1/8 Baby AMPS (No Shot will be given) +20.5 289

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36

Let's see. Baby weighs about 1.5lbs less than Webber and Baby got one more unit than Webber. Yes ECID but would it be too hopeful to think another 3-6 hours? Gosh how I hope it is only another 3 hours for you both.

Let's see what the others have to say.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36

Nicole: Try and eat something, peanutbutter on toast. Just something. You will be wiped out tomorrow. No apologies necessary, this is what this board is all about. The knowledge here is incredible. Breathe, you have lots of support. You will make it through this. How about some strong coffee? May help. Have a drink when it is over.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36

Nicole,

A couple things to keep in mind.

1) Don't be sorry or feel bad because you need help. You have a serious situation going on and it's because of your strength and willingness to listen and take direction from the people on this board, that you are doing everything you need to do to help Baby.

2) You may not have realized that while you are spending your day and night panicking, Baby is feeling great and enjoying herself. She has no clue anything wrong happened. Take a good long look at her, is she relaxed, is she happy, she's obviously enjoying all the food. She hasn't clue she got too much insulin. So, please don't panic, she's not.

3) While you may not feel like eating, do you have any soda or coffee or even chocolate in your house? Have something with caffeine in, even if it's just a drink. Then maybe you can eat something light, because you really need to have some food in your stomach. I know the thought is gross, but you need to take care of yourself as much as Baby.

And when you do feed Baby, only give her a teaspoon or two of food at a time, with lots of HC and the dextrose from the vet, again the idea is you don't want to overfill her, but she's got to eat to keep the BG's high.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36

nicole, i know this isn't what you want to hear, but i have to say it...
imho, a kitty continuing to throw 30s at +12 should really be under a vet's care. i think there is too much of a risk treating her at home.
i know the ER is expensive, but what's happening here is very risky. i'm very uncomfortable with this...
please let a professional deal with this.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36 +12.5 54 +13 59

nicole, please post your updates. if you only edit the subject line your thread will not bump to the top.

that 59 @ +13 is good to see!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36 +12.5 54 +13 59

hi nicole.
was alerted to this thread and just read through it. you're doing a great job!
how much oral dextrose do you have left?
do not fed her any regular food, only HC until numbers show good trend upwards. don't want her getting full on regular food, every bite should have number rising properties. kwim?

if this continues to the wee hours, you'll be hanging out with me, i'm a vet tech, and i stay up all night and sleep during days so i'll keep you company.
i'm gonna PM you my phone number so if you get nervous about next number or something, feel free to call, okay?
hopefully that last number is the beginning of the trend upwards! (but i have seen these last a real long time when i worked at ER, so be ready for long night). have a little coffee or a soda. and don't fall asleep.

okay gonna PM you now....
hang in there, doing awesome job.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36 +12.5 54 +13 59

Oh yeah! Jojo's here!

Nicole, you are in wonderful hands with Jojo. She's such a life saver on this board and has helped many, many cats!!!!! ~O) ~O) have some, lots of it....
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36 +12.5 54 +13 59

Jojo..THANK YOU! I am somewhat snowed in..we did a reading about 30mins ago, it was 36..gave some more dextrose & some gravy..am off to test again here in a few minutes.
I am up & wide awake..riding this out.. she is Alert & content still...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36 +12.5 54 +13 59

WELCOME JOJO!! It's super to see you here. :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Nicole, you are in the very best hands.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77

+14 BG 77, but a drop at +13.5, so we are here at 77 with dexatrose & some gravy...but we are here thankfully! Wide awake still & Baby is just chillin...alert & seems just fine.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77

whew, this is starting to look encouraging. :smile:

You're doing fantastic, I can't believe your great attitude.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77

I have been following your condo all night and now that it seems to be coming to a conclusion just wanted to congratulate you on your first day of Lantus. Reading this condo has been like a good thriller novel, nailbiting nailbite_smile , laughter :lol: and quite a few times close to tears :cry: but you now have a solid grasp of hypo procedure and you have met all the members of Lantus Land in one day :lol: , quite a feat!

Looking forward to reading your daily condos with more normal topics like constipation and liquipoo...don't ask.
Hang in there....you're almost done! You've done a fantastic job! :thumbup
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77

Hi Nicole!

What an exciting evening for you.. Glad to see that numbers are coming up... phew!!
Looks like kitty knows how to get some attention.. lol!

Great job..
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77

How are you holding up, Nicole? Talking to Jojo the wonder worker?

Hang tight...maybe this is the break you need; maybe this is her liver finally able to overcome the insulin...and maybe she'll drop again later. But great number at 77...hang tight, darlin, hang tight.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77

Thanks everyone! Super scary for nearly 12 hours now (3 hours post the injection was the first BG test to check) Anyway..am planning on staying up all night to see how this rides out.


Jojo, should I keep testing every 30mins or can I wait until the full hour is up & based off that #, see if we need to return to every 30?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77

I'm not Jojo, but I think I would get at least one more 1/2 hour test. That will show you if Baby is still rising (hopefully) or if she's going to try to drop again. If it's going up, you might be able to slack off a little on testing (a little, not much!).
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77 +14.5 97

Couldn't wait..did the .30 testing, 97! Very happy...now..continue to feed high carb? I do know to keep testing..am thinking once an hour now..she is walking around & interested in playing now...am still riding this out...no worries... I AM NOT going to sleep tonight... we are coming up on 15hours!!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77 +14.5 97

yes, continue to feed high carb for awhile yet. we want to make sure baby's numbers continue to rise...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77 +14.5 97

Yes!! a 97!! Nice work, girl...baptism by fire, but you really have it nailed for the next time there's a hypo event. And like I said before, pretty dratted soon you'll know all the tricks for other newbies.

Isn't this forum the best?

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77 +14.5 97

Woohoo Nicole and Baby!!!! Hope you are out of the woods.

You are the bomb baby flip_cat
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77 +14.5 97

Thanks everyone! We all have had a heck of a day (yes that includes all of you!) Thankfully you all have been around!

Jill.. I will continue high carb & test again in 30mins (which would make it an hour since last testing) She is definitely up & moving around..
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77 +14.5 97

Very good job today in managing your crisis! It was very impressive to read your posts - it didn't sound like you panicked and you stuck with it. I hope your numbers cont to rise. What a welcome to LL, eh!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +14 77 +14.5 97

Joyce....thanks!
Welcome is right!! Thankfully Baby is a tough lil lady & has all of you offering minute by minute advice! She has went to lay down (what is she thinking?? It is only nearly 1am here LOL)
Anyway..will test again in 12mins... which will be our 1 hour read...hoping it is steady or increasing!! Ready to go back to the Raw & Wellness LOL
Still going to stay up for quite some time..more than likely all night... too nervous!!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

YAY! +15.5 134, very excited! Now some questions:
1. She wants to go to sleep, I dont want her to go unconcious..I dont know how that typically happens during a hypo. I am NOT going to bed, but can she? I will get her up in an hour & test again.
2. Can the low carb (Wellness) come back out again? I have finally got her & her sister switched & am a little nervous with this FF & Friskies Gravy out.

I still have a syringe full of 50% Dextrose/Water, HC canned food & full bottle of Karo Syrup & Honey too.

I think we will be Ok...what am I missing? Any suggestions?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

awesome! it is ending.
really getting a series of readings all going in right way, the insulin is finally starting to fade.

i even see a bed in your future!

gonna chat with some others about my thoughts about tomorrow morning. one of us will come back to chat with you about what we think adn what you think and what shoudl be done. k?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

Sounds great!! Can she go to sleep if I get her up to test?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

Hooray Nicole! That's got to be one of the happiest 134s ever posted in this forum. I hope this means the crisis has truly been averted...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

1. She wants to go to sleep, I dont want her to go unconcious..I dont know how that typically happens during a hypo. I am NOT going to bed, but can she? I will get her up in an hour & test again.

~yes she can take a cat nap. they like to sleep, is the nature of being a cat. just not quite bed time for you just yet, k? (set an alarm just in case you get wisked away to land of nod, it happens! been a very long emotional day, you gotta be very exhausted)

2. Can the low carb (Wellness) come back out again? I have finally got her & her sister switched & am a little nervous with this FF & Friskies Gravy out.

~sure. that last number makes me pretty comfortable. just do not let her pig out on the LC in case we need to guide numbers a bit more in a bit.

so she gets snackus and sleepus. :)
and we'll brb....
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

Laura/Jojo.........thank you!!! flip_cat
No sleep for me for sure..will let her sleep though..she has not napped all day/night.. will bring out the Wellness for when snack time comes..they tend to free feed..
Will test again on the hour mark.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

Nicole, you are amazing! I'm glad to see Baby is moving in the right direction. Take care of yourself, too, though. Hope you can get some sleep soon!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

This was nice to wake up to this morning, looks like the party is winding down. You've done well Nicole and Baby is a real trooper too. She was certainly enjoying all that food! I hope you both can get some rest after a bit.

Funny thing is, (ok I am about half a day ahead of you in time) in the evening I had answered your post on Health about the .5U mark, with the picture. A few hours later after my dinner I checked in and saw Baby had gone really low at +3. I went to watch my TV show and I kept thinking about it, and was really wondering if perhaps the dose could have measured wrong. I turned my computer back on before bed and was going to suggest a measuring error and you had just figured that out.

Glad things are turning around now, and I know you won't make that mistake again! We have all goofed somehow at some point, we learn from it and move on.

Oh and Welcome to LL, did I tell you we do this with everyone, it's like RUSH initiation into the club :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134

Linda was the 1st to point out that maybe I had given 5 instead of .5 (I would have NEVER figured that out!!)
Thankfully her quick eye & response...helped me identify I had a Hypo on my hands... gosh... it sure helped get attention on it quick.
Deep breaths still here...13 hours after learning about my dosing error & 1 trip to the ER Vet...along with a friendly furry community that is no less than the VERY BEST! xoxoxoxo
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93

Getting nervous... 93
Was expecting a higher reading than last.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93

that is fine, expected numbers to bobble a little. 93 is still a very safe number. no worries.
did she eat in this last hour?
no need to do anything right now. all you are seeing is "the real" number as some of that sugar and carbs you gave before wear off. this is still a really good number. and it is a real, not sugar inflated number, so it is all good.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93

She had eaten a little Wellness Chicken canned in that hour.
Thank you for letting me know this is Ok...she is laying in my lap purring & cleaning herself..while I stare at the clock waiting for our next test in 37mins!! @-)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93

you're holding up very well, nicole! like jojo said, everything is fine.

jojo, cassandra, and i have been going over the day's events. let's do this in the morning... NO shot.

the numbers may be high, but that's the body's way of reacting to those lower numbers from the day before. the first drop from the 200s to the 20s triggered that reaction. it's just that there was so much insulin on board that the bounce into higher numbers was delayed and will be showing up shortly. the numbers will come down on their own as the rebound hormones clear naturally. it can take up to 3 days to clear the hormones out, but she might do it a lot quicker. in fact, we think she will. we just think she needs to be left alone and let her body even out. we can restart insulin tomorrow night if the numbers say so.

how does that sound to you?

oh and that means a whole lot of sleeping for both of you tomorrow. a nice quiet snow day. :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +17.5 100

Jill/Jojo/Cassandra, thank you for your expert minds & no doubt I am listening! We just did our +17.5 100 YAY!!
No food in this hour, she was on my lap purring & I had to get her up to test...it is 3am here! She must have known I needed company..most importanly hers...what better way to watch her, then just look down :-D
Still going to stay up & test again in an hour. I am not giving any HC anymore..we are back on our diet. When should I test again? In an hour?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +17.5 100

it's 3am here, 4am by jojo, and i'm not sure which time zone cassandra is in. :lol:
testing in an hour is fine...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +17.5 100

Hi Nicole. Just wanted to pop in and say hello, and congratulate you on surviving your first and (paws crossed) hopefully only major crisis!! I've been following along for hours, biting my nails, and it looks like things are turning around. You've done an incredible job and have earned a huge cocktail, pile of fries, massage, whatever floats your boat. I hope you and Baby get some fabulous sleep/cuddle time today.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +17.5 100

Jill & Alex said:
it's 3am here, 4am by jojo, and i'm not sure which time zone cassandra is in. :lol:

Aw, come on! :lol: I'm in the twilight zone.....is that a time zone? ;-)

In all seriousness - I'm in MI - EST like Jojo. And I'm a late nighter, also like Jojo and often Jill too. I'll be with you for at least a few more hours. Everything is looking very good right now, and I think the morning off will give you a great chance to recharge. I know you must need it!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +17.5 100

I can NEVER repay any of you!! But can guarantee I will pay it forward. Bless all of you for allowing Baby & I into your world... we will test again at 4am & hopefully can get some rest soon!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +17.5 100

Woohoo-you did good :mrgreen:

Very relieved you went to ER.
I know you've had a baptism of fire but there's nothing like experience to prepare you for what's to come ;-)

Now you know you can handle a crisis, stay awake and stay calm any low numbers in the future are gonna seem like a breeze :-D

Will be interesting to see where she goes after all that yummy sugary stuff.
The fact that she ate LC when offered I don't think you should have a problem returnng her to it.I think I agree on longest thread ever!
And now you can see why everyone is proud to be an FDMB member, all look out for each other newbie and old.

Enjoy your sleepus when it comes I-)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby +13 59 +15.5 134 +16.5 93 +17.5 100

hey there! i had to go feed my ferals and shoot my own cat, just got back. good i see jill posted the morning plan. so did you understand everything or anything in that?
i don;t know how much reading you have done before tonight, i see on SS you have been testing for a while but this all must be so WTH!!??!! to you.

see what happens is that her body has been hanging out in numbers of a higher range, so what happens is that her body got used to that range as "normal" so when it got those low numbers today a whole series of biochemical reactions take place in her body all with one goal~ to get numbers up higher, back to that range.
now what could happen over night is that that reaction was started and they can start it easy but don't exactly know when to turn it off, so it becomes an 'overreaction' and numbers can shoot up past that higher range she was used to and way way up. so do not panic if you get a real high number on meter when you wake up. it is normal. (and we will know by how high that over reaction number is how much partial pancreatic function she has, if it is not sky high, means her pancreas helped to quiet the overreaction a little, but don't worry about that, too much to understand all at once).
don't know if that helps or just makes it more confusing, best i can do at 4:52 am! lolol.

what time zone are you in? how long until next test? would like to tuck you in soon, hoomans need to sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top