Re: 1/31 Webber AMPS=110 +4.75~48 Earn a decrease?
Yup he did! Congratulations! Keep checking and feed as nessasary. Once you have 2 good rising numbers try and keep him surfing. You can decrease at your next shot! Way to go.
Thank you all!! :YMHUG:
Yes we are happy here....Webber must know because he is running around :mrgreen:
And now we begin another dance....."step down......uh...no step back up.....that's right step back down"......you get the picture right?
Weber doesn't eat as much as he used to because his body does not demand it. He had a snack about 1.5 hours ago and is sleeping nicely. His PM shot is due in 20 minutes. Is it ok to go ahead test and give the shot? I know that when he gets hungry he will eat later.
Like between +10 and +12? He should eat a little bit at shot time, but if he's full cuz you gave him food recently, he might just graze...
hang on for others to suggest
as long as you think he will eat, then it's ok to shoot. Basically you want him to have food on board before the Lantus kicks in in a few hours. Mostly we worry when the cat is inappetant, but as long as he's normal and just not very hungry, he should be fine.
I'm understanding your note to say that PMPS in 20 min. and Webber had a snack at +10. Is that correct? I didn't think you were shooting early. Am I confused?
Since Lantus doesn't start to work for an hour or so, it's not essential that Webber eat a full course meal at PMPS. I might be a little concerned if he snoozed to +2 or +3. I think if he even had a few bits at PMPS and was grazing for a while after, it will be fine. Lantus is a little ore forgiving than the shorter acting insulins with respect to having food on board at shot time. You do still need to make sure Webber eats otherwise you will see a drop in BG.
You might want to think about when you are offering snacks and how much you are offering if Webber's less hungry these days. It makes perfect sense that as his FD is under better control, he's less hungry. I'd probably start by not offering very much as a snack late in the cycle. Maybe not giving him anything after +9.5 so he's hungry at PMPS.
Sienne those are great ideas, thank you. You are so right, I need to worry less about there not being food out consistantly.
However, when I went upstairs to gets his PM BG and give him his shot he woke up and ate some snacks. Sure enough by the time I got everyone else's dinner ready he came down to munch on some din-din. But I will be more careful with my snacks closer to +10. Because he had gotten so low today I was wanting to make sure he had something available in case he needed it. But again at +10 he would have not been that low---matter of fact he was at 77. Duh ohmygod_smile
It is certainly a learning process.
Geez - now I have something new to obssess about. Now that I have decreased his dose 0.25U is his numbers going to rise again? I do this to myself. I am already a worry wart to begin with. I know in my mind that if his numbers creep back up, we hold it for a while and then we simply increase again to 1.25 and wait longer. Thus the dance, lol :lol:
Webber is still playing and seems fine. I tested his and he is at 48. He has not wanted to eat anything ......well I take that back....I just caught him in the kitchen eating. :mrgreen:
Question - at what BG level do I need to step in a get him to eat if he is not doing it on his own?
the "rule" is to Feed the Fifties, so if he's in the 50's I would put some food in front of him. If he's in the 40's I would chicken dust the food or open a new can to be sure he'll eat. He doesn't have to eat a lot. If he's in the 30's then HC and make sure he eats.
Dosecrease? Baby had 2 nights of below 50 & they dosecreased us.. hmmm..
Interesting.. keep your boy safe & he is looking good.. keep us updated.. :mrgreen:
Thank you Libby; I need to write that down so that I can remember. With a cat that shows no symptoms in the 40's it is tricky.
He just took care of himself at 48. My concern is when I am at work tomorrow. There is always food out while I am away and his nadir seems to be within the first 5-6 hours. I will come home at +5 for lunch and check his BG then.
I am assuming that there is nothing I can do while I am away at work to prevent the dropping to occur and all I can do is have the food available and pray that he can take care of himself?
Since it is still early in this cycle and he is already at 48 I will check again soon to be sure he is able to stabilize himself.
Is there anything else that I am missing, or any other tricks?
He just took care of himself at 48. My concern is when I am at work tomorrow. There is always food out while I am away and his nadir seems to be within the first 5-6 hours. I will come home at +5 for lunch and check his BG then.
This should give you a lot of comfort. Webber felt himself dropping and took care of it, and LC food did the trick. That means he has all the tools he needs to take care of himself during the day. You know your dose is safe because you reached it in a methodical way, he won't go crashing into hypo because he's at a good dose for him.
Make sure he has plenty of food. Some people used timed feeders because the sound of the feeder reminds the cat to get up and eat.
And no, no new dose reduction tonight, sorry. Tonight's cycle is still running on some shed action from this morning's dose, so we wouldn't do two reductions in a row unless he went way too low.
I understand. Thank you. This does make me feel better that you explained this to me. I would not want to decrease again. Just one for now and see how he does over the next week or so.
And thank you for reminding me that we have been slow and careful so that he won't crash. I was just caught way off guard with the two 40's today. This was new. Does this mean that perhaps his little pancreas is kicking out a teeny bit of it's own insulin? :?:
No.. I was not confused... I was saying this is what happened with Baby.. we decreased & the next night she went below 50 AGAIN.. so we decreased the next shot again!! Crazy!
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.