1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147 +5 131

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

Thanks, everyone...for replying so fast... sensitive after the other night & now...with going to work & being gone for 9 hours post shot. What do I need to do here? I will not be able to get a BG Test in after our AMPS 4 days a week... I know to leave food out..but this is seeming scary for a newbie.
I trust in you all.

**When do I BG again tonight?
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

How about doing a dry run tomorrow? I'm assuming you're back to work (aka "the bad place" - tbp) on Monday. Test and shoot as you would on Monday. Leave food out. Go ahead and test during the day, but don't leave more food out than you would if you were gone for the day. If Baby's numbers are running a little low, you'll be able to observe what she does. Then you'll know. If you're still concerned, we'll help you brainstorm.
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

i'd retest in an hour, but i have to ask...
what did you feed baby and how much did you give her. that's a pretty big rise...
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

Nicole & Baby said:
Thanks, everyone...for replying so fast... sensitive after the other night & now...with going to work & being gone for 9 hours post shot. What do I need to do here? I will not be able to get a BG Test in after our AMPS 4 days a week... I know to leave food out..but this is seeming scary for a newbie.
I trust in you all.

((((Nicole)))) you're doing fine. The nice thing about weekends is that they give us a chance to do some testing so we can better predict what will happen during the week. We always consider the bean's individual circumstances when suggesting a dose. So far this is not too low at all, 92 is an excellent nadir and the regular low carb food bumped Baby up really well (a lot, actually). That is really good information to have - now you know that regular food can help bump her up.

I know you're worried about the other night, I would be too. But this is a very different situation because it's a WAY lower dose of insulin so it won't affect her for as long as the 5 units did. The reason that was an emergency, and this is not, is because with all that extra insulin on board, we didn't know how long it would take for her numbers to rise. Tonight's cycle is much more typical.

Questions? Ask away!
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

Sounds good...about tomorrow.
She had Nature's Variety Raw Rabbit & some freeze dried chicken sprinkled on top. She is a grazer..eats very little & ALWAYS walks away from food...
But this evening...she ate 3 plates full..which gave me the clue to test...3 plates sounds like a lot, but they are very tiny pieces I give...so if Raw came in a can..just to visualize...maybe 1/4 of a 3 ounce can.
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

Nicole & Baby said:
I know to leave food out..but this is seeming scary for a newbie.

I am nervous everyday I walk out the door, even after a few months of this. One plus you have going for you is that Baby has proven to want food when dropping. Not something that is guaranteed in my situation, or a handful of other folks in the group. I hope that boosts your confidence a bit! :mrgreen:

Once you see more cycles, you will learn how your cat responds to various situations (food, onset of insulin, large/small drops, bounces, etc). And once you think you understand, baby will change it on ya! ohmygod_smile

I understand your fears tonight. But I also know you will be okay. The courage you showed and the outpouring of support you received makes it clear you can make it through anything...including going to work next week.

Hang in there!
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

Libby...thank you! You all have made me feel so much better...I will try not to over react..I just don't know what to expect & thought she would surf blues before getting a green. I know ECID & it is a science (not always predictible) but my screw up on OD & the newness has me hyperventilating :shock:
30 mins will be 1 hour.. I will test again then...
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

good info to know. sounds like baby is pretty carb sensitive... which means it shouldn't take much lc to bring her numbers up.
another good thing to know is baby felt herself dropping and ate. this should help you feel better if she starts to drop while you're at work. as long as you leave food out it sounds like she'll eat. you're collecting all sorts of good info tonight!
 
Re: 1/9 Baby PMPS 282 + 1.5 209 +4 92 +4.5 147

Good points about collecting info tonight (for which I am grateful), will also make tomorrow look like what Monday will (excellent idea) & thanks again for all the support... see you in 20 mins... :dizcat
 
Just did the +5, Baby is snoozing & now eating some Wellness Chicken Canned...
I am thinking it is safe to go to bed...what do you think Jill?

For what it is worth... you are all AMAZING.. just hours ago..I was disappointed in yellows & was told by Jill.. there would probably be ACTION soon... Jill.. you could not have been more correct. How you knew..I will never know..but thank you.
 
The first time Gabby had a flat yellow cycle, Cassandra and Miriam warned me to be prepared to see some "action." It's almost like our kitties are gathering up steam for an upcoming busy cycle. I don't know if there's a technical explanation for it or if it's just the years of experience that people like Jill and Cassandra and Libby and others have with the cats here along with looking at thousands of SSs, but that kind of experience is something I've found is worth paying attention to.
 
Sienne, absolutely! Baby has been in yellows the majority (even off Insulin) so..yellows are normal for her...to see Lantus working after just a few days is amazing..in spite of newbie jitters. Thank you for your support & words of wisdom too.
 
Nicole & Baby said:
Just did the +5, Baby is snoozing & now eating some Wellness Chicken Canned...
I am thinking it is safe to go to bed...what do you think Jill?

For what it is worth... you are all AMAZING.. just hours ago..I was disappointed in yellows & was told by Jill.. there would probably be ACTION soon... Jill.. you could not have been more correct. How you knew..I will never know..but thank you.

i think you're fine to go to bed, but leave food out for baby to nibble on.

kitty's don't always do what we think they'll do, but every once in awhile we get it right! lol! fwiw, some kitties see action on the second cycle following a flat cycle. eventually you'll pick up on baby's patterns... and just when you think you have it figured out... she switch it up on you. :mrgreen:
 
Food is out & it is lights out here.....I need a few days off to recover from my days off...
I know I say it in every post I post......but my gratitude for your expertise & support is more than words can begin to express.
Have a beautiful, blessed day & night..... o:-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top