1/8 Baby AMPS (No Shot will be given) +20.5 289

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Nicole, I have seen others go through this. Keep testing every 15 minutes. You will control this.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Rookie mistake. Its happened to a lot of us. I think Baby will be fine but do keep an eye on her and check BG every few hours. Her numbers will most likely be high at pmps due to all the carbs. I will let others with more experience chime in....
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Yep, I "overshot" Donovan the first day I switched to Levemir. Instead of 1U, I gave him 2.5U due to the U40/U100 conversion issue (previously on Vetsulin) :roll: But I didn't realize I did it until the next day when my brain apparently was better engaged.

Sounds like Baby is back in the safe range now. Keep testing. Her numbers may bounce around after this experience, but she'll settle down.

You, have a glass of wine or something :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

You are going to have to test a lot more...how long ago was the last test? Stay calm I just gave an overdose a couple of weeks ago so we all make mistakes. You are doing great!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Thank you everyone! She is happy as ever right now so it seems..I will keep testing & at some point figure out where to find the .5... I cannot belive I have done this! I need a bottle of wine! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Nicole, keep posting your test results and times so that experienced people can catch up with you quickly.

Glad you're breathing!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

You probably read this at some point, but just so you have it handy for today, here's the "official" sticky on hypo symptoms and how to handle them:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1637

You're pretty much adhering to this, but it's nice to see it all written down in one place - maybe give you something to focus on if you're stressed and not thinking as clearly as usual. I know this can be a major adrenaline-spiking thing!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

How long since the last test?
I think it has been at least 30 minutes since the last test. If so test again so we can see if she is dropping.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Yeah Im pretty sure you shot 5 units. Each line below the number 5 represents 1 unit.

.5 units is less than 1 unit. Its really just a teeny tiny drop.

I think somebody posted a link with a picture.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Nicole,

as far I'm concerned you are doing fine, you caught it at +3 - AWESOME!

As for the testing you will have to do today - alternate ears so she doesn't get too irritated with the pokes ok?
have you got neosporin creme? that will help make her ears feel better later on.

Take a look at the pic someone linked in their reply - also in HEALTH in ur thread there this morning, - Monique put a pic in her reply to u too - look at it closely, zoom in if u have to.

Man, I need a bottle of wine after today! lol! drinking24 hmm...maybe I'll settle for chocolates, u have chocolates right? lol
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

You are doing great! Well, let me rephrase, Baby is doing great your anxiety level was probably off the charts. We've all been there. Those low numbers are scary the first couple of times.

For now....
Make sure you have plenty of food on hand. And plenty of strips.
You are going to need to closely monitor over the length of this cycle since we don't have much data about Baby.
It is possible that you may need to skip the PM shot in order to let the shed deplete enough so you can shoot safely tomorrow. We'll know this closer to shot time.
For now, I would test every 30 min. until you see numbers are consistently going up and/or plateau. (Edited: listen to Libby - test every 15 min.)
Then test every hour. We don't want numbers to drop without being monitored since we don't know how fast Baby's number go up or down.

You can take a look at Gabby's SS to see how I chart numbers when I'm testing at times other than on the hour. That's one way to do it.

Deep breaths. Stock chocolate, wine, vodka -- whatever works.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Nicole, you're doing great, just be sure to breathe!

If you shot too much insulin, all that means is that we may be at this for a while. At some point her liver will kick in and dump some extra glucose into her system to help us out.

*JUST IN CASE* - how far away are you from the nearest vet? I'm not saying that you need to panic, we can normally get through this on our own, but it's important for us to know that as we guide you.

You'll need to test about every 15 minutes for a while. Feed small amounts of gravy at a time, because you don't want her to get too full. The gravy is where most of the carbs are. Good that you have high carb food and syrup on hand, because we can use those to keep the numbers from falling. What HC food are you using? Someone will look up the carb % for us.

