
At least with TR you are able to take the dose up more quickly, though I get how impatient one feels when we see those icky numbers
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-417-4-384-6-388-9-434.204008/#post-2262970
Here is the link to yesterday's post, yet another quirk of the LL board, we all try to remember to link the previous thread on the new daily thread, the reason for that is that it makes it easy for folk that are trying to help to look back through the history, and see what's been going on with your kitty before offering advice (I should have looked that up earlier and linked it for others before asking the question, sorry)

You did start a bit higher than we normally see in your swap from vetsulin to lantus, so lets see what happens and get some opinions if Booger is still high after 6cycles.
At least with TR you are able to take the dose up more quickly, though I get how impatient one feels when we see those icky numbers
Yes sorry, I should have added the link myself. I am new to this thread and trying to learn the ropes. Sorry about that. Tonight will be the 6th cycle so lets see what happens. So, in your opinon, when I check him here in about 26 minutes before I feed him, if he is still in the 500's or higher, would you go ahead and give the insulin before you feed or still wait 30 minutes?
 
So, in your opinon, when I check him here in about 26 minutes before I feed him, if he is still in the 500's or higher, would you go ahead and give the insulin before you feed or still wait 30 minutes?
With lantus we Test Feed Shoot preferably all within 10 minutes.
I used to test put the food down and shoot george while he still had his head in the bowl, most times he never looked up.
So if your shot time is say 7am, what I did was get all preped, test at 7am, put the food down, draw the dose while George and shoot while he was eating.

Lantus is slower acting than vetsulin so you don't need to feed 30min before shot, it's preferable to feed at shot time.
 
With lantus we Test Feed Shoot preferably all within 10 minutes.
I used to test put the food down and shoot george while he still had his head in the bowl, most times he never looked up.
So if your shot time is say 7am, what I did was get all preped, test at 7am, put the food down, draw the dose while George and shoot while he was eating.

Lantus is slower acting than vetsulin so you don't need to feed 30min before shot, it's preferable to feed at shot time.
Ok so I am good just to give him the insulin when I put his food down. Ok. I guess we will see what his numbers are like here shortly.
 
I am new to this thread and trying to learn the ropes. Sorry about that.
No worries it takes time to get into the swing of things, we do things a little different on the lantus forum than on the other insulin forums, mostly it's because its a very active forum and it's just what has been found to make things easier.

Tricia wrote this a little while ago with a view to making it easier for new members to the forum, we forget we have our little ways and our Jargon.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/page-2#post-2254029
 
Well that is in the right direction, hope you find that he continues on a downward trend as this cycle progresses.
 
Woo Hoo on the Sunny Yellow!
It's good that you saw him drop down to yellow, he seems to have bounced of that yellow, if you think about it he dropped 200pts yesterday and that in itself may have triggered a bounce, some kitties are just bouncy, I would probably hold on to those 2u for a couple of more cycles, as this is his starting dose and the depot is filling lets see what he does with the insulin as the depot becomes well and truly full.

I saw on the ss that you retested that 524 3x and got different readings, those readings are all within meter variance of each other, there can be upto a 20% error with BG meters, at high numbers like 500, that means up to 100pts.
It's good to double check a reading if it seems out of the ordinary, but otherwise try not to worry about the exact number, high is high, it doesn't really matter if he is 524 or 424.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Woo Hoo on the Sunny Yellow!
It's good that you saw him drop down to yellow, he seems to have bounced of that yellow, if you think about it he dropped 200pts yesterday and that in itself may have triggered a bounce, some kitties are just bouncy, I would probably hold on to those 2u for a couple of more cycles, as this is his starting dose and the depot is filling lets see what he does with the insulin as the depot becomes well and truly full.

I saw on the ss that you retested that 524 3x and got different readings, those readings are all within meter variance of each other, there can be upto a 20% error with BG meters, at high numbers like 500, that means up to 100pts.
It's good to double check a reading if it seems out of the ordinary, but otherwise try not to worry about the exact number, high is high, it doesn't really matter if he is 524 or 424.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks for getting back to me. I was actually just laying here thinking about what I needed to do with his dose in the morning. I looked up the TR protocol as well. I just don't think I'll be awake long enough to get his blood sugar at 3:30am which would be his +6.
 
Thanks for getting back to me. I was actually just laying here thinking about what I needed to do with his dose in the morning. I looked up the TR protocol as well. I just don't think I'll be awake long enough to get his blood sugar at 3:30am which would be his +6.
I would get bg now if you want and just go to bed, get some rest, there will be times when it will be necessary to stay up, tonight is not one of those:bighug::bighug:

I'm in spain so it's early morning for me otherwise I would have responded earlier.
 
Back
Top