1/5 Elmo AMPS 111..no shoot..+3 74, +6 95, +11 98, PMPS 104..no shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, wasn't that an interesting way to start the first morning of this path. :woot: Elmo is definitely a kitty on a mission and he is having fun keeping you on the edge of your seat wondering what he's going to do next. When exactly did you get him up to the full dose of his thyroid meds? I'm thinking that may be playing a role here too.

So happy you at least got some snow to make up for Elmo kind of taking the steam out of your "let's do it" balloon this morning. ;):D
 
Oh Wow Mr. Elmo...way to surprise your mama!!

Beth, I'm going to be peeking in today to see how things are going.

Good luck to you and Elmo!
 
Oh Wow Mr. Elmo...way to surprise your mama!!

Beth, I'm going to be peeking in today to see how things are going.

Good luck to you and Elmo!
Thanks, Jo..it was a shock...not counting any chickens before they hatch,, i do wish i had changed to Lantus early on, as you did..what a good Ozzy/Figgy momma !!
 
Well, wasn't that an interesting way to start the first morning of this path. :woot: Elmo is definitely a kitty on a mission and he is having fun keeping you on the edge of your seat wondering what he's going to do next. When exactly did you get him up to the full dose of his thyroid meds? I'm thinking that may be playing a role here too.

So happy you at least got some snow to make up for Elmo kind of taking the steam out of your "let's do it" balloon this morning. ;):D
Morning , Linda...we started full 2.5 mg thy med ( AM only per holistic vet idea) on Monday, January 2nd...wouldnt think it would make a difference that quick, do you??
 
Is there anything i should be doing right now? if he comes in seeking more food , even tho has eaten well earlier, should i feed him small amounts?? Should i be testing before next scheduled +6??
 
Beth, while I think it takes a few days or even a couple of weeks for meds to show their full effect, I also think that effects can be seen almost immediately. Part of that is just individual biology but anyway you slice it, if you add a chemical/hormone to the system to alter other chemicals/hormones, there has to be some effect to some degree. Given that Elmo was hyperthyroid before he became diabetic, it makes sense that getting his thyroid under better control would have a positive effect on his BGs and the history over the last few weeks seems to suggest something positive is happening. Whether that is Elmo's pancreas getting back to business or a combination of pancreas/thyroid control you'll never know for sure. Elmo is leading this dance and for now all you can do is follow his lead and keep him safe because he appears to be changing the steps to his dance yet again.

Looks like you tested about 3 hours after AMPS and got that lovely 74 which may have been food influenced to some degree given your stall this morning. I'd give you and Elmo a break and just test again at +6. As for food, if he is going nuts for food, give him a snack as you normally would but you're not steering now, there's no insulin on board so I'd let Elmo decide when he needs food. He may still "think" he needs food when his numbers are down in the greens but this too should wain if he continues to stay in those low numbers.
 
Oh yeah, on testing, you could change it to a +5 instead of a +6 if you want. But with no insulin for 24 hours, it's only be data gathering.
 
A cat being hyper (or hypo) thyroid is a source of insulin resistance. Getting the thyroid meds right definitely helps.

Adding onto that comment about the hormone system, my girl Neko had acromegaly, which is excess growth hormone. That made her blood sugar much harder to regulate too.
 
Thank u to u all...and yes, an interesting intro day to LL Land....maybe just the thot of going on Lantus has inspired Elmo, eh??:) An FYI, instead of going immediately to sleep in his man cave he is up looking out of windows at the birds, carrying his toy mouse around. Could not tell you all the last time he did that:)
 
Those behavioural signs are a good gauge of things too! Wonderful to hear he's getting back to the business of being himself! You must be delighted! I wonder if the Vetsulin even though it worked well for him, was making him feel a bit punky as it does with some cats. ;)
 
Beth, while I think it takes a few days or even a couple of weeks for meds to show their full effect, I also think that effects can be seen almost immediately. Part of that is just individual biology but anyway you slice it, if you add a chemical/hormone to the system to alter other chemicals/hormones, there has to be some effect to some degree. Given that Elmo was hyperthyroid before he became diabetic, it makes sense that getting his thyroid under better control would have a positive effect on his BGs and the history over the last few weeks seems to suggest something positive is happening. Whether that is Elmo's pancreas getting back to business or a combination of pancreas/thyroid control you'll never know for sure. Elmo is leading this dance and for now all you can do is follow his lead and keep him safe because he appears to be changing the steps to his dance yet again.

Looks like you tested about 3 hours after AMPS and got that lovely 74 which may have been food influenced to some degree given your stall this morning. I'd give you and Elmo a break and just test again at +6. As for food, if he is going nuts for food, give him a snack as you normally would but you're not steering now, there's no insulin on board so I'd let Elmo decide when he needs food. He may still "think" he needs food when his numbers are down in the greens but this too should wain if he continues to stay in those low numbers.
Thank you, Linda !!! Taking it hour by hour, day by day....can't get all caught up in any stage of this sugar dance, neither the highs nor the lows . But this is interesting doing the two step with my boy .
 
