? 1/8 - Bandit - Do I increase her dose?

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
It is 9 days since we took an increase (from 1.5 to 1.75). As per SLGS, "If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose".

We saw one nadir on 4th that was in this range - which now seems like a one-off. So wondering if I should increase the dose to 2 units?

We have just received the Young Again zero carb kibble and are attempting to transition Bandit to it. Facing tough initial resistance and I hope (and pray) that we will manage to transition her to it over the course of the next few weeks.

In the interim, do I take that dose increase of 0.25 to 2?
 
From that same section on SLGS:

If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

On the 4th, you had 2 numbers within the hold range (106,122) . It is possible that Bandit went lower overnight after +4 and maybe that is why you saw higher AMPS numbers, on the 6th and 8th... but we don't know for sure. There isn't a BG curve for this dose yet.
I think you hold here, but someone more experienced should be along soon.
 
From that same section on SLGS:

If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

On the 4th, you had 2 numbers within the hold range (106,122) . It is possible that Bandit went lower overnight after +4 and maybe that is why you saw higher AMPS numbers, on the 6th and 8th... but we don't know for sure. There isn't a BG curve for this dose yet.
I think you hold here, but someone more experienced should be along soon.

She is new to numbers below 200 (even 250!) so even that triggers a bounce. Plus her BG spikes when she eats kibble in the early hours of the morning (even 4-5 hours before AMPS).
 
i don’t think you have missed any overnight blues, but with that 106 and change in diet, I would hold the dose a few days yet.
 
She is new to numbers below 200 (even 250!) so even that triggers a bounce. Plus her BG spikes when she eats kibble in the early hours of the morning (even 4-5 hours before AMPS).


What counts as being " new " to certain numbers? She had blues and greens the 2cd of December and more blues with lower yellows the week of Christmas. Does the new number rule mostly mean consistent numbers and not the occasional drop? I'm asking for me too :)
 
"new to blue and green" is only relevant for dosing if following TR. I think what Bhooma means is that Bandit is still very bouncy because she's not used to blue and green numbers yet.

Oh ok.... I was thinking about switching but realized that there is still so much I don't understand about TR so I was curious.
I thought I understood bouncing too, but after the past few nights with my guy I clearly didn't.
 
What counts as being " new " to certain numbers? She had blues and greens the 2cd of December and more blues with lower yellows the week of Christmas. Does the new number rule mostly mean consistent numbers and not the occasional drop? I'm asking for me too :)

Bandit showed great numbers the week after starting insulin - I think that was largely because she wasn't eating during the day (she is a night grazer) and the insulin was taking her low. We have never been able to go that low after. I've found that after 4-5 days of a dose increase she would show some yellows and blues but then go back to high pinks.

With the change to new kibble (grain-free 16% carbs with sweet potato from 26% carbs with corn/oats) her numbers have been better in the last 10 days. But the blues are still rare.
 
i don’t think you have missed any overnight blues, but with that 106 and change in diet, I would hold the dose a few days yet.

Will do. I think the transition to YA - if we manage it at all, is going to take quite a few weeks. Right now, she doesn't even want to look at it. If we mix a bit of it in her existing kibble, she eats her old kibble and leaves the YA ones!
 
Back
Top