1/30 Steve AMPS 325, +4 89, +6 84, +8 264, PMPS 412

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allie

Member
1/30 Steve
AMPS 325, 1.5U
+4 89
+6 84
+8 264
PMPS 412

Delta Delta Delta, can I helpya helpya helpya? :-D

I think it's time to tell the vet we haven't been following his advice for the last several weeks. He's gonna be irked (or not), but maybe we need to go in and and have the vet take a look under the hood and see if there is any other issues? Steve's never had dental work (I didn't know that was something that should be done until I came here). And Steve has some funky ears (always has). Maybe underlying infection or something else is causing the extreme delta issue?

If the vet can't find a problem like that, we might have to consider TID. That's not going to be easy, especially since I will be traveling for much of the middle part of the year...but I think my little guy might need another approach. When we were trying TR his BG stayed low...of course it got too low...which is why we are trying SLGS but maybe we need to do a combo of the two with a SLGS with dosing more often.

Thoughts? :?:

Anyway, gonna call the vet tomorrow and find out about dental work and any other infection connection.

Cheers,
Allie and Steve
 
The plan sounds good.

Checking out possible infection is a great idea. Surely your vet will be impressed with your record keeping. I don't know that we have anyone who is doing or has done TID, but we can sure try to support you. You are right, it will take a lot of testing to stay on top of the numbers.
 
I had considered tid briefly, but it just wasn't gonna work with my life. Someone introduced me to someone who had done it. It worked wonders for her and she only needed to do it for a couple of months, then went back to bid and still got great results. I'll look thru my pm's to see who that was. I don't know if she did it with pzi or if it was a different insulin, though. But she was really helpful. Lemme go look...
 
It was Hope and Aria. They were using prozinc. Aria is now otj. Send her a pm, I'm sure shed have some good tips for you. It obviously worked for them!!
 
Oh good, Claudia, I'm glad you found someone. Lori, Joanna and Gator may have some names too. You can also post on Health and ask if anyone has done TID with PZI, Allie, although you will get all kinds of answers from other people who haven't..... :lol:
 
Thanks for the info. I'm not ready to start bugging folks for TID info quite yet because I'm not quite ready to even attempt it. My life is sort of crazy and I'm not sure I could pull it off unless I did the dosing 10hrs (sometimes 11), 7hrs, 7hrs during the work week. AND that is on the day where I just have to work and do nothing else. When we attempted TR we did this...but they had the sliding scale. I'm still a little freaked to go back to that.

Infection eradication (if any exists) is my next act of resistance to the diabetes. I hope Steve is healthy, but man it would be so easy if he just needs a tooth pulled to stop seeing the huge deltas. Either way, he needs his teeth looked at. He has a pretty smile so hopefully, he doesn't need braces ;-)
 
Well, you do get some lovely numbers at nadir, but it does wear off fast and shoot back up again... Hopefully, with time, you can watch that even out a bit. Based on those midpoint numbers, an increase isn't the right move (so glad you came off the 4u!), so we need to get duration.

I read on your profile that Steve eats 4 cans of FF a day. Wow - that's a boat load of food! (My guys get just over the equivalent of 1 can of FF a day each. They are also not diabetic.) How's his weight? Have you considered slowly cutting back on the amount of food? Even using the low carb stuff, that's a lot of food. Maybe go to 3.5 cans, and then down to 3? Nice and slow. If he has any excess fat, losing a bit may help.

Just a thought ...
 
He does free feed.

The 4 cans is four cans fed, NOT 4 can eaten....A LOT of that gets thrown out. I'm thinking it would be 2 to 3 cans eaten if that. Steve is also a VERY large cat, but he NOT fat he is just BIG at 13lbs. He doesn't start to look fat until about 16lbs (here he went on Science Diet Light) and he looks emaciated at 10.5lbs (at time of diagnosis). He takes after his mommy...he's a yo-yo dieter. :lol:
 
Allie said:
He doesn't start to look fat until about 16lbs (here he went on Science Diet Light)

Ah ha!!!

Do you have any idea how many cats end up on this board after eating Science Diet Light?? It's a pretty high number ... :evil:
 
KarenRamboConan said:
Allie said:
Do you have any idea how many cats end up on this board after eating Science Diet Light?? It's a pretty high number ... :evil:

Karen, I'm one of those people. I have a big cat but not fat. I thought I was being a good mommy by feeding Science Diet Light. My Maximilian was diagnosed with diabetes in January, and I'm still trying to figure out what I'm doing.

Max is on PZI so Allie's posts have been helpful. Thanks!
 
Hi Holly,

If you would like to start your own thread and tell us a little about you and Max, we'd love to get to know you. We're a friendly group.

My Oliver was a Science Diet diabetic also......sigh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top