Those behavioural signs are a good gauge of things too! Wonderful to hear he's getting back to the business of being himself! You must be delighted! I wonder if the Vetsulin even though it worked well for him, was making him feel a bit punky as it does with some cats. ;)
Oh I am positive of that...it really slammed him, made him sleep all the time, even for an almost 17 year old kitty.
 
mini-graphics-cats-075086.gif
for Elmo for making his Mama happy!
 
Welcome from me too! How exciting! :woot::D

Feed as you normally would. Small meals are best on that healing pancreas. :)
Thank u, Wendy...he loves to hog it all down at first feeding of the morning so am going to work at spreading that out more...if Elmo will allow:rolleyes:
 
What a wonderful non-start! LOL. Welcome! I glanced at your SS yesterday on your initial post here (LL) and thought to myself - oh, she has this!:cool:

This is so exciting. I can relate to the elation of seeing our kitties happy and healthy and acting like they should be acting.

eta - the look that Elmo has in your avatar cracks me up. That upward look of "oh, really?"
 
Welcome from me too! How exciting! :woot::D

Feed as you normally would. Small meals are best on that healing pancreas. :)
Hi Wendy...since Elmo is use to eating just twice a day how would it be good to divide and space his food out...put several hours between smaller meals ??? I think I know what you mean but have had the " only feed them twice a day" hammered into me that I literally don't know how to do it otherwise .....thank u in advance for insight on this:)
 
What a wonderful non-start! LOL. Welcome! I glanced at your SS yesterday on your initial post here (LL) and thought to myself - oh, she has this!:cool:

This is so exciting. I can relate to the elation of seeing our kitties happy and healthy and acting like they should be acting.
Oh thank you, Lizzie !!! Elmo and I are thrilled to be here ....obviously Elmo already thinks it is the best :)
 
What a wonderful non-start! LOL. Welcome! I glanced at your SS yesterday on your initial post here (LL) and thought to myself - oh, she has this!:cool:

This is so exciting. I can relate to the elation of seeing our kitties happy and healthy and acting like they should be acting.

eta - the look that Elmo has in your avatar cracks me up. That upward look of "oh, really?"
I see we both started this sugar dance at the same time in July...was an interesting summer until I locked in here at FDMB .....so so grateful for everyone here :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Reading this thread - absolutely amazing - you might have a completely unused Lantus pen after this is over
So nice to read such good news - congratulations to handsome Elmo (and I love his name)
 
George was also a twice a day cat, until FD, I feed him at 3 hourly intervals now.
He gets a main meal at 8am and 8pm.(4 teaspoons)

Then snacks at 3 hourly intervals in between, morning and night, I have an autofeeder that helps me with that, so I'm not at his constant beck and call:rolleyes:

8am 4tsp
11am 2tsp
2pm 2tp
5pm 2tsp
8pm 4tsp
11pm 2tsp
2am 2tsp
5am 2tsp
 
Reading this thread - absolutely amazing - you might have a completely unused Lantus pen after this is over
So nice to read such good news - congratulations to handsome Elmo (and I love his name)
I love Murphy's name .... our kids named all the cats we have when they were young..a Sesame Street vibe was definitely going on with Elmo:). I haven't gotten to name our cats in over 25 years :rolleyes:
 
George was also a twice a day cat, until FD, I feed him at 3 hourly intervals now.
He gets a main meal at 8am and 8pm.(4 teaspoons)

Then snacks at 3 hourly intervals in between, morning and night, I have an autofeeder that helps me with that, so I'm not at his constant beck and call:rolleyes:

8am 4tsp
11am 2tsp
2pm 2tp
5pm 2tsp
8pm 4tsp
11pm 2tsp
2am 2tsp
5am 2tsp
oh thank u !!! This is how literal I need it, so simple...this makes me very happy !!!!!
 
George was also a twice a day cat, until FD, I feed him at 3 hourly intervals now.
He gets a main meal at 8am and 8pm.(4 teaspoons)

Then snacks at 3 hourly intervals in between, morning and night, I have an autofeeder that helps me with that, so I'm not at his constant beck and call:rolleyes:

8am 4tsp
11am 2tsp
2pm 2tp
5pm 2tsp
8pm 4tsp
11pm 2tsp
2am 2tsp
5am 2tsp
 
Hi Wendy...since Elmo is use to eating just twice a day how would it be good to divide and space his food out...put several hours between smaller meals ??? I think I know what you mean but have had the " only feed them twice a day" hammered into me that I literally don't know how to do it otherwise .....thank u in advance for insight on this:)
Hi Beth,

Checking in on my nephew, the Buddha Kitteh again. I was told to feed Teasel only twice a day at diagnosis but that wasn't his routine, as I told my vet. I feed the main meals AM and PM with a small lunch mid day and a smaller bedtime snack. I think that works better.
 
