Melissa&Paul-Kyle
Member Since 2009
So- 4 cycles into the LESS insulin and we are getting the same or better numbers than on MORE insulin. (knockwood,antijinx)
For the record- the dose is .75u now
Pamela had some questions I'll answer in this post:
"But then on the other hand, I wonder what it would be like if you fed one hour AFTER his shot to give the insulin a little more time (especially now on the one unit)?"
Gonna answer this one with a question that has been REALLY bugging me for awhile.
Why do we talk about "AFTER his shot to give the insulin a little more time" if with L's there is a shed effect that creates an overlap so onset is really just a word rather than an action?
I don't understand this, and I don't understand why Vicky can move Gandalfs shots around and see an effect the next day or even the next cycle if this shed effect is supposed to build and work for 24 hours or more.
it seems like any effect Gandalf has would be 24 hours or at least 2 cycles further down rather than right away.
Also- I don't have a clear picture of when PK's insulin "starts to work" b/c, going by the shed effect, his insulin builds up and anything I see as dips or rises are effective from 2 doses or more behind.
PK nadirs when I feed him. period. If I never fed him, his curve would be flat and perfect- I'm convinced ( well- he'd be dead, too, but you get my point) anyway, if I feed him at +9, then around +2 his numbers start to lower.
if I feed him at +12, then his +5 ish starts to lower.
If I feed him at +2,, his numbers continue to lower after shot UNTIL I feed him, then he spikes for the next 3 to 5 hours...
Anyway- the comments about onset of a dose are frustrating me if we are to believe in this shed effect- does that make sense? This isn't vet or even PZI- how is there an onset? SOMEONE make me understand this, PLEASE! @-)
"Can you insert some comments on your spreadsheet, like how he is feeling/acting/playing etc.? Does he interact a lot with the other cats? I always read the comments and think they can give certain clues at times."
If there is anything of consequence or importance like illness, med, subQ or feeding differences, I put it directly IN the SS right next to or IN the reading at the time the important thing was relevant.
In general, Paul sleeps A LOT, inside if its cold outside, outside if it warm outside. He rarely does anything more that I am here to see, but I am not up his butt 24/7 to see what's going on with him.
On occasion he will devil or chase the old ladies in the cat room, and I only know he is doing this b/c the old ladies squeal, shriek, hiss and spit at him. Generally when he does this, his BG's are lower (200's) or have been regulated for a few cycles- not alot of ups/down's.
Before and since the diabetes, he has been roughly the same cat...the only distinct difference I have noted since moving to the new house is that he doesn't "play" with the alpha male Timothy as he used to- sparring and being frisky. I attribute this to Timothy's age and him not playing back with PK.
Otherwise- he is a cat and just does catly things like sleeping and eating. He is ALWAYS slow at everything and just doesn't DO much- never has. Even when we play with toys and strings and whatnot, PK bats AFTER the toy goes by generally...always has.
"Also, I know you feed him raw, but exactly how much is he getting each feeding? Does he have his food all to himself? What supplements do you add to it? Are all your cats back on the raw now?"
I feed Dr. Lisa's raw recipe (see www.catinfo.com for supplement mix) mixed with Special Kitty- the current batch Paul eats is made this way. It is about 60% raw and 40% SK.
Paul gets 2.6oz per meal BID at shot time right now. Any feeding differences are noted in an orange bar across the SS or right IN the BG reading.
I started controlling his food amount AFTER the great sickness of '09 a few months back. I started him at 3oz BID, then 2.8oz BID and now 2.6oz BID- all for about a month's time each.
PK has lost about a pound or two according to how he feels when lifted.
The other cats are all eating Friskies in some manner ( pureed, or mixed) and I stand in the room at mealtimes to make sure everyone stays at their food and finishes. PK does NOT touch anyone else's food.
There are no mid day, shot pr pokey snacks or treats and the only thing the cats access between meals is grass---ugh.
