1/8 Baby AMPS (No Shot will be given) +20.5 289

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Baby +16.5 93 +20.5 289

Jojo...... I am in CST (Central Time Zone)
Just did her 18.5 104 (very happy)
I am hoping we are nearly out of the woods... am wondering if we should do a 5am test, or if we can wait a few hours now? I will definitely read much more about this & completely agree to do what you experts suggets, thank you to all of you...for staying with me all day & night AND explaining everything in detail... this newbie mind needs it.... Baby & I thank you (Sadi too - for bringing her sister back) xoxoxoxo
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +18.5 104

Wow.....

You are amazing..you do realize that you, with the support of this board, kept this situation from being a tragedy?

Really well done... I went through hypo on 4 units caninsulin and while mine was a shorter duration, it was terrifying.
It changes the way you look at things forever and one day not so far away, you will be the one reaching out to others so no one ever has to go it alone when scared because of what you experienced today.

Please give yourself a (((hug))) and give that Baby major scritches.

The team that is here are wonderful and I would trust them with the life of every one of my furries.

The sticky gets better with a warm wash cloth, and once she is recovered, she will give herself a really good bath.
Chocolate, lots of it..have you eaten yet?
May I suggest, as all the adrenaline is sorting itself out in your body, that a few cold glasses of water may be a good idea now along with some food?

Kimmee
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +18.5 104

Iff she hasn't eaten since the 100 she's stabilised a little, the 2 numbers are effectively the same (roughly a 20% meter variance)

If you want to set your mind at rest, get yourself ready for bed and do one last test and if still rising then she's headed in the right direction and you can get some well earned sleep.
Hopefully Jojo will come back in a bit to double check on you.

She's in a safe number but you want to make sure she's not wobbling.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +18.5 104

she is doing just great. if next test has given a nice jump up, you get some sleep too? sure she is sleeping away.
it is 6 am here and normally woulds not be a problem, but i just got bad chills come on suddenly (the kind you get right before a big fever) so i have to turn off computer, (shaking too hard to type).

you are up to +18.5 and numbers are nice and steady in a very safe range. i would not turn off computer if i was not sure your kitty was gonna be just fine.

so i have to go but there is TONS of peeps around, the crazy late late nighters, the crazy early early morning peeps, and the Europeans that this is a perfectly fine time to be awake will all be here watching and ready to answer any questions.

you get some sleep too okay?
did such an awesome job today, really be very proud of yourself. :cool:
 
Nicole...

...so proud of you for making it through the night.
I hope you can get some rest today and snuggles with Baby and the rest of your furry crew, you deserve it!
 
Yikes! (Was warned about this) +20.5 289 Baby is Back!!
Hate that yellow # (after seeing my greens/blues just a few hours ago) But we are out of the woods & I think it is time for bed!!!! : )
Still sticking with the suggestion of not shooting this AM...will keep you all well informed & I do hope Baby enjoyed her high carb party yesterday - I did not :mrgreen:
Hugs to all of you & Thank you again!!!!

P.S Thank you to Ronnie..if you would not have "nudged" me to do a +3 BG, I would have NEVER caught this as early as I did..Baby showed NO symptoms throughout really, but especially not at +3

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you...this newbie would NOT have tested at +3.

**When should I begin a new condo? Hate for others to have to go thru this one..I might do that in a few hours (after some sleep)
 
Hi Nicole, u can begin a new condo whenever you're ready, just remember to link this one to your new thread.

(aw thanks, but this whole adventure was a team effort! All of us here in LL became one big Team yesterday to help you get through this!)
Get some rest!
 
Nighty, nighty Nicole! Yoiu did a great job. Actually this isn't all that bad, she is not really higher than she was without insulin. It could continue to rise a bit, but if it stays level or even goes down some it could be a good sign that her own pancreas is producing some insulin. That means she has a big chance of not needing insulin for very long and becoming completely diet-controlled!

We look forward to seeing a new condo and where Baby is at when you wake up. Just remember lot's of others have made that same mistake or simular, I know you won't again. I have seen it happen several times, yet we don't seem to learn from the mistakes of others. Everytime I slap my forhead and say "I should have predicted this" Yesterday when I answered your post on Health just after you shot a little something was telling me, I hope she really knew where the .5U mark is, that's why I posted the picture, then I thought oh of course she knows that she just wanted to know what we call it, so I wrote it's called .5U or a half-unit.

I know I couldn't have prevented because you asked after you had injected. Just wish we could make sure everyone knows exactly how to measure and be sure they have the right type of syringes before they give that first dose.

I have studied medicine although I don't have much to do with insulin or diabetics I should know that syringes are not always universal for all medicines. I used a different insulin before Levemir it was a different concentration U40 (meaning 40 units per ml fluid) you use U40 syringes which I had a box of. When I was going to switch to Levemir which like Lantus is U100, I needed new syringes for U100 insulin. I spent several hours beating my head trying figure out if I could calculate how much that would be if I used those U40 syringes I already had. It doesn't work and it is nearly impossible to be able to measure it, I was just so upset over "wasting supplies" and thinking hey I'm good with math and I know this stuff I could have really messed things up. Don't feel bad ok.....We enjoyed the chance to get to know you and Baby so much so soon!
 
I hope you are getting some much needed rest right now Nichole! I just got finished reading your condo and I really have to say that you handled this whole situation amazingly!!! You certainly were baptized on your first day of dosing and hopefully this is NOT the beginning of things to come :razz:
And to all the folks who helped out today, you are all angels and wonderful folks!! This board is amazing!!!
 
It was good to wake up this morning and see the expected outcome -- Baby was fine, BG levels were up (and maybe not done going up), and you were getting some sleep. This experience has, no doubt, been the least typical welcome to LL and one of the longest condos I've seen (I've not been here all that long), but it is a very dramatic example of what this place is all about, how it works, and how well we all work together. So, welcome to this incredible community. I'm hoping that your condo for today is much, much calmer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top