10/08 Blackie PMPS 129 +5.5 168

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115

Yeah, I know. Hence the reason I skinnied it this morning. Thankfully, I made more turkey bits last night, so she'll have protein. She's gotten as low as 55 on this insulin before, so I won't be surprised if she did that again. She seems to like this dose, though.
 
Re: 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115

Nice AMPS Blackie....we usually ask for a +1 when the AMPS are low like this...hope you will be able to watch her today...it looks like she means business! :thumbup
 
Re: 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115

Nice start to the morning for Blackie.
Good luck on the new skinny dose and enjoy your Friday
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52

She gave me a 52 +4. Just gave her 3 pcs boiled turkey, and another tsp. of LC FF T&G.

I'm guessing she'll drop some more before she rises. She has some leftover Hills Prescription W/D kibble sealed in a container. They're the size of rat droppings. (sorry for the graphics here). I also have HC wet, and Karo, too. When should I consider giving that to her?
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52

Right now, I'd give LC and test in 30 min to see where numbers go. LC may be all Blackie needs.

I'd always vote for gravy first. If numbers don't stabilize with HC canned food, then Karo/syrup. Personally, I'd pitch the dry stuff. It takes too long to work and it sticks around far longer than you'd like it to.
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52

I gave her LC after I tested her +4, and will test again in about 5 mins. Thankfully, I have another full can of LC, and the turkey bites that I made last night. Also, have a can of HC, and corn syrup, not Karo, which I thought I had.

I still haven't had breakfast yet. :) I'm more concerned about Blackie than I am about myself.
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52; +4.5 39

Just gave her 3 more turkey bites, a tsp of FF T&G and a 1 tsp of FF Chicken, which I found in the cupboard. Will test @ +5.
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52; +4.5 39

Angela, you should give her some HC gravy at this point...you don't want her to go any lower.
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52; +4.5 39

HC food here we come.

Didn't need HC food. Found out that the FF Chicken flavor did the trick.

20 mins after +4.5 test = 49.
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52; +4.5 39

You're doing great. :smile: Karo is corn syrup, it's the same thing...Karo is a brand name (I buy store brand corn syrup too!) ;-)
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52; +4.5 39

what a morning for you. You're doing great. come on Blackie - up you go. The HC/gravy and the karo will bring her up. just small amounts in case you need to keep at this for a while. :thumbup
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52; +4.5 39

Good for you, glad the FF chicken did the trick! Test again 30 min after the 49. Did you give her more food then or not?

Good, you're getting used to the lower numbers! :-D
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52; +4.5 39

good job handling the low. I would feed a little more HC and test in another 30 minutes, just to be sure she is staying up.

Blackie earned a dose reduction to 4.5!
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115 +3 62 +4 52 +4.5 39 +5 46

Libby, you really think she needs 4.5 now? Boy, that makes me very happy!!!!

I gave her another tsp of FF Chicken after the +5 test. Will test at +5.5. Still haven't used the corn syrup, or the HC E food at this point.
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57

Nice job Angela! Congratulations on the dosecrease!!! :mrgreen:
There is "question" in your header??? maybe I'm missing it....
 
Re: Question - 10/08 Blackie AMPS 115; +3 62; +4 52

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
She gave me a 52 +4. Just gave her 3 pcs boiled turkey, and another tsp. of LC FF T&G.

I'm guessing she'll drop some more before she rises. She has some leftover Hills Prescription W/D kibble sealed in a container. They're the size of rat droppings. (sorry for the graphics here). I also have HC wet, and Karo, too. When should I consider giving that to her?

It was this question, Pat. However, I think I've gotten her under control. Still haven't used the corn syrup, and even if I had to have, I think I would've tried just a drop or 2. She seems HC food sensitive. LOL
 
Re: 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48

I was just about to say yay she's out of the 40's....come on Blackie, come up a little more please. You're doing a great job Angela!
 
Re: 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48

Hopefully that will bring her up a little...surfing, just a little too low for comfort.

Glad you finally got to eat breakfast/brunch!
 
Re: 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48

Thanks, Anne and Muffin. The next test will be at +7. Lord knows... I need more lancets now, plus more strips. And food for her, and the others. Oh, and food for us, too. Sheesh. Wish she'd quit this so that I can get that chore done.

Was also going to do some more cross stitching today, but I guess I'll watch some tv and monitor how she walks, etc. For now. LOL
 
Re: 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48

You could try showing her the empty cat food shelf - maybe then she'll let you go :lol:
 
Re: Dosing Question 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48

If she stays below the 100's today, do I give her 4.50u or lower?