I'm checking in from work and will try to do so often. Meanwhile, you are in the BEST hands with the people who are already here in your condo. Stay calm, usually overdoses turn into a non-event but we do want to stay on top of it.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

I was suspecting that after seeing the quick drop and I had answered Nicoles post on health about the .5 dosing, I also gave the picture there but I don't think she saw it before the low numbers came. No big deal, just keep testing.

Now you and paige (who's vet gave 4U yesterday) are sitting in the same boat!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Now you and paige (who's vet gave 4U yesterday) are sitting in the same boat!

Yes we are nailbite_smile

I am just glad she was home and took the +3. I told Nicole that when I read this my heart skipped a beat. We do seem to be in this together.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Okay..in about 20mins we will be at +5, I will test again then & post her #s..good grief.. yes I do have a Vet nearby..but I am thinking we are Ok..after the 64...just scary she never gave any signs! Uggh...cannot believe 5 units...most definitely an idiot. Anyway...I do have plenty of HC food - because her sister loves it & is not Diabetic...so we are Ok there...
I have (thank you everyone) found the .5 mark now LOL
I will stay away from the wine for now..obvioulsy I am not clear minded enough to adminster insulin sober LOL
Anyway...will keep you all posted & thanks again!!!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Don't beat yourself up Nicole, one day you will look back and laugh at this and be telling some other new person that just did the same thing (it happens alot!) about your fumble.

I was there when MJ did it too, we got a real kick out it later. I think I've seen this or simular at least 8 times since I've been on here (less than a year!) so your not unique.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

I was wrong about the +4 it was 62, just tested again (about 15mins shy of +5) she is at 46..feeding gravy & HC Treats. What now? Do we need to get to a Vet? Or just keep testing..I am scared it will go even lower.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Nicole I have been giving Putty insulin for a year and just two weeks ago I gave him 4.5 units instead of 2.5 units. Don't feel bad we all make mistakes. It is just harder on you because this was your first day.
Baby does not know the difference.......he just know whatever you did he got to eat some yummy food.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

GLAD you didn't wait to test.

Just "rinse, lather, repeat." Give more gravy - I guess a teaspoon was recommended -- then test again in 15 or 20 minutes.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Or food, as Miriam suggested! Just a little.

You'll nurse this through a little at a time. The food, gravy and honey boost the BG for short periods of time, so you apply those, then test, then reapply, then test, until Baby evens out.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

The Calm Police here...
calm,,,breath...relax...focus....

(add ur new numbers to ur FIRST post too like u did the 32... that way we can all see them RIGHT AWAY)

...breath....calm...deep breath... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Just gave her some more gravy..but she wants more food...is begging & never begs for food?? Do I just let her eat what she wants?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Nicole, here is a photo of 0.5 unit of insulin. Hope this helps.

half-unit-Lantus.jpg
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Sorry I meant to say gravy......don't want to give too much food. Baby will get too full and she may still need to eat later.
You are getting closer to the wine.
Most likely she will not be getting a shot tonight but that will be determined later.....you on the other hand will need a shot of something very strong. drinking09
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Nicole & furbaby family said:
I am scared it will go even lower.

What I meant to say above is that, because the HC and honey are short acting, it isn't so surprising to see the BG down. You'll just boost it up again with a little food or gravy until it clears - but testing in shorter intervals than an hour to be sure the numbers are responding.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Do you have any honey or karo syrup?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Nicole & furbaby family said:
Just gave her some more gravy..but she wants more food...is begging & never begs for food?? Do I just let her eat what she wants?

How much food have you given already? As Miriam says, the key thing is not to get Baby too full.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

You're most likely going to have to do what we call, "lather, rinse, repeat." Test to see if Baby's numbers are lower, like the 46 (That's the lather). Feed - either low carb or medium carb to bump them up (that's the rinse). And repeat the process.

You are using food to manage the numbers. This is what we all do and you're doing a great job. Don't give too much food. You don't want her to get full 'cause you could be at this for a while.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Thank you everyone.. I am not sure how much food I have given really.. I kind of freaked out & just let her have whatever she wanted. Uggh. I hate to think of all the Carbs..but she needs them right now...will test again here shortly.. I just want this stuff to wear off!
She seems full & now tired too - I hope she does not get sick & vomit it up... will test again shoy..she does not see to be acting normal..
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Holy Kittens Batman!!! What a first day :-D You are doing just fine. Remember to lather, rinse, repeat. The food will help keep her safe, but you have to keep testing.

