Re: 1/9 Baby AMPS 243 +3 220
Read up on "filling the shed". The concept is that there is a time period (each cat is different) where there is enough insulin built up to cover the needs all the way round the clock. Sometimes, the shed fills quickly; sometimes it fills slowly. Once the shed is filled, you will start to see the flat curve that Lantus is famous for; some movement in numbers, but no drastic drop or raise.
Don't worry if you don't see changes right away; or, if you do see changes right away after changing a dose, it may not hold (New Dose Wonkiness, or NDW). Take a look at Esse's ss and you'll see some really bizarre, wide changes, and some high flats...but you'll also see some breakthroughs (mostly this last 36 hour period). It does take time, and patience, and what's most important is how your cat is behaving; in nursing school, they say "look at the patient, not the monitors", and it holds true with kitties as well. 'Course, that doesn't mean anything when the numbers are so weird; you can't help but look at the monitors...but the end decider is how kitty is doing (how patient is doing). I had a patient that I was ready to call in all the backup I could find - his BP was 63/36 (according to the book, that meant he was unconscious and close to death). Then I took a look at him...and he was there in the bed, reading the newspaper, drinking water, no complaints of anything. LOL...and yes, while I did go get the docs, it wasn't the mad dash screaming with my hair on fire that was my initial reaction. LOLOL.
Just trying to show that while monitors are important, what is most important is how the patient (the kitty) is acting. Is all well? The 5 p's in order? Take your cue from Baby...and go from there.
Hang in there, Nicole. You're doing well (and I suspect you've managed to eat something by now...)
Best-
Michele