? 1/9 Bui Bui AMPS 364 +1 346 PMPS 331

It's matter of getting to a good dose. The higher numbers you are seeing after the AM cycle of 8/30 are what we call "bouncing".

"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

Numbers tend to be flat and high in bounce cycles. We can only wait patiently for the bounce to clear.

I've read through the past few condos but not too far back, so forgive me if I ask the same questions again. I see Bui Bui Ling is eating both low carb wet and dry food. Any chance you can get get rid of the dry food (even though it's low carb) and switch him to 100% wet food?

With dry food in the picture, you can only follow SLGS which means holding a dose for a week. However, considering his history of DKA and the need to get him to good numbers sooner, I'm wondering if you can increase his dose to 1.25U tonight (or tomorrow morning if you've already shot tonight).

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
Have you been able to get any ketones tests in? If so, please indicate the results on the spreadsheet, such as in the Remarks column. If there are ketones present, then we can definitely increase sooner. There is some leeway with SLGS to change the guidelines with ketones in the picture. The Libre does give you valuable data, so we can see how low he is going on this dose, to know it's safe to increase.
 
Have you been able to get any ketones tests in? If so, please indicate the results on the spreadsheet, such as in the Remarks column. If there are ketones present, then we can definitely increase sooner. There is some leeway with SLGS to change the guidelines with ketones in the picture. The Libre does give you valuable data, so we can see how low he is going on this dose, to know it's safe to increase.
No i have not been able to do so as i am not with the kitty for long. Usually i stay to shoot then leave for work, with kitty under my parent care.

Given the case, shld i raise or hold a few days?
 
It's matter of getting to a good dose. The higher numbers you are seeing after the AM cycle of 8/30 are what we call "bouncing".

"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

Numbers tend to be flat and high in bounce cycles. We can only wait patiently for the bounce to clear.

I've read through the past few condos but not too far back, so forgive me if I ask the same questions again. I see Bui Bui Ling is eating both low carb wet and dry food. Any chance you can get get rid of the dry food (even though it's low carb) and switch him to 100% wet food?

With dry food in the picture, you can only follow SLGS which means holding a dose for a week. However, considering his history of DKA and the need to get him to good numbers sooner, I'm wondering if you can increase his dose to 1.25U tonight (or tomorrow morning if you've already shot tonight).

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
Bui bui is on maybe a numbers of dried young again mature zero kibbles (maybe 10, 15 pills) as treat.
Ok, will try to eliminate the kibbles.

Ok, I have not shoot for tonight but given that bui bui stays w my parent, i will continue the 1u dose and increase to 1.25u tmr morning when i am there.

Thank u for the detailed guide on bouncing, do notice that he is experiencing relatively flat curve today..

Thank u for the reply...
 
Have you been able to get any ketones tests in? If so, please indicate the results on the spreadsheet, such as in the Remarks column. If there are ketones present, then we can definitely increase sooner. There is some leeway with SLGS to change the guidelines with ketones in the picture. The Libre does give you valuable data, so we can see how low he is going on this dose, to know it's safe to increase.
Also, i just replaced the sensor yesterday, could it be contributing to the wonky reading as well?
 
Yes, I believe the Libre gives wonky reading for first few hours - I'm not sure if it's 12 or 24 hours.
I just hope its about finding the right dose.
Its so frustrating when u kept increasing but it still doesnt seem to work.

It get better then rebounce again
 
Back
Top