1/4 Sheba AMPS 247 cystitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-3-sheba-amps-288-good-day-so-far.170639/#post-1860517

AMPS 247
Appy is good as long as I feed her what she wants.
I have increased the dose to 4.5 units insulin this morning as it wasn't quite enough now she is back to eating the full amount.
Her cystitis reappeared last night:(. In and out of the LB not peeing, hiding (she always hides in a particular spot with a flare of cystitis) and looking most uncomfortable. She finally started to do little amounts of pee after an hour or two, but is still uncomfortable this morning. This is the usual scenario for her with cystitis.
She sprayed over the top of the LB this morning......she does this when she is having a flare of cystitis...I think she can't squat without pain. I dipped a test strip into the wee and she has blood in her urine...... She is already on an a/b for the pancreatitis. I am thinking I will go to the vet today and get a cartrophen injection to help with the inflammation. She was due for one a week or two ago but with everything that has been going on, it was missed.
She has had her usual am dose of tramadol so hopefully that will dull the pain.
I am thankful she is at least eating!
 
Max never got an antibiotic for p'itis. If she has a uti it might not be the right one. You need a urinalysis culture and sensitivity if an infection. If cystitis I was told pain medication which she is getting. I hope it's gone asap.
 
Sorry to hear Sheba's having trouble with cystitis ....sure hope the injection helps and gives her some relief!!

Keep eating your fuds, Sheba.....Mama doesn't need any more stress in her life either!!
 
Thanks Barbara, Elise, Sandi, Karen, Tricia, Jayla, Paula, Bobbie, Carla, Chris and Ella for all the vines, prayers and support. You are right....I don't need any more stress in my life Chris!
But there are plenty who have much more stress to deal with than I do. I am lucky I am in a position to stay home and look after her and don't have to worry about going to work every day. That would be tough!
I just hate seeing Sheba in so much discomfort. I am pushing fluids and she is drinking lots of chicken stock for me this morning, so hopefully that will help.
@tiffmaxee
Sheba has been diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis.......which presents just like a UTI when she has a flare up of it. So I don't really need to get a C&S done of the urine as there is no infection....just inflammation. I used to think she was getting continual UTIs but the vet has told me how to deal with it and I don't usually need to go in and see the vet for it. It is just that she is overdue for the cartrophen shot and I know that helps reduce the inflammation.
The vet was fully booked out today but they have fitted me in at 6.15pm tonight. It is just for a shot so won't take long.
 
Thanks Sarah, Elise, Rhiannon and Suki for the vines and support.
She looks more comfortable this evening and is talking to me in the kitchen which she hasn't done much of in the last few weeks. Her appy is good...still not eating her normal diet yet but that's ok.
We went to the vet and she had the cartrophen injection, the vet commented she was well hydrated which was pleasing to hear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top