1/6 Indy AMBG -73 (skipping insulin today, per vet)

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Well, vomiting problem.is not fixed. He threw up three times last night. He had the world's stinkiest poop....like holy moly. So yeah, maybe it is a flareup. He otherwise seems to be acting normal. After throwing up he started meowing at me for attention. Going to see if vet thinks some.anti nausea meds will help (we don't have any) and maybe he needs the bland freeze dried puffs for now.

I don't know what else to do.
 
Oof, I'm sorry he's dealing with digestive issues! Anti-nausea meds do sound like a good idea. Sorry if this has come up in the past (I can't remember), but have you tried probiotics at all?
 
Gotcha. I don't know much about feline IBD, but the probiotic I've been using (with s.boulardii) has been helpful with Gen's recent stinky soft poops - something I'm not sure anti-nausea meds would address, if that continues to be an issue for Indy.

Best of luck - I hope your vet has some helpful insights. Sympathies for all the stress. ❤️
 
Oh, I hope it wasn't the FF that upset his tummy. But it does seem highly likely if that was the only thing different. I don't have any experience with IBD so I'm not much help, but well wishes for you both.
 
Heard back from vet, she is thinking that the FF was too rich for him. So, I'm going to take that as if we have low numbers again, that we combine Karo with chicken broth or his normal wet food. (Hopefully we can just avoid the low numbers for now). She is on board with him having cerenia and eating the freeze dried chicken puffs. We are going to hold his current insulin dose even if his numbers go up a bit with him eating less wet food while we get his IBD flare up under control.
 
Looks like we are skipping his morning insulin dose. His BG is 75 and it is shot time. Got him to take his morning supplement with the cat safe chicken broth. And he ate a couple more mouthfuls of chicken puffs.
 
Something's up with that boy's insides, clearly. Did you get a chance to discuss with the vet at all, besides picking up meds?
 
I'm assuming since the low BG numbers are being caused by him not being able to eat, that I would not take the reduction.
 
Goodness me!! That sweet baby is struggling, isn't he!
Jessica, I think the reduction question is a good one for someone with more experience. I think you might be correct in that the lower numbers are being caused by his inability to keep food down, so he wouldn't earn a reduction, but issues like this...I'd just be cautious and float it by some folks with more experience. The thing with reductions is that you can take them and if they don't stick, you can always go back up.
I'll tag @Christie & Maverick and see if she's close by.
 
Good thinking! I recall @Staci & Ivy talking about the importance of receiving sub-qs in a place away from the sensor.
Yep, good memory, Mary.

Everything I’ve read says to keep fluids on opposite side of the body or it messes with the sensor 😭

I don’t know if it completely destroys it or just temporarily causes issues.

I’m so sorry Jessica. I see you’ve had such a hard day. Poor Indy 🙏

I hope the Cerenia helps him to feel much better.

Sending prayers and healing vines 🙏🙏🙏🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃
 
So, he keeps eating little bits. Vet wants us to skip insulin tonight as well. She is pretty confident it is an IBD flare up, since he was having vomiting and diarrhea. Looks like we are increasing his chlorambucil to help as well. Though he doesn't get his next dose until Sunday evening. Hopefully he can take his cerenia pill tomorrow without issue. (I will hopefully be at work...so it is up to hubby). Indy is currently curled up in his heated bed, snoozing away. My spreadsheet for today is going to stay empty methinks, just give the situation. None of these numbers should be used for anything.

My anxiety is sort of going down but I am freaking exhausted. Having his BG go all over the place because of the sub q was stressful plus the vomiting and him being extra sleepy ...just....argh!!!!! Here is hoping tomorrow is a better day for my old man.
 
So, he keeps eating little bits. Vet wants us to skip insulin tonight as well. She is pretty confident it is an IBD flare up, since he was having vomiting and diarrhea. Hopefully he can take his cerenia pill tomorrow without issue. (I will hopefully be at work...so it is up to hubby). Indy is currently curled up in his heated bed, snoozing away. My spreadsheet for today is going to stay empty methinks, just give the situation. None of these numbers should be used for anything.

My anxiety is sort of going down but I am freaking exhausted. Having his BG go all over the place because of the sub q was stressful plus the vomiting and him being extra sleepy ...just....argh!!!!! Here is hoping tomorrow is a better day for my old man.
I hope tomorrow is a much better day for all of you! Hopefully, you'll get some good rest tonight and start again new.
 
I hope tomorrow is a much better day for all of you! Hopefully, you'll get some good rest tonight and start again new.
I edited the post to show that we are being told to increase his chlorambucil as well. He has been on .6mL since the last time he was diagnosed diabetic. We will be increasing to .75mL
 
Looks like we are increasing his chlorambucil to help as well. T
What is his chlorambucil dose and how much does he weigh? How many mg/mL is the liquid? Dosing is usually by mg. Increasing chlorambucil can make things worse. You can't use it like a hammer to make him feel better. How often does he get chlorambucil?

Side note, any chance you can get pills or compounded chews of chlorambucil? The SCL group I'm on strongly discourages the liquid chlorambucil. It is a carcinogen and it's too easy to have it spill on you.

You should always have ondansetron on hand when giving chlorambucil, to handle the nausea.

Regarding the FF, so many flavours have unknown meat by products in them, and fish in flavours you don't expect it to be. Just mentioning this as fish is common allergen. My IBD girl can't do fish or beef. It might not be the richness of FF that is the problem, but rather some of the ingredients. I originally tried the gravy versions of FF with Neko, and found out she was allergic to wheat.

I strongly recommend the Visbiome probiotic, it is made specially for IBD.

Regarding insulin dose, I would reduce back to 1.0 units with the 48, even if lack of food might have been part of the cause. Don't forget to add that 48 to the spreadsheet.
 
He does the liquid just fine and I wash my hands afterwards, I'm a pro! He weighs almost 13 pounds and it is 1mg/mL for the liquid. He takes it once a week. He is currently on .6mL and she wanted to increase by 25% which would put us at .75mL once a week. From what I understand this is a pretty low dose.
 
Ok, that makes .6 mg going to .75 mg. That is a relatively low dose. When my current 8 lb kitty was on chlorambucil, she was getting 4mg every two weeks. Now she is off cause SCL is in remission. I used to wear gloves to give it. The once a week is not dosing I've seen before. But probably still a good idea to keep nausea meds in house.
 
We have some cerenia in the house now. But I can ask about Zofran. Thanks for watching out for us Wendy. <3
 
What a long day for you, Jess. I hope you sleep the deep, restful sleep of the just and hardworking cat parent. ❤️
 
Back
Top