1/31 Eddie AMPS 274, +6 = 195, PMPS = 280, +5 = 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=112871

AMPS = 274 (1.6u)
+6 = 195
+9 = 323 (huh?)
+11 = 323
PMPS = 280 (1.8u)
+3 = 197
+4 = 174
+5 = 162
+6 = 188

Eddie the rebel seems to be consistently responding to this dose. No crazy high PS's and no weird high flat cycles. The trampoline must have gotten put away due to the cold weather.

Unless Eddie does something weird today, I plan to dosecrease to 1.8u this PM to see if we can nudge those nadirs a bit lower, now that we've held this dose for 6 cycles, and had some pretty consistent results, and since mom bean will be able to close monitor. I do like the fact that his AMPS have been a little lower the past few days as well, so I'm hoping that the dosecreases are actually bringing the whole cycle down a bit.

Has anyone else ever noticed a higher BG when you wake your kitty up to test as opposed to testing when they're up and about? The last two days, I've had a couple strangely high numbers when I woke Eddie up for a test, which made me say :shock: "what?", and a retest after he's actually awake a minute or two later shows 50 points or more lower that is actually in line with what I was expecting? Maybe my strips are a little wonky or something.
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274

Dunno how it works in cats, but my BG are always higher first thing in the morning, even though I haven't eaten, I was asleep. Always lower at night, after meals and physical exertion. Wonder if it's something similar?

As fast as a cat metabolism runs, maybe it is lower when he's actually awake as opposed to you waking him. Interesting thought, any vet students need a subject for a thesis? :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274

AM +6 = 195 Wish I could test in an hour or so to see if he goes a bit lower yet.

nckitties3 said:
Dunno how it works in cats, but my BG are always higher first thing in the morning, even though I haven't eaten, I was asleep. Always lower at night, after meals and physical exertion. Wonder if it's something similar?

As fast as a cat metabolism runs, maybe it is lower when he's actually awake as opposed to you waking him. Interesting thought, any vet students need a subject for a thesis? :-D

I would suspect it probably is. The whole Dawn phenomenon that happens with humans...do you suppose there is that effect, at least a little bit, each time a cat wakes up from their 20 naps a day? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274, +6 = 195

Increase sounds good, Jen. And it's the weekend so you can find out what is REALLY happening. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274, +6 = 195, +9 = 323

So DH tested Eddie at +9 since he's home early again today, and it's a 323. He checked again about 15 minutes later and it was 327. Any ideas on what this is about?
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274, +6 = 195, +9 = 323

When did Eddie last eat?
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274, +6 = 195, +9 = 323

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
When did Eddie last eat?

He had about a 1/2 can of FF at about +6, which is his normal daily routine.
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274, +6 = 195, +9 = 323

My guess is you're wondering why Eddie is that high by +9 or +10?

OK, how's this for a theory...

At least a half dozen possible reasons. I'm a fan of "just 'cuz" myself. ;-) But that won't sit well with the "science" part of your brain. Instead, here's another reading assignment:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=61241&p=663242

One of my favorite all-time PZI time periods was when a lady named Lori and her kitty Copper were here, and we got some really great input from Dr. Lisa. I bookmarked the above link way back then, and I've reread it a thousand times and used bits and pieces of it ever since then.

This is the part in particular that I think might help:
Serum glucose, at any single time point during the glucose curve, represents the sum effects in the *rate* and *amount* and *timing* of:

*Exogenous insulin absorption
*Endogenous insulin production
*Intracellular uptake of exogenous and endogenous insulin
*Insulin degradation and elimination - different for exogenous vs endogenous
*Intestinal glucose absorption
*Endogenous glucose production
*Tissue glucose uptake and utilization

and then throw in the amount of exogenous insulin....excess body fat....inflammation....subclinical infection....etc...etc....

And this was something that Marje and Gracie posted in the Lantus forum a couple weeks back:
Did you know that rate of absorption can differ up to 50% from shot to shot?

Given all those variables on a day to day, or cycle by cycle basis, I think my "just 'cuz" sums it up in just two words. ;-)
It could be as simple as the insulin absorbed faster today for some random reason, and the cycle "pooped out" and allowed that food he had at +6 to push the numbers up without much resistance from the PZI. Or if you account for meter variance, that 323 could be 40 or 50 points "off".
His nadir might have happened "early" today.

I think that it's hard not to get caught up in the details when you see numbers that make you go :o
That's when you need to step back and look at the patterns and the big picture, I think.

Carl
 
Re: 1/31 Eddie AMPS 274, +6 = 195, PMPS 280

PMPS = 280 (1.8u)

Thanks so much Carl! I think I jumped the gun a bit when I was like "WHY" this number? :oops:

I think I have actually run across a post that referenced all the variables listed by Dr. Lisa, but it certainly is helpful to be reminded of it. I also read through Cooper's post, and wow, that's far more confusing that Eddie has been. I think I might go back and study Cooper's history. And I had a chance to start skimming the other post you linked to in yesterday's condo. I had actually run across that one before, but I'm going to go back and study it again! :-D

I'm in agreement that one number in a cycle generally shouldn't be cause for alarm. :-D Eddie certainly hasn't gone low enough lately to result in anything near a hypo, and his numbers have been out of the reds mostly lately, so ketones are not a huge concern at the moment, so wonkiness is just that...a little wonkiness. There's a reason that one of Eddie's nicknames is Edweirdo. ;-)

Thank you for your thoughtful responses, and maybe even moreso...your patience!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top