1/8 Baby AMPS (No Shot will be given) +20.5 289

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

Good to know she is acting normally. I am sending a ton of <<hugs>> and <<purrs>> to you both!!! You are not alone.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

Nicole:

Jill is one of our long time Lantus/Levemir users and has walked countless people though situations like this. I trust her completely and encourage you to follow up on her suggestions. She will keep Baby safe.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

Wow, what a first day! Hang in there, though, you're doing great. And just think of everything you've learned today! Next time she goes low, you'll know exactly what to do. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

glad you called the vet. like i mentioned before, he'll probably want you to bring her in.

that's ok. don't worry she will be fine.

because lantus and levemir are long acting insulins, when overdosed there is a chance of this lasting for many hours. it's not unusual for the effects of the shot to last for around 14, 16, or 18 hours. the vet will put her on a glucose drip and monitor her.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

Thanks, Jill..still waiting on call back...I am up & will stay up & test as long as needed...6 hour mark is in about 20min & I will test again..
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

if it's been 15 minutes since the last time you tested...

please test her now.

do not wait another 20 minutes, k?

post the number.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

rub a little more honey on her gums now. and retest in 15 minutes.

just my opinion, i would just take her to the vet. you don't want to take the chance of her vomiting which could cause the bg to go down even more.
it's still early in the cycle when considering this is an overdose situation. they'll know what to do.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

I think I would go to the vet. The possibility that this could last another 12 to 18 hours would be exhausting for you and Baby. It would mean constant testing and feeding and I don't think she could eat much more.

Good luck and keep us posted.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

I rubbed Honey on her gums...will test again in 15 while waiting on the Vet to call.
Maybe things are Ok, since the Vet meters read higher? Who knows..am taking all advice & doing as told...I just want her Ok, I don't care about me..
Will keep everyone updated. Thank you again, to each & every one of you.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

Has the vet's office called back? If not, call again and stress this is an emergency. If the receptionist hems and haws, tell them you'll be there in 10 min. with Baby. Bring your meter and, like Jill said, honey. Stressing that this might be the result of the vet telling you to give 4u wouldn't hurt in terms of getting their attention. (It's a small twist of the truth!)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

yes, she may test a little higher at the vets, but... if she does something unexpectedly... if she refuses to eat or vomits... her numbers *could* drop quickly.
for safety reasons, i urge you to let the vet handle this. they will know exactly what to do.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

Good point Sienne!

Yeah I would start packing Baby's bag for a trip to the vet. Better to be safe.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

I agree with Jill and Miriam, the vet will be able to bring this number up easier than you can by using a glucose drip. You must be getting tired. Please keep us updated.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

I just sent you a private message with my phone number in case you need someone to talk to while you are at the vet. Or if you want me to post updates for you while you are at the vet. I will be starting my one hour commute home though in about 30 minutes so will be away from the computer but near the phone.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

Does anyone know how to update the subject line to say more? For example - I will want to give her latest #s, but am restricted on room.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

hit reply. when new screen comes up, delete (erase) the current subject line and put in the new number.
what is the new number?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32, +4 62, +5 46, +5.25 42, +5.5 46

I do think you are restricted on how much you can enter in the subject line.

I edited the line for this post which will save a little space. 15 min = .25 hrs. 30 min = .5 hrs, etc. That will save space of writing out minutes.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

+6 was 50
Sorry for the delay...was on phone with Vet - Vet confirmed everything you all are telling me - I am doing the right thing..rubbing, honey etc.
She said that she does not have anyone in the office over night to watch Baby on a Glucose Drip & she would certainly not leave her in the office alone.
She is calling the Emergency Vet & talking to them & faxing Baby's chart over - just in case. She said she would test every 30 mins until it keeps going up or levels out. But to get over to the ER if something does not seem Ok...so... I am going to keep a close eye on her, continue testing every 30mins & go from there. She has kept all food down, acting normal & I am not going to over react - I think that honey, HC gravy & a close eye & TESTING are going to get us thru.

By the way..the ER Vet is about 4miles away... thank you again for everything - keep us in your prayers & well wishes.. I think Baby is blessed in the middle of Mom's huge Mess! grr_red
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

(((hugs))), you are doing good. If vet says to keep doing what you are doing, then you are doing good :)

Just keep an eye on her and if things look off at all, get her to the ER vet.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

ok, some things i want to make sure you're aware of...

baby's numbers may drop again. if she drops below 50... do NOT wait 30 minutes to test her, k?

instead retest every 15 minutes if she drops below 50.

if it's been awhile since she's eaten... try to feed her a small amount of food... like a teaspoon's worth. small amounts of food will help. i don't want her to get too full, but on the other hand, food will keep the numbers up longer than honey. that being said, don't hesitate to use honey when needed.

please continue posting numbers. someone is always around and i imagine there a many, many eyes on this thread.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

It's good that you have an emergency vet nearby. As part of your cautionary preparations, just be sure you know how to get there. :-D When I've been concerned, I've also put Kitty's carrier in the car, prepared with fluffy blankets, with a note about what I need to bring (in your case, honey and your meter, plus your records) -- ready to go, just in case.

It's only natural that you feel frustrated with yourself, but let go of it as soon as you can. You're just a bean, doing your very best for your kitty.

Have some ~O) until it's time for that drinking24 !
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

You are going to be completely wrung out. Is there someone you can call who can hang out with you if for no other reason to make sure you don't fall asleep from the emotional overload? Likewise, if you need to go to the ER, It doesn't hurt to have company. You need to take care of Baby but you also need to take care of yourself.