Despite the battle this morning, and probably this afternoon, has she really earned a dose reduction to 4.50u? (crossing fingers, and hoping so)

What constitutes a dose reduction?

I don't want to give her the usual amount of 4.75u (obviously), as I'm pretty sure that she'll go lower again this evening like she did today. And I certainly don't want to not give her insulin, either. I fought hard to get her where she is now, and I'll be danged if I'm going to ruin this good thing with her. LOL
 
Re: Dosing Question 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48

Going under 50 will earn the dose reduction. As Libby said, Blackie's new dose will be 4.50u.
If her preshot number is lower than usual you can always post the number and someone will walk you through the decisions as to what does to shoot.
There is a post dealing with low preshots... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26571
Congratulations on the dosecrease! Nice job Angela! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48 +7 64

Thanks, Pat. LOL :) She's slowly rising, which is nice. Still need to do the shopping though. Anyone wanna do that for me? Any takers? Anyone? LOL

So, to clarify, if kitty stays under 50 for a period of time, say a couple of hours, that constitutes have a decrease in dosage then...?

Also, does this mean that her glucose toxicity has FINALLY been broken through?
 
Re: Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48 +7 64

Earning a dose reduction isn't a matter of how long a (newly diagnosed) kitty stays under 50. The cat just needs to drop below 50. Once they drop below the cut-off (it's below 40 for a cat that's been diabetic for more than a year), they've earned the reduction and it's fine to get the numbers up. Surfing int he 50s and above is better in terms of the pancreas healing and hoping there's not a big bounce. A reduction is in the amount of 0.25u unless you know from experience that your kitty is temperamental about reductions.

Don't be surprised if Blackie bounces. The drop into the 30s may have caused her liver to panic. Wait and see what the rest of the cycle looks like before worrying about the PM dose.
 
Re: Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48 +7 64

I'll test Blackie for you if you'll get my groceries too. Somehow I don't think the one can of FF I have left will work for 4 cats.

If a newly diagnosed cat goes under 50, that qualifies them for a dose reduction. Technically it doesn't matter if they stay there, or just touch 40's and go up, but when they do stay there it makes me even more sure that they need a reduction. So yes, I would shoot 4.5. If she bounces, you can shoot the old dose one more time. It looks like Blackie isn't much of a bouncer anymore.

Yep, it looks like her toxicity has broken. :mrgreen:

Also, I wanted to point out something that a lot of people forget. Lantus has a shed, and the bigger doses have bigger sheds (makes sense, right?). Skinnying the dose today probably had no effect on Blackie's cycle, because she still has lots of shed action from last night's 4.75. I know it made you feel better to skinny, but probably these numbers would have happened anyway. If you want to drain a shed on a larger dose kitty, you would have to reduce the dose by a lot to possibly have an effect on that cycle (and that will also have an effect on the next several cycles). Just as an extreme example, I gave Jazzy a definite fur shot this morning. I would say she got half of her usual dose (12u), if even that. She is 105 at +5 anyway. I might see higher numbers tomorrow because of today's fur shot, but it didn't make a difference in today's numbers.
 
Re: Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48 +7 64

Unfortunately, I do need to get a bit of shopping done this afternoon before PMPS. I even told Blackie that, otherwise, she wont' have any food for the morning. So, she needs to continue to rise a bit more before I feel comfortable enough to leave her for a couple of hours. Just hope that she gets the message. LOL

And, thank you, Libby. I'm so very happy that she's earned the reduction AND that the toxicity is finally broken. :) Perhaps this is a start of better things for her... And maybe... in the months to come, she'll be OTJ, too. That would be nice. :)
 
Re: Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48 +7 64

looking good!
It seems Korbel and Blackie would like nearly identical numbers today. I'm a bit behind you so maybe I should suspect a drop for my +6 :lol:
 
Re: Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +5 46 +5.5 57 +6 48 +7 64

Jennifer, you may just get a drop at +6. LOL

She's rising nicely now. I can take off in a bit. Got involved in "Volcano". Like I haven't seen that movie before. LOL
 
Re: Still Dosing ? 10/08 Blackie AMPS +6 48 +7 64 +8 79

Am about to test her in about 1/2 hour, but I won't be home most of the night tonight to monitor her. She's been given the green light for a dose decrease to 4.50u.

She tested at 129 @ PMPS. Am going to give her 4.25u until tomorrow a.m. as we've been invited out for dinner tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top