Last edited:
Hi Beth,

Checking in on my nephew, the Buddha Kitteh again. I was told to feed Teasel only twice a day at diagnosis but that wasn't his routine, as I told my vet. I feed the main meals AM and PM with a small lunch mid day and an smaller bedtime snack. I think that works better.
Kris, that sounds perfect. He is gaining weight , which he needed( we use to refer to him as our bag-of-air kitty) but I don't want him to get overweight .....thanks for checking in on us:bighug::bighug::bighug:BTW, just took a +6 and he was 95....and the Elmo waltz continues:cat:
 
I got Murphy from a shelter and that was already his name - if he had been younger, I would have renamed him
Some years ago, I got a 5 year old cat from two guys who had named him xeryous (pronounced zeer ee ous) I renamed that cat, for sure
"Zeer ee ous" ?!?!?!....whoa now that's a name begin' to be changed :cat:
 
Kris, that sounds perfect. He is gaining weight , which he needed( we use to refer to him as our bag-of-air kitty) but I don't want him to get overweight .....thanks for checking in on us:bighug::bighug::bighug:BTW, just took a +6 and he was 95....and the Elmo waltz continues:cat:
You can take Elmo's total daily ration and subdivide it into those meals I described so he's not getting extra, just more meals.
 
Beth, I split Menace's rations into 8 equal portions and give her 2 portions at pre-shot and 1 portion at 2 snack times per cycle. To some degree, the numbers and Elmo will give you clues as to when to feed but I agree that giving food throughout the cycles keeps Kitty and BGs under better control and saves Mama's sanity as well.

LOVE LOVE LOVE that 95! Way to go Elmo! :D:D:D:D:cat:
 
@Kris & Teasel .....knowing Elmo, your nephew :), as you do, what would be your suggestion as to monitoring BG after PMPS time, should numbers keep trending this way ???
 
Beth, I split Menace's rations into 8 equal portions and give her 2 portions at pre-shot and 1 portion at 2 snack times per cycle. To some degree, the numbers and Elmo will give you clues as to when to feed but I agree that giving food throughout the cycles keeps Kitty and BGs under better control and saves Mama's sanity as well.

LOVE LOVE LOVE that 95! Way to go Elmo! :D:D:D:D:cat:
Hey Linda, same question to you that I posed to Kris. Knowing Elmo as you do,if numbers continue trending after PMPS how often/when should I monitor BGs tonight ???
 
@Kris & Teasel .....knowing Elmo, your nephew :), as you do, what would be your suggestion as to monitoring BG after PMPS time, should numbers keep trending this way ???
I see you did a +3 and then more recently a +5 (or was it +6?). Why not do the same this evening if you have another no shot? If his BG is high enough to shoot tonight that plan can change.
 
since Elmo is use to eating just twice a day how would it be good to divide and space his food out...put several hours between smaller meals ??? I think I know what you mean but have had the " only feed them twice a day" hammered into me that I literally don't know how to do it otherwise .....thank u in advance for insight on this:)
We too were on Caninsulin/Vetsulin first and Neko would have no part of that just two meals a day show.:mad: Before FD she had 4-5 meals a day. After FD it was more like 7 meals a day. I just divided her food up and gave a little under half at the main meal and spread the rest into a couple of meals later on in the cycle. Since she got CKD later, having a small snack just before I went to bed helped her tummy. And was my attempt to keep her quiet in the AM so I could sleep to AMPS time.

What you might want to do today is get something like a +11 or +11.5 and post for suggestions what/if to shoot.
 
I see you did a +3 and then more recently a +5 (or was it +6?). Why not do the same this evening if you have another no shot? If his BG is high enough to shoot tonight that plan can change.
Sounds good...I got a plus +6 little bit ago....this is sure helping to learn even better how to fly by the seat of my pants !!! And I thot I was a pretty chill person but this could make a person be a nail biter :nailbiting:
 
We too were on Caninsulin/Vetsulin first and Neko would have no part of that just two meals a day show.:mad: Before FD she had 4-5 meals a day. After FD it was more like 7 meals a day. I just divided her food up and gave a little under half at the main meal and spread the rest into a couple of meals later on in the cycle. Since she got CKD later, having a small snack just before I went to bed helped her tummy. And was my attempt to keep her quiet in the AM so I could sleep to AMPS time.

What you might want to do today is get something like a +11 or +11.5 and post for suggestions what/if to shoot.
Great idea , Wendy...will do that .....he finally went up to his man cave( aka upstairs landing) and has been fast asleep since 11 ish...what a life :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top