Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Eddie's 1/30 Condo
Yesterday: AMPS/109, +1/118, +2/104, +3/84, +4/86, +5/73, +6.5/92, +10/93, PMPS/112, +1/145, +2/131, +3/92, +4/83, +6/78, +7/95, +9/78
Today: AMPS/109, +1/116, +2/125, +3/89, +4/78, +5/68, +8/140, PMPS/150, +2/81, +3/64, +4/57, +5/67, +6/66, +8/83
Happy Caturday LL!
So far so good with the new dose. Hopefully the next few days will show whether this reduction will stick or not. Eddie and his older brother Reekoe had their annual vetty visits this morning, which went well. We had senior panels run on both, and should get the results on Monday.
Our vet is less than a 10 minute drive away, but civie Reekoe peed in the carrier on the way to the vet, and Eddie peed in the carrier on the way home.
I gave them a color printout of Eddie's SS, and they were very impressed with Eddie's recent numbers! Not surprisingly, our vet suggested that we cut back to testing only 3 times a day. *Nods and smiles.* I could tell she was skeptical about our miniscule doses and said she only adjusts doses in half unit increments. She also suggested that we could probably just stop insulin and see if he stays normal. However, she also respects what we're doing with TR and supports our dosing decisions. She gave me a paper prescription for more Lantus pens so we can try our first order with Marks. I almost walked out of the appointment without the prescription!
Everything else looks good with Eddie except his teeth! He has some pretty significant plaque and tartar and with her holding Eddie's mouth open, I could see that his gum line is a little red in the back where the tartar is located, but she said that there's nothing else major that's obvious. I'll have to study up now on dentals, but she indicated that in addition to the cleaning that needs to be done, they'll do x-rays while anesthetized and deal with anything else that might show up on x-ray. So, we'll be working on scheduling Eddie's dental after I'm done with my surgery, and after our other kitties have their annual visits.
I'm mortified to even tell you guys how much civilian Reekoe weighed when we brought them both in for check-ups last year when Eddie was diagnosed. 26 pounds.
For years we fed "light" dry food thinking eventually Reekoe would lose weight, but he just kept gaining weight. We've been keeping tabs of his weight on our home scale, but got validation today at his check up and he clocked in 6 pounds lighter! He has more to lose to get to his 16 or so ideal weight, but it's progress and we're proud of that! With his weight, we were also concerned about arthritis, etc., last year, and hoped that weight loss would help with his comfort, but he's still sore, so we're starting cosequin for him and baby aspirin. Interestingly, Reekoe does not need a dental and his teeth look "great" according to our vet.
Have a good Caturday everyone!
Yesterday: AMPS/109, +1/118, +2/104, +3/84, +4/86, +5/73, +6.5/92, +10/93, PMPS/112, +1/145, +2/131, +3/92, +4/83, +6/78, +7/95, +9/78
Today: AMPS/109, +1/116, +2/125, +3/89, +4/78, +5/68, +8/140, PMPS/150, +2/81, +3/64, +4/57, +5/67, +6/66, +8/83
Happy Caturday LL!
So far so good with the new dose. Hopefully the next few days will show whether this reduction will stick or not. Eddie and his older brother Reekoe had their annual vetty visits this morning, which went well. We had senior panels run on both, and should get the results on Monday.
Our vet is less than a 10 minute drive away, but civie Reekoe peed in the carrier on the way to the vet, and Eddie peed in the carrier on the way home.

I gave them a color printout of Eddie's SS, and they were very impressed with Eddie's recent numbers! Not surprisingly, our vet suggested that we cut back to testing only 3 times a day. *Nods and smiles.* I could tell she was skeptical about our miniscule doses and said she only adjusts doses in half unit increments. She also suggested that we could probably just stop insulin and see if he stays normal. However, she also respects what we're doing with TR and supports our dosing decisions. She gave me a paper prescription for more Lantus pens so we can try our first order with Marks. I almost walked out of the appointment without the prescription!
Everything else looks good with Eddie except his teeth! He has some pretty significant plaque and tartar and with her holding Eddie's mouth open, I could see that his gum line is a little red in the back where the tartar is located, but she said that there's nothing else major that's obvious. I'll have to study up now on dentals, but she indicated that in addition to the cleaning that needs to be done, they'll do x-rays while anesthetized and deal with anything else that might show up on x-ray. So, we'll be working on scheduling Eddie's dental after I'm done with my surgery, and after our other kitties have their annual visits.I'm mortified to even tell you guys how much civilian Reekoe weighed when we brought them both in for check-ups last year when Eddie was diagnosed. 26 pounds.
Have a good Caturday everyone!
Last edited: