1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2 190

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/31 Davidson +8.5 114 +10 210

AMPM 267

QUESTION: This is the 4th day on the increase 2.75u............I think I should hold this dose for the weekend and see what Monday brings - if Davidson is still not in the blues then perhaps another .25 increase??

What do you suggest
Shawna
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson QUESTION +8.5 114 +10 210 AMPM 267

You're starting the beginning of the 7th cycle from what I can tell on the spread sheet. Here's the information on dose increases per the Tight Regulation Protocol:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I think holding this dose until after the weekend will give you a better idea on how he does, and he'll get used to the current dose, and is starting to build his shed a bit more. His #s are starting to improve, though, which each new dose increase. You're doing a great job!
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson QUESTION +8.5 114 +10 210 AMPM 267

Hi guys .. glad to hear davidson is feeling more relaxed in the lower number range .. I hope he hangs out there for a long time! have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson QUESTION +8.5 114 +10 210 AMPM 267

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Looks like Mr. Davidson cleared that bounce in fairly short order - nice.

I agree with Angela - currently Davidson falls into the below stage:

- "if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing."

After cycle 10 (Saturday night) re-evaluate.
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson QUESTION +8.5 114 +10 210 AMPM 267

You may be seeing another bounce today Shawna. That 114 from last night's cycle makes us wonder how low he might have gone, and since the 114 was at the end of the cycle, it's a good probability that he went even lower overnight.

Hang in there! Looks like this dose might be a good one, and if he is bouncing, we wouldn't want to increase during the bounce anyway.

Hope you have a great Friday and a better weekend!

Come on down Davidson...nothing of interest on the upper floors!
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson NEED ADVICE AMPM 267 +2 314 +5 205 +9 6.

Thanks

UPDATE +9 121.........so I will do another BG at +11, then a PMPS and then shoot.........then do a +2 and if it is lower then the preshot then set my alarm for +4 and evaluate. If that is low, then guess do another at +6

What do you think, or should I do test more then that?? May be a long night...........oh, but I luv him so that's okay

Shawna
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson NEED ADVICE AMPM 267 +2 314 +5 205 +9 6.

Nice numbers Davidson. :-D

Hard to guess what he'll do yet. Let's see what the +2 is before deciding when to test next.
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson NEED ADVICE AMPM 267 +2 314 +5 205 +9 6.

Sounds good, FYI +10 144, PMPS 184..........I will do the +2 and then based on what numbers Davidson has will determine if I need to retest during the night.
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

OKAY...........HERE IT IS +2 190

So, with the PMPS at 184 and the +10 from earlier at 144 it appears he is going up - so...........do I need to test again tonight??? Please check the SS and advise asap so I can maybe get some sleep tonight. Davidson is great, playing and running around the house like a kid...........just don't want to risk him going low and not getting a reading

Thanks
Shawna
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

That's really not a rise in the numbers. The PMPS and +2 are essentially the same. There's roughly 20% variance in any number due to the meter. I'd get another test in an hour or two.
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

Thanks Sienne...........I'm learning ;-)

So, if the next shot is roughly the same should I keep testing every two hours to make sure he does not drop below 50? Or is it better each hour? I'll be glad when he finally gets on track so we both get to sleep........

Rgds

Shawna
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

You could get another test at +3, and then +4, if you want. Do you know when his nadir is... Roughly? His #s are starting to look better with this dose. He's starting to show a few more yellow, and blue #s than the pink. This is a good sign.
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

I think the nadir (lowest numbers) are usually between 05:00 and 06:00 and 15:00 and 18:00 from what I see and looking at his SS.
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

Shawna

I agree with Sienne that you could probably get a +4 and see where he is. Based on that, we can decide when to test again.
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

okay, I'm going to set the alarm and do a +4 and then post it and hopefully some of you will be up...........if not, if the numbers are close to the PMPS (within 20%) then I will do a +6...........who needs sleep anyway when you are ADHD like me - haha

Thanks everyone............being this low in numbers is new to me and I mastered the higher BG's now getting used to the lower ones.

Shawna
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

if the next shot is roughly the same should I keep testing every two hours to make sure he does not drop below 50? Or is it better each hour?

I think you meant "if the next test is roughly the same"...LOL

Anyway, "not necessarily" is the answer.
We WANT them to go lower towards the middle of the cycle, without going below 50 at any time. Think of a "Smile"...at the top left corner of the "mouth" is your Pre-shot test result...as the Lantus kicks in, the numbers go lower until nadir (around +6) and then start to go back up as the insulin wears off, ending at the top right corner of the "smile" :-D (this isn't a perfect example, but sometimes it helps to have a familiar reference picture)

184 is a good number to start your cycle!! The 190 at +2 is a little bit of "food spike"....what we would worry about would be if his +2 was a lot LOWER than the pre-shot.

This is a "typical" cycle for Lantus:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

Looking good so far at this dose!!
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

Davidsons first blue PS! :RAHCAT

GECKO said:
I think the nadir (lowest numbers) are usually between 05:00 and 06:00 and 15:00 and 18:00 from what I see and looking at his SS.
(what are the 'plus' numbers?)
GECKO said:
.being this low in numbers is new to me and I mastered the higher BG's now getting used to the lower ones.
A whole new adventure :lol:

Davidson is working the juice! :cool:
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

UPDATE +4 245...........I think it's safe to say he's going up now and I can go to sleep and do another test at +9?

Anyone still up can comment please..........

Shawna
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

I think you can go to bed. I'd get a +10 or +11 if you're up. Great job tonight :-D

Night!!!!
 
Re: 1/31 Davidson URGENT ADVICE +9 121 +10 144 PMPS 184 +2

Thanks Marje......that next read is EASY, I'll be up for a few hours by the time +10/11 comes along
THANKS and have a nice evening............Davidson and I are going to bed.

Shawna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top