1/5 Elmo AMPS 111..no shoot..+3 74, +6 95, +11 98, PMPS 104..no shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just look at the Zen Kitteh - he knows how to do it. :)
Haha!! Yah, ole Zen Kitteh ...he's got the world by the tail on a down hill drag, as my Gma use to say :bighug:....but in all fairness, I know he's been feeling like he's been " drug thru a knot hole backwards"( yes, yet another Gma saying ;)) so all the fussing is totally warranted...so says his momma and godmommas:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Couple of comments on feeding - definitely you don't want to feed just twice a day on lantus (or no insulin). Free feeding is fine if Elmo isn't a guts who will just everything that's there because it's there with the exception of removing food at least two hours prior to shot time so that you know that your PS number isn't food influenced and you can be sure it's safe to shoot. Otherwise a minimum of four meals a day. The fact that his number came down three hours after eating shows that his pancreas is doing some work :) I think from your earlier posts today that you were planning to feed at least half an hour (maybe it was an hour?) before his shot. That's another thing you don't do with lantus. With lantus the test/feed/shoot are all done at the same time (unless you're stalling like this morning) you don't want to feed too far in advance of the shot.
 
Couple of comments on feeding - definitely you don't want to feed just twice a day on lantus (or no insulin). Free feeding is fine if Elmo isn't a guts who will just everything that's there because it's there with the exception of removing food at least two hours prior to shot time so that you know that your PS number isn't food influenced and you can be sure it's safe to shoot. Otherwise a minimum of four meals a day. The fact that his number came down three hours after eating shows that his pancreas is doing some work :) I think from your earlier posts today that you were planning to feed at least half an hour (maybe it was an hour?) before his shot. That's another thing you don't do with lantus. With lantus the test/feed/shoot are all done at the same time (unless you're stalling like this morning) you don't want to feed too far in advance of the shot.
Thank u for feeding insight..it is so different from vetsulin so takes concentration to do it differently...can u explain why u don't want to feed to far in advance of shot? I don't think I fully understand that . We r use to feeding for 30 minutes then shooting so what u r saying is as they r eating u give Lantus,correct??? That might give me a few extra minutes of sleep because there is no lag time between feed and shoot like vetsulin. Thank u in advance for explaining the why behind not feeding in advance. And your Vyktor looks just like our sweet Socks ( original name, huh ??) who lived to be 21... special kitty .
 
can u explain why u don't want to feed to far in advance of shot?

Because food can influence the BG numbers so PS test won't be accurate.

I got an auto feeder and divide Gizmo's daily food allowance into AMPS, +2.5, +4.5 and +6.5, PMPS, +2.5, +4.5 and +6.5. He gets 8.75-9 oz of food divided up into these times. A bit more @ PS meals. I load the auto feeder up before PS test and forget about it. Gizmo has pancreatitis flares do smaller meals are better for it too along with keeping his bg even (or that is what it is supposed to do).

Edit - you shouldn't feed 2 hours before shot, then at shot time (a little before) you test for your PS #, feed, then shoot.
 
Stall with no food. Grab another test and post #

We are trying to see if # is going up/coming down or holding steady.
 
With Lantus, it's not important that they have a "good feed" before you shoot, so you Test/Feed/Shoot all within about 5-10 minutes....as long as they're at least willing to eat, it's not important that they eat a certain amount first like it is on Vetsulin

The benefit of getting a +11 (or 11.5) is that it gives you time to get some eyes on your post.....also, when it's actually PS time (at +12) you will know if Elmo's numbers are starting to rise at the end of the cycle
 
.my schedule is 7 and 7....so I test at 7? Then feed at 7 and shoot at 7?

Basically yes....we're on a 6/6 schedule....at 6 I test, if China's high enough to shoot, I feed and shoot.....all in about 3-5 minutes

IF you get a test at PS that you're not comfortable shooting, that's when you Stall, don't feed and post for help.....as you get more comfortable, you'll learn to shoot lower and lower Pre-shots....I'll shoot China if she's 50 or above now
 
If you're used to being up at 6am, you might want to consider changing your shot times.....it allows you to be able to get a +6 at night and only have to stay up until midnight

(That's IF Elmo continues to need insulin at all......he's looking pretty good now!!)

If you don't shoot tonight, test again at +3.....if the number is lower, it means his pancreas is kicking in to help out
 
So I would test at +11 and then again at + 12 ?

Not all the time......we like to suggest the +11's in cases like Elmo's where he's running low enough to consider that we may want to stall or not shoot at PS time

It just gives us time to think as well as (IF you had shot this morning) see if he's coming up on his own (which would indicate the last shot was wearing off)
 
So I am going to test again at 7 , post it here and decide about shoot....this is crazy that it is hard to wrap my head around after 5 months of vetsulin
 
On my thread or SS or both ????

On your thread to start with.....the number you put in the PS cell on the spreadsheet is always the number you actually shoot....so if you get a +12 of 130 and "stall", and at +12.5 you get a 150 and shoot, your PMPS is 150, not 130
 
On your thread to start with.....the number you put in the PS cell on the spreadsheet is always the number you actually shoot....so if you get a +12 of 130 and "stall", and at +12.5 you get a 150 and shoot, your PMPS is 150, not 130
Making more and more sense:)
 
PS stands for Preshot. So rather than think about it as a number, think about it as a preshot test. Then one hour after shot is +1, two hours is +2, etc.

Tonight @ 7pm will be your PMPS. I test/feed/shoot, in that order, within about 10-15 minutes of each other.
 
PS stands for Preshot. So rather than think about it as a number, think about it as a preshot test. Then one hour after shot is +1, two hours is +2, etc.

Tonight @ 7pm will be your PMPS. I test/feed/shoot, in that order, within about 10-15 minutes of each other.
Again, making more sense...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top