1/31 PMPS 126 + 2 73 + 3 76 + 4 90 Dose Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
I
I got a very high AMPS this morning. I am wondering if this could be a bounce. I got another lower PMPS than usual a few days ago. Usuallly I get a PMPS in the 200's. Does this seem like too much of a jump? Any thoughts?

I was thinking of reducing the dose for tonight by a bit. I am home to test. I could recheck in 3o minutes too?

Lovey doesn't have much of a food spike usually and nadirs about +6 most of the time, but who knows with cats.
 
Re: Lovey AMPS 424 PMPS 126 ?

You could wait 20-30 minutes and test again to see if she is on her way up. Are you home tonight, able to monitor and have plenty of strips and HC?
 
Re: Lovey AMPS 424 PMPS 126 ?

Thanks Wendy, I did n0ot feed her so I will wait and retest so that I know she is on her way up. Last time she did go up 30 points in about 40 minutes, but with meter variance ?
 
Re: Lovey AMPS 424 PMPS 126 ?

If she is going up or surfing, I would feed and shoot but get a +1 and a +2 to see where she is going.
 
Re: Lovey AMPS 424 PMPS 126 ?

Yes, I did want to shoot. I may give a slighty reduced dose, but I definitely want to shoot. Thanks wendy for your help. I will check Lovey and definitely keep checking to see what is going on. I am home and not tired tonight.
 
Re: Lovey AMPS 424 PMPS 126 ?

If you delay, that acts like a bit of a reduction, so no need to reduce further. Paws crossed for a safe surf tonight.
 
Re: Lovey AMPS 424 PMPS 126 ?

Lovely was at 125 at 12:45 so I fed and shot.
I know Wendy, but a few weeks ago it took me about an hour or two to get her up so I am more conservative lately. The shot was 50 minutes late and I reduced by about .25. If she goes too high, I will try the full dose next time. I know it is better for her with consistent doses to stabilize her.
 
Re: 1/31 Lovey AMPS 424 PMPS 126 +2.25 73? Below 80 early

A little nervous due to low number 73 (alph trak) so early in the cycle. Just gave 1/2 little can HC and a few drops of HC. Last time Lovey was slow to respond and it was later in cycle. Lovey can drop a lot at +3 and + 4.

No symptoms, Lovey is fine, looking for food though.

Maybe I will add more syrup just to be sure?
 
Re: 1/31 PMPS 126 + 2 73? How much Karo with HC this early ?

When I'm steering Gabby's numbers, I typically give a teaspoon of LC and anywhere from 2 - 5 drops of Karo. I re-test in 20 - 30 min. To be honest, 1/2 a can of HC is a lot of food. You don't want to overfeed. If you give too much food, you risk Lovey vomiting or getting full early and refusing food if you need to continue to steer her numbers. It's often best to give mostly gravy and a small amount of solids or combine a small amount of food and a few drops of syrup.
 
Re: 1/31 PMPS 126 + 2 73? How much Karo with HC this early ?

Thanks Sienne. Next time, I will go with the syrup and the LC food. I only feed Lovey about 2 small cans a day, but she would eat all day if I let her. She will always eat, but I don't want her to vomit.
 
Re: 1/31 PMPS 126 + 2 73? How much Karo with HC this early ?

Sienne, I reduced the dose by about .25 due to a lower preshot. I am surprised she went so low.
 
Re: 1/31 Lovey PMPS 126 + 2.25 73 + 3 76?

Thanks Angela. I am trying to get her up. I use the alph trak so I need to keep her above 80. I reduced her dose because of a lower preshot but she went too low anyway.

How are you doing Angela?
 
Re: 1/31 Lovey PMPS 126 + 2.25 73 + 3 76? + 4 90

I'm hanging in there, thank you for asking. It gets a bit easier as each day passes, but I still grieve for her loss. I will be for some time yet.
 
Re: 1/31 Lovey PMPS 126 + 2.25 73 + 3 76? + 4 90

We get so close to our pets. Yea, I guess time helps and one day at a time.
 
Re: 1/31 Lovey PMPS 126 + 2.25 73 + 3 76 + 4 90? Dose?

Great job getting her up, Catherine.

Since you just reduced the dose, you don't want to reduce it again. The depot and clearing a bounce is likely in play here.

Doing ok?

Thank you for asking about my mom. She's doing well :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Lovey PMPS 126 + 2.25 73 + 3 76 + 4 90? Dose?

I am glad your mom is doing well and you will get a chance to see her. Happy Birthday to Mike

I was hoping you were around for a dose question. I reduced about 10 days to a fat 1.50 ago due to a 77. I didn't plan on reducing again, but does this cycle indicate that I should? I have not got as many midcycle tests in due to work and sleeping through my alarms in the past ten days. Lovey usually takes a little while to work a reduction or an increase. I have had few unusual preshots though. Lower than usual on a few days and very high this morning (443). One day before work I got a preshot of 115, stalled and then gave only 1 unit, a bCS because I could not monitor. Anyway, I reduced today to fat 1.25 because I had a low preshot (126) and the fact that she went from a 443 to a 126 from AMPS TO pmPS today. I thought maybe the dose was too strong, but I have not caught low numbers. I stalled for an hour tonight and Lovey was surfing at 125. Do you think I should go back to my fat 1.5. or does today's 70's mean I should reduce or be careful with shooting green? Should I reduce?
 
Catherine

It's hard to say what she might be doing during the day but she's shown she can start in yellow at AMPS, be in yellow at PMPS, and have been in green in between (a.m. cycle 1/20).

I think it was smart to reduce tonight because she ended up at 73 on an AT. I can only speculate if she's gone lower than 80 at some other time but I suspect she has.

I would hold the reduction for now and see what she does. Besides the fact that she earned a reduction tonight, she will do better if you can shoot a consistent dose.

Does that help? What do you think?
 
Holy Cow Lovey!! Where you going so fast??

It sure doesn't make much sense, does it Catherine? You'd think with a late shot AND a decrease, things like this shouldn't happen...but of course, they're cats and keeping us confused is one of their main missions in life.

Hope she eases on back up and hops on her surfboard soon!

(and shhhhh...don't anybody tell Mr. Liver) anti-jinx
 
Thanks so much Marje. Yes, that does help. Have a great night.

Thanks Chris for visiting. These kitties keep us on our toes.
 
Actually, I'm not surprised because she was clearing a bounce. I've found slot of times when they clear a bounce, stalling doesn't get you much in the way of an increase in numbers and they keep coming down.

But of course, I'm used to my Lil Stinka :-D

Have a super night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top