We all make mistakes so don't beat yourself up for it, k?

Breathe and you may want to make sure you have a treat available for later on ;)

What does not seem normal?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

When I was typing..she was just kind of sitting & looking high as a kite..but now she is just kind of chiling in the sun, laying..I am going to test again in 5 minutes..her poor ears.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Nicole I have only the experience from yesterday and I don't want to scare you because every cat is different.......but it wasn't until the +12 that Webber's numbers started going up. So you may be at this for a while.

Every time that you give the carbs it gets sucked back down by the insulin. So you will have to be slow and steady with the testing and feeding. If she gets too full---do you have a medicine syringe (without a needle of course) that you could give her honey with?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

You are doing great. I know, it doesn't feel like it, but you are.

May I suggest that when you feed her next, only give her one or two teaspoons of food.

And here's a great way to handle giving high carb food without giving too much food.

Open a can with gravy - like FF marinated or grilled style if you have that - then spoon out the gravy

- she can either lick a couple spoons of gravy by itself

and/or you can take a spoon of her low carb food and put the 2 spoonfuls of gravy on top of it.

It sounds like she's had quite a bit of food today and may not be hungry, yet if her BG continues to drop, you will need to feed her without overstuffing her.

So, try these tricks for the next BG feeding session.

Oh and take a deep breath, hold it, hold it, hold it, now release.

Yes, it's scary the first time they hit a low number, but you caught it and are handling it.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

It's hard not to fret, but don't worry about her ears too much. They will heal.

Post your number as soon as you test! :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

hi nicole. i understand you gave 5 units instead of 0.5 unit.
you're doing very well, but we really need the answers to these questions:

--- how many hours has it been now since you gave the shot?

--- hw many strips do you have left?

--- how many cans of hc do you have left?

--- how far away (in minutes) is your vet? do you have a way to get there?

--- is anyone there with you?


please post the next number as soon as you get it.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Good idea Paige..if she does not really level out until +12..we have 7 hours ahead of us.....

**Just tested again...her BG is at 42, 45mins until +6
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5.25 42

rub a little honey or syrup on her gums and retest in 15 minutes.
as soon as you can, please answer the questions in my post above.
thank you...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46

Jill & Alex said:
hi nicole. i understand you gave 5 units instead of 0.5 unit.
you're doing very well, but we really need the answers to these questions:

--- how many hours has it been now since you gave the shot?

--- hw many strips do you have left?

--- how many cans of hc do you have left?

--- how far away (in minutes) is your vet? do you have a way to get there?

--- is anyone there with you?


please post the next number as soon as you get it.

In 40mins it will be 6 hours since her shot
I have a lot of strips - no worries there
I do need to get some more HC food...but afraid to leave & yes I am here alone.
Her Vet is under 3miles away...yes I have a car to get there...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

do not leave to go get hc. we can make our own by adding a few drops of honey to lc food.

however, just use honey right now. i don't want her to get too full and vomit.

retest in 15 minutes.

call your vet and tell him what happened. he'll probably want you to bring her in because an overdose of this kind can produce a prolonged hypo event.

in other words, we could be fighting the numbers for well past +12.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

All,

Would it be a good idea to ask her to call the vet and give them a "heads up"?

Just to be safe.....not to say you will have to go.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

ps --- if the vet wants you to bring her in... take the bottle of honey with you in the car in case she needs it.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

NIcole - even if they do tell you to bring her in, she will be ok. Now it's just a matter of keeping her blood sugar stable.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

Stay calm Nicole, in between testing and posting here, also gather your notes with your numbers today and such...just stay calm, we're all here for u and you know your vet is too.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

Called the Vet..gave all the info to the tech & the Vet will call me in a few minutes...
Baby is playing & acting good right now..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top