1/31 Cinco PMPS 330 +3 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
1/30 Recap:
1.75 units bid
AMPS: 317
AM+3: 251
AM+6: 230
PMPS: 281
PM+3: 214
PM+6: 216

This morning:
dosecrease to 2.0
AMPS: 365
AM+2: 232
AM+5: 275

Yesterday's Condo


I've been so busy today dealing with Harvey's issues that I haven't had much time to visit or post. We increased Cinco's dose to 2.0 this morning, and so far no change in his numbers. :YMSIGH: I know, I know, give it time. This is a recurring theme lately with dosecreases - they don't seem to make any difference. It's very frustrating. I really don't like those mid-300 PS readings, even though he comes down to yellow post shot. I've been slipping 1/4 tsp of squash baby food into his meals, but he still isn't pooping regularly. If I don't see some results tomorrow am, I will start adding miralax, and I may give him some subqs. He hasn't seemed to be dehydrated, but it's hard to tell as he's not a very active cat, especially lately. Today I noticed something interesting. He spends most of his time lately laying down - mainly in what I call the camel position (I think some here call it meatloafing). Today, several times, I saw him sit up and "look around", as if he was checking out the area. I know he can't see, but perhaps he was using his other senses to see what was going on around him - this is something he hasn't really done lately, and I take it as a good sign. He also is laying down in a more relaxed position part of the time. Could these be signs he's feeling better???? (anti-jinx)

Harvey update: I dragged him back to the vet today for a follow-up xray. His stomach was back to normal size, but there was still a fair amount of gas in his intestine. The vet and I theorized that his tummy may have been bloated with gas yesterday, and that caused it to look so big. I know he's been releasing some of it :shock: ! The blood work showed that he has a UTI, and the bacteria from that may be what is causing all the gas. So he WAS trying to pee when was doing the lb dash. She's growing a culture to see what bacteria it is, so she can prescribe the correct AB, but for now she sent clavamox home. Getting it into him is proving a bigger challenge than I expected. I thought he would be starving, as I hadn't fed him since before we went to the vet yesterday, but when we got home and I offered him his beloved baby food with the clavamox in it, he took one snif, one lick and turned away. Since then he has been keeping his distance from me. I did manage to spoon feed him about half of it, but that's all, and he wouldn't even eat his dinner - it's like he thinks I'm trying to poison him. I know he's hungry, because he tried to steal some of Cinco's food (bad Harvey, steeling from the blind kitty! :o ). If I can't get him to finish the baby food this evening, I'll have to catch him and squirt some AB down his throat, along with the mylicon and the anti-inflammatory. Good times. :roll:

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all the beans. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/31 Cinco PMPS 330

Sending "feel better" prayers to sweet little Harvey. It's so hard when any of them don't feel well.

I understand your frustration with Cinco's numbers...we've been through the same thing. You will eventually hit a breakthrough dose. You're doing an awesome job with testing, increasing, and taking care of your babies!!

I hope all of you are able to enjoy a relaxing weekend!!!
 
Re: 1/31 Cinco PMPS 330

Hi Tricia! I'm glad Cinco is "looking around" that sounds like a good thing! I know exactly what you mean by keeping increasing...I hope the dosecrease shows you more promising numbers this weekend. Funny, Chyna just had a +2 exactly what Cinco PMPS is...guess she wanted to hang :-D ohmygod_smile

I read your post on Harvey yesterday, what an ordeal! I'm glad that it's something easily treated...if you call giving a cat ABs easy :lol: I've only given pills, not liquids so I'm sorry I have no advice on that but I really hope you can get Harvey to take it. I mashed up a chewable AB once "that cats love" after she refused it over and over, and mixed it in a tsp of tuna water (Chynas weakness) and she slurped it up, I guess the tuna smell overpowered the AB. Darn cats and their good sniffers :roll: .

I hope you have a great night, and HAPPY FRIDAY!!! :-D
 
Oh boy Tricia, you have your hands full with Harvey. your are so dedicated. I was catching up on condos. Sending prayers for release of gas and Harvey getting back his appetite. Very interesting with Cinco; that does sound like a good sign. Like he is adusting and feels more comfortable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top