Re: Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48 +7 64
I'll test Blackie for you if you'll get my groceries too. Somehow I don't think the one can of FF I have left will work for 4 cats.
If a newly diagnosed cat goes under 50, that qualifies them for a dose reduction. Technically it doesn't matter if they stay there, or just touch 40's and go up, but when they do stay there it makes me even more sure that they need a reduction. So yes, I would shoot 4.5. If she bounces, you can shoot the old dose one more time. It looks like Blackie isn't much of a bouncer anymore.
Yep, it looks like her toxicity has broken. :mrgreen:
Also, I wanted to point out something that a lot of people forget. Lantus has a shed, and the bigger doses have bigger sheds (makes sense, right?). Skinnying the dose today probably had no effect on Blackie's cycle, because she still has lots of shed action from last night's 4.75. I know it made you feel better to skinny, but probably these numbers would have happened anyway. If you want to drain a shed on a larger dose kitty, you would have to reduce the dose by a lot to possibly have an effect on that cycle (and that will also have an effect on the next several cycles). Just as an extreme example, I gave Jazzy a definite fur shot this morning. I would say she got half of her usual dose (12u), if even that. She is 105 at +5 anyway. I might see higher numbers tomorrow because of today's fur shot, but it didn't make a difference in today's numbers.