Re: 1/9 Samwise AMPS 270 +5 78
Why do you not put much credence in rebound? We see it all the time. I have first hand experience with a cat that didn't follow the rules and bounced all over the place. Said cat is in remission (has been for 27 mos now). If I had followed the protocol and ignore the very, very subtle evidence of rebound his dose would have been increased and increased and who knows where he would be now.
You just saw a big drop today off of a "skinny" 1u. And, as I posted before, he has had lows on less insulin. If he is high at tonight's PS or all day tomorrow, that's rebound. (unless you feed him a big serving of dry food).
I have not heard of kidney issues keeping a cat from being regulated. That sort of comment gets posted all the time, "thus and such is going on so the vet says my cat can't be regulated". Yes, things like chonic infections (dental, p-titis, UTIs, etc.) will effect regulation because they cause unstable numbers due to the changing infection, pain, dehydration. But if those things are addressed then regulation should not be a problem. I really think it's one of those catch-all excuses when the vet doesn't know what to do next - because they don't treat cats 24/7 at home with home testing and low carb diets the way people here do.
However, if he has enough renal insufficiency to cause some dehydration, then a small amount of sub-Q fluids might really help. Others here used them, or are using them for that purpose. Since both diabetes and CRF cause dehydration fluids can be a big help in managing FD, often lowering the insulin needs.