Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
1/30 Recap:
1.75 units bid
AMPS: 317
AM+3: 251
AM+6: 230
PMPS: 281
PM+3: 214
PM+6: 216
This morning:
dosecrease to 2.0
AMPS: 365
AM+2: 232
AM+5: 275
Yesterday's Condo
I've been so busy today dealing with Harvey's issues that I haven't had much time to visit or post. We increased Cinco's dose to 2.0 this morning, and so far no change in his numbers. :YMSIGH: I know, I know, give it time. This is a recurring theme lately with dosecreases - they don't seem to make any difference. It's very frustrating. I really don't like those mid-300 PS readings, even though he comes down to yellow post shot. I've been slipping 1/4 tsp of squash baby food into his meals, but he still isn't pooping regularly. If I don't see some results tomorrow am, I will start adding miralax, and I may give him some subqs. He hasn't seemed to be dehydrated, but it's hard to tell as he's not a very active cat, especially lately. Today I noticed something interesting. He spends most of his time lately laying down - mainly in what I call the camel position (I think some here call it meatloafing). Today, several times, I saw him sit up and "look around", as if he was checking out the area. I know he can't see, but perhaps he was using his other senses to see what was going on around him - this is something he hasn't really done lately, and I take it as a good sign. He also is laying down in a more relaxed position part of the time. Could these be signs he's feeling better???? (anti-jinx)
Harvey update: I dragged him back to the vet today for a follow-up xray. His stomach was back to normal size, but there was still a fair amount of gas in his intestine. The vet and I theorized that his tummy may have been bloated with gas yesterday, and that caused it to look so big. I know he's been releasing some of it :shock: ! The blood work showed that he has a UTI, and the bacteria from that may be what is causing all the gas. So he WAS trying to pee when was doing the lb dash. She's growing a culture to see what bacteria it is, so she can prescribe the correct AB, but for now she sent clavamox home. Getting it into him is proving a bigger challenge than I expected. I thought he would be starving, as I hadn't fed him since before we went to the vet yesterday, but when we got home and I offered him his beloved baby food with the clavamox in it, he took one snif, one lick and turned away. Since then he has been keeping his distance from me. I did manage to spoon feed him about half of it, but that's all, and he wouldn't even eat his dinner - it's like he thinks I'm trying to poison him. I know he's hungry, because he tried to steal some of Cinco's food (bad Harvey, steeling from the blind kitty!
). If I can't get him to finish the baby food this evening, I'll have to catch him and squirt some AB down his throat, along with the mylicon and the anti-inflammatory. Good times. :roll:
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all the beans. :YMHUG:
1.75 units bid
AMPS: 317
AM+3: 251
AM+6: 230
PMPS: 281
PM+3: 214
PM+6: 216
This morning:
dosecrease to 2.0
AMPS: 365
AM+2: 232
AM+5: 275
Yesterday's Condo
I've been so busy today dealing with Harvey's issues that I haven't had much time to visit or post. We increased Cinco's dose to 2.0 this morning, and so far no change in his numbers. :YMSIGH: I know, I know, give it time. This is a recurring theme lately with dosecreases - they don't seem to make any difference. It's very frustrating. I really don't like those mid-300 PS readings, even though he comes down to yellow post shot. I've been slipping 1/4 tsp of squash baby food into his meals, but he still isn't pooping regularly. If I don't see some results tomorrow am, I will start adding miralax, and I may give him some subqs. He hasn't seemed to be dehydrated, but it's hard to tell as he's not a very active cat, especially lately. Today I noticed something interesting. He spends most of his time lately laying down - mainly in what I call the camel position (I think some here call it meatloafing). Today, several times, I saw him sit up and "look around", as if he was checking out the area. I know he can't see, but perhaps he was using his other senses to see what was going on around him - this is something he hasn't really done lately, and I take it as a good sign. He also is laying down in a more relaxed position part of the time. Could these be signs he's feeling better???? (anti-jinx)
Harvey update: I dragged him back to the vet today for a follow-up xray. His stomach was back to normal size, but there was still a fair amount of gas in his intestine. The vet and I theorized that his tummy may have been bloated with gas yesterday, and that caused it to look so big. I know he's been releasing some of it :shock: ! The blood work showed that he has a UTI, and the bacteria from that may be what is causing all the gas. So he WAS trying to pee when was doing the lb dash. She's growing a culture to see what bacteria it is, so she can prescribe the correct AB, but for now she sent clavamox home. Getting it into him is proving a bigger challenge than I expected. I thought he would be starving, as I hadn't fed him since before we went to the vet yesterday, but when we got home and I offered him his beloved baby food with the clavamox in it, he took one snif, one lick and turned away. Since then he has been keeping his distance from me. I did manage to spoon feed him about half of it, but that's all, and he wouldn't even eat his dinner - it's like he thinks I'm trying to poison him. I know he's hungry, because he tried to steal some of Cinco's food (bad Harvey, steeling from the blind kitty!
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all the beans. :YMHUG: