1/31 Dillan PMPS 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillan420

Member Since 2010
Hello Everyone,
I'm giving Dillan a break from the poke fest for today, but I still did get the one reading tonight just to make sure. Things seem like they are pretty flat I know I didn't do a spot check so I can not be positive, but his behavior was good today. In the process of switching over to wet food doing it very slow just for I do not have a sudden drop in his BG level. I'm feeding 1/4 cup of hills MD and 1/4 can of wellness chicken formula. Its approximately 175 calories.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4572
 
I'm going to be the bad guy here...

You MUST get in pre-shot tests. Dillan may be acting absolutely fine even with a BG reading of 35. If you base your decision of whether or not to shoot on how Dillan is acting, you could put your cat at risk. Most cats when they have low numbers show no symptoms of hypoglycemia. They may not be hypoglycemic but you wouldn't want to administer insulin if numbers were even 80 - 100 with the data you currently have. AMPS and PMPS tests are critically important. Please get some PM cycle spot checks otherwise you are missing half of your data.

(If you don't, there will be any number of us who will nag you mercilessly! Getting the tests is the best way to shut us up!!!)

*****End of public service announcement*****
 
Good evening!

u know kitty ears heal pretty good, even better with polysporin, lightly dabbed.
Dont take this the wrong way ok?
Shooting blindly is unsafe. We would rather you skip testing thru the day than skip the preshot test.

Also, It is very common for kitties to go low at nite time as well, so just one test per nite around +3 or just before bedtime would really help to fill in the blanks....

have u taken a look at this chart for a typical curve?

Preshot test, +3, +6 in both cycles are a few of your MOST important test times..we want to help you keep Dillan safe, the preshot test is really really important, if you skip any testing, don't skip this one ok?

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest


How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

This chart doesn't mean you have to test every hour, just gives an idea of what goes on during a cycle. There will come a day thou - you will be testing a lot more.
Kitty ears get used to it, we've all been there with the squirmy kitty who hates being tested.
Well, sorry kitty - it's for your own good and safety.
 
Yes I understand that you can not tell what the insulin is doing if you do not do spot tests and I also understand the importance of the preshot tests. Dillan is just new to the testing and I'd rather bring it on to him slowly, but I will try to get some done tonight.

Yes I did the curve yesterday and everything was still pretty flat and I do understand that right now is just the beginning of the testing.

I don't take any offence to posts on here. I know everyone is here to help everyone out and thats all that you are doing.
 
The problem with my situation is that I don't live with my girlfriend who has Dillan and she can not do the blood test by herself so it puts us in a perdicament. She has a needle phobia and she has just gotten over that with the insulin injections, so now she does the injections. I told her today that we need to find a way for she can do the tests herself because the PS tests are very important and when his numbers start fluctuating they are even more important. Right now she holds Dillan and I warm up his ear with the sock and then I take the blood test. We need Dillan to be more comfortable with the ear prick before we will be able to do tests by ourselves. I know the tests are important and we can not optimize without spot checks and PS tests are done.

The only tests that I can get now is probably the +8 from the AM shot and then I could get the PMPS and possibly the +2 from this, for the weekdays. This is because of work obligations, I work at 7:30 am until 4 pm so I deffinitely couldn't do the +6 for the AM and the only way I could do the AMPS is if I took a 45 minute drive every morning to go to her house to do the test. Friday, Sat and Sunday we can have better information but I know we still have to work on this. But possibly as Dillan gets more adjusted to the ear pricking maybe he will start to settle in and my girlfriend will get use to it as well and be able to do a test every morning.
 
Yes she has the internet, so we will take a look at the link tonight. Thanks for the support Ronnie.
 
Hi Mike
It is very wonderful of you to be so interested and caring for Dillan.
I was also worried about too much testing at the beginning and did not want to "freak out" Max
but now we have a great routine. As soon as he hears me put his sock in the microwave and prepare his treats, he goes right to his testing chair.
I know hard to believe. I didn't when I first joined the site and other beans would alk of their kitties going to their testing towels...Well, it happens.

You might want to consider using treats (we use purebites dehydrated chicken only) and he gets those when he is tested. He never puts up a fight and his ears are fine.
You have received great advice here.
 
Ditto what they all said. :smile:

I have a BIG problem with needles and especially blood. If you talk to me about a surgery or injury you had, I will get faint and have almost passed out before, just from TALKING about blood. I had to distract myself while poking, anything to make myself forget that it's blood. I sang stupid songs to Lucy, that seemed to relax both of us.
 
Thanks for all of the support everyone. I have been giving treats after the ear pricks so I'm waiting for him to associate the two together, but we are working on things. I give Dillan Wellness treats, he loves them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top