Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2
if the next shot is roughly the same should I keep testing every two hours to make sure he does not drop below 50? Or is it better each hour?
I think you meant "if the next test is roughly the same"...LOL
Anyway, "not necessarily" is the answer.
We WANT them to go lower towards the middle of the cycle, without going below 50 at any time. Think of a "Smile"...at the top left corner of the "mouth" is your Pre-shot test result...as the Lantus kicks in, the numbers go lower until nadir (around +6) and then start to go back up as the insulin wears off, ending at the top right corner of the "smile"

(this isn't a perfect example, but sometimes it helps to have a familiar reference picture)
184 is a good number to start your cycle!! The 190 at +2 is a little bit of "food spike"....what we would worry about would be if his +2 was a lot LOWER than the pre-shot.
This is a "typical" cycle for Lantus:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
Looking good so far at this dose!!