Also, unless Jill or your vet tell you otherwise, do not give a shot tonight.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

Sienne and Gabby said:
You are going to be completely wrung out. Is there someone you can call who can hang out with you if for no other reason to make sure you don't fall asleep from the emotional overload? Likewise, if you need to go to the ER, It doesn't hurt to have company. You need to take care of Baby but you also need to take care of yourself.

Also, unless Jill or your vet tell you otherwise, do not give a shot tonight.

ditto! do NOT give a shot tonight, k?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

Jill, will do & thank you again for everything. I do appreicate everyone's prompt responses.
If below 50, will go back to testing every 15mins. Will most definitely keep everyone in the know....
Will NOT give any shots........tonight.....
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

May I just suggest that you call the ER vet and introduce yourself. As this may be the first time you're going there, ask them what their procedures are if you do need to bring her in.

I say this, because the closet ER place to me, will not allow walk ins, you must call first and tell them what's going on and only then will they open the door to let you in.

Also while on phone with them, reconfirm their location. Again, if you are rushing, you may not think about where they are and go to the wrong place.

And did we say, you're doing great!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

The Vet is letting the ER know..I do know the location (unfortunately)
Baby tested 51 at +6 1/2 hours now (latest test)
She just ate a bit of Wellness Chicken & is still lively as ever... will keep everyone posted.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

Linda and Fluffy said:
I just sent you a private message with my phone number in case you need someone to talk to while you are at the vet. Or if you want me to post updates for you while you are at the vet. I will be starting my one hour commute home though in about 30 minutes so will be away from the computer but near the phone.

Linda..no PM came thru with a #, but it warms my heart & I feel so blessed that you would even offer. We are doing OK & even though I am alone..I will stay up all night if need be. The outpouring of education & wonderful advice & direction has Baby & I moving in the right direction. THANK YOU again for such a sweet offer.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Nicole, is there anyone close by that u can call to come over? A friend, family member?
Someone mentioned you could get very exhausted tonight, believe it has happened, please try if u can get someone to hang out with you.
I'd go - I love testing - but I have no passport to cross the border :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby 51 @+6.5

Hi Nicole,

late to the party!

I think I read earlier you hadn't got heaps of HC. If not add honey to your LC.

Remeber what Jill has said about 15 minute checks.
Use your own observations of her behaviour too as a guide.

We had a similar experience on Lucky's first shot, 5u but administered by the vet!!! :roll:

Lots of eyes watching over you.
Your doing great :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

you're in good hands, nicole and have instructions from the vet and support here.
i have to go off-line now, but i'll check in on you later tonight.

please, i can't emphasize this enough... if you think the numbers are getting away from you pack her up in a warm blanket in her carrier, take honey with you, and go to ER.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Will keep testing..things are still going good so far...
Late to the party.. ha ha ha party_cat
I guess Baby had a party..on her old treats & High Carb LOL
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Nicole, you rock. You're doing amazingly well, and you are in no way, shape or form a bad mama. You're actually a very good mama...

If there's a friend or neighbor who can run to the market for you, and get some hc and more test strips (and some cheese and crackers, and wine...ahem...), why not see if they can do that for you?

Hang in there, all right? You're doing really, really well.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

I will be watching you for as long as I can tonight. You are doing amazingly well.

I am sure this is an experience you won't forget for a long while----unless you have that wine once Baby is in the clear. :thumbup
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

and Momma bean has a sense of humour :lol:

Very good mixture, especially if your in for some late nights!

I'm not sure where you are with your most up to date number in your message line. I had copied Jills but unclear if this line is the most up to date one (just done diferent?)

I know your missing your shot tonight, when things calm down, might be an idea to get clear in your mind what the dosing scale is on your syringe, so you know where to shoot on your next shot.
You can upload a pic of your syringes to show other beans if your not sure.Then they will tell you where you need to draw up to.
Something from earlier makes me think you may have whole unit syringes? (each black mark account for 1?)
You can get that sorted for tomorrow, just if your bored (yep, my SOH it's nearly midnight here)might fill your time too.

On a serious note you focus on Baby, like others have said you could be in for a long night of monitoring (paws crossed not,but...)

Good luck, will peek in in my morning to see how your both doing-Oooo just think of that nice chunky chocolate bar and bottle of wine cooling for the w/e ;-)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

From you SS, it looks like your +7 = 28. You need to feed HC with this number or you need to go to the ER -- or both. Please post and let us know what you're doing.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

I may get noodles, but I'm re-posting the 911 for the thread. It may get Nicole's attention.

ETA: Thought it would put the alert on the main board. Not the desired effect. My apologies to the powers that be.

ETA again to remove the 911.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Good idea!

Hope we're not hearing as she has gone off to ER. It's getting on for 30mins since her last post, hope at the least it means she will update again.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Maybe she's offline to feed and test... I am hopeful we've underscored the importance of treating such low numbers seriously and aggressively...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

I know there's a few of you watching this thread.

Do you still give your contact numbers?
Been out of the loop the last few weeks and with board changing, who holds them if you do now?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

kate and lucky said:
I know there's a few of you watching this thread.

Do you still give your contact numbers?
Been out of the loop the last few weeks and with board changing, who holds them if you do now?

I don't think it's been updated in a while.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Nicole is brand spanking new... first day on Lantus. I don't think anyone has any personal info about her yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top