I think that is all the questions answered....let me know if there are any more. Thanks for asking!
For the record- the dose is .75u now
Pamela had some questions I'll answer in this post:
"But then on the other hand, I wonder what it would be like if you fed one hour AFTER his shot to give the insulin a little more time (especially now on the one unit)?"
Gonna answer this one with a question that has been REALLY bugging me for awhile.
Why do we talk about "AFTER his shot to give the insulin a little more time" if with L's there is a shed effect that creates an overlap so onset is really just a word rather than an action?
I don't understand this, and I don't understand why Vicky can move Gandalfs shots around and see an effect the next day or even the next cycle if this shed effect is supposed to build and work for 24 hours or more.
it seems like any effect Gandalf has would be 24 hours or at least 2 cycles further down rather than right away.
Also- I don't have a clear picture of when PK's insulin "starts to work" b/c, going by the shed effect, his insulin builds up and anything I see as dips or rises are effective from 2 doses or more behind.
PK nadirs when I feed him. period. If I never fed him, his curve would be flat and perfect- I'm convinced ( well- he'd be dead, too, but you get my point) anyway, if I feed him at +9, then around +2 his numbers start to lower.
if I feed him at +12, then his +5 ish starts to lower.
If I feed him at +2,, his numbers continue to lower after shot UNTIL I feed him, then he spikes for the next 3 to 5 hours...
Anyway- the comments about onset of a dose are frustrating me if we are to believe in this shed effect- does that make sense? This isn't vet or even PZI- how is there an onset? SOMEONE make me understand this, PLEASE! @-)
"Can you insert some comments on your spreadsheet, like how he is feeling/acting/playing etc.? Does he interact a lot with the other cats? I always read the comments and think they can give certain clues at times."
If there is anything of consequence or importance like illness, med, subQ or feeding differences, I put it directly IN the SS right next to or IN the reading at the time the important thing was relevant.
In general, Paul sleeps A LOT, inside if its cold outside, outside if it warm outside. He rarely does anything more that I am here to see, but I am not up his butt 24/7 to see what's going on with him.
On occasion he will devil or chase the old ladies in the cat room, and I only know he is doing this b/c the old ladies squeal, shriek, hiss and spit at him. Generally when he does this, his BG's are lower (200's) or have been regulated for a few cycles- not alot of ups/down's.
Before and since the diabetes, he has been roughly the same cat...the only distinct difference I have noted since moving to the new house is that he doesn't "play" with the alpha male Timothy as he used to- sparring and being frisky. I attribute this to Timothy's age and him not playing back with PK.
Otherwise- he is a cat and just does catly things like sleeping and eating. He is ALWAYS slow at everything and just doesn't DO much- never has. Even when we play with toys and strings and whatnot, PK bats AFTER the toy goes by generally...always has.
"Also, I know you feed him raw, but exactly how much is he getting each feeding? Does he have his food all to himself? What supplements do you add to it? Are all your cats back on the raw now?"
I feed Dr. Lisa's raw recipe (see www.catinfo.com for supplement mix) mixed with Special Kitty- the current batch Paul eats is made this way. It is about 60% raw and 40% SK.
Paul gets 2.6oz per meal BID at shot time right now. Any feeding differences are noted in an orange bar across the SS or right IN the BG reading.
I started controlling his food amount AFTER the great sickness of '09 a few months back. I started him at 3oz BID, then 2.8oz BID and now 2.6oz BID- all for about a month's time each.
PK has lost about a pound or two according to how he feels when lifted.
The other cats are all eating Friskies in some manner ( pureed, or mixed) and I stand in the room at mealtimes to make sure everyone stays at their food and finishes. PK does NOT touch anyone else's food.
There are no mid day, shot pr pokey snacks or treats and the only thing the cats access between meals is grass---ugh.
I think that is all the questions answered....let me know if there are any more. Thanks for asking!