1/9-10 Samwise AMPS 270 +5 78 +10 123 pmps 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 270 Skinny 1u
Thanks for letting me post here! :smile:

+5 78 Good boy Sammie!
+10 123

PMPS 269 skinny 1u

1/10
AMPS 237 Skinny 1u
+5 198
PMPS 370 Skinny 1u

1/11 AMPS 198 Skinny 1u
PMPS 195 Skinny 1u Good boy Sammy! :-D
 
Re: 1/9 Samwise AMPS 270

You are welcome.

Did you see my reply at the end of your thread yesterday? If you haven't already, please read about Somogyi Rebound.

Also, you don't have to start a new thread every day - wasn't sure if you thought you had to or not. It's up to you. I think that several days can be kept together in one thread - or one topic or whatever. Things move slowly enough here that it won't get lost "down the page".
 
Re: 1/9 Samwise AMPS 270 +5 78

I've read about the rebound. I don't put much credence in it, myself. Sam is having some kidney issues, not bad ones yet though. The vet thinks that is the reason we can't get him regulated. I don't know I think Sam likes being obstinate! :lol:
 
Re: 1/9 Samwise AMPS 270 +5 78

Why do you not put much credence in rebound? We see it all the time. I have first hand experience with a cat that didn't follow the rules and bounced all over the place. Said cat is in remission (has been for 27 mos now). If I had followed the protocol and ignore the very, very subtle evidence of rebound his dose would have been increased and increased and who knows where he would be now.

You just saw a big drop today off of a "skinny" 1u. And, as I posted before, he has had lows on less insulin. If he is high at tonight's PS or all day tomorrow, that's rebound. (unless you feed him a big serving of dry food).

I have not heard of kidney issues keeping a cat from being regulated. That sort of comment gets posted all the time, "thus and such is going on so the vet says my cat can't be regulated". Yes, things like chonic infections (dental, p-titis, UTIs, etc.) will effect regulation because they cause unstable numbers due to the changing infection, pain, dehydration. But if those things are addressed then regulation should not be a problem. I really think it's one of those catch-all excuses when the vet doesn't know what to do next - because they don't treat cats 24/7 at home with home testing and low carb diets the way people here do.

However, if he has enough renal insufficiency to cause some dehydration, then a small amount of sub-Q fluids might really help. Others here used them, or are using them for that purpose. Since both diabetes and CRF cause dehydration fluids can be a big help in managing FD, often lowering the insulin needs.
 
Re: 1/9 Samwise AMPS 270 +5 78

Mostly because when I put Sam on a lower dose he just doesn't do well. His numbers get high and stay high. I've tried it all PZI, lower doses, higher doses and we just can't regulate the boy. I do free feed but not dry, he eats canned.
 
Re: 1/9 Samwise AMPS 270 +5 78 +10 123

I like the look of today's numbers on that skinny 1U.

One thing to be said for "big drops," is if there has been a rebound, but the dose is close to optimal once the rebound clears that big drop can happen. The drop itself is what causes rebound in those cases, not really too much insulin. It may be about the right amount of insulin, but the body hasn't figured that out yet. That's one important reason why to hold the dose longer in some cases. Sam may be one of those.
 
Mmmm.....I've never heard that before and I like it. Sam could very well be one of those kitties. I'd bet money on it.
 
sueandsamwise said:
Mmmm.....I've never heard that before and I like it. Sam could very well be one of those kitties. I'd bet money on it.

I hope you are right 'cause once the light bulb goes off on why they react to doses the way they do (ECID, remember) it makes things much easier and you can anticipate BGs rather than always feeling like you're scratching your head!
 
Re: 1/9 Samwise AMPS 270 +5 78

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
However, if he has enough renal insufficiency to cause some dehydration, then a small amount of sub-Q fluids might really help. Others here used them, or are using them for that purpose. Since both diabetes and CRF cause dehydration fluids can be a big help in managing FD, often lowering the insulin needs.

Sheila is so right about this. I am just wondering what were Sam's kidney values on his last bloodwork? It is helpful to get copies from your vet, then you can keep track of the values over time and see.

Welcome to the Lev ISG. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top