1/30 Purrdy AMPS 211 +5 97 - no increase PMPS 122 +3 79 +4 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 185
+3 131
+5 97
PMPS 151
+3 110


So today is ten cycles since the last increase. Purrdy is on 2.25 units now and really we haven't seen much change in his cycles since he was on 1.5 units - with the excption of mostly yellow AMPS coming back (instead of blue). I don't understand??? I guess there's nothing for it but to just keep carrying on in accordance with the protocol and increase again.

Have people seen this before? It seems very strange to me that it's three increases on and we're not seeing any downward movement. Maybe it just looks odd because he's started off in comparatively low numbers. I guess it wouldn't look so strange on a kitty starting in high numbers.

On the plus side this is the first time we've seen green two days in a row, it's happened before that we've seen two night cycles in a row (back when he was on 1.5 units) but never two day cycles in a row so I'm taking that as a win!


Serryn
 
Last edited:
Hi Serryn,
It may just be one of those things where it takes a while to arrive at the good dose and all of a sudden you see results. But then again, it may not! Is your Mum feeding a different food now? One with higher carbs?

Hope you can solve the mystery. Maybe it's the hot weather?? Maybe it's the :cat:.

Ella & Rusty
 
No food changes.

We may have another problem. Looks like Mum may have to board him for a month starting next week. She's found a vet that specifies boarding diabetic cats and is going to go and check the place out. I will give them a call myself with my questions. I plan to ask them about testing and whether they can shoot in .25 increments and have any experirence with TR. Anything else I should be asking?
 
I think it just takes time to find a good dose. At least Purrdy is not going really high.

You may want to ask how often they check BGs and if they still give insulin with a low PS.
 
I vote - it's the cat! :smuggrin: How many days longer is he getting the eye drops?

I have seen another spreadsheet that looked a lot like Purrdy's. Check out Lucy's SS.

I'd ask the vet about food. Your mom can take Purrdy's food to them, but you want to know that's what they'll feed. Ask if they have someone around 24 hours to monitor the cat. And how often they'll really test the cat. Tricia/Cinco had a bad experience with a vet that said they'd test and found a better solution in a home environment. Also ask about their dosing protocol.
 
Have people seen this before? It seems very strange to me that it's three increases on and we're not seeing any downward movement. Maybe it just looks odd because he's atarted off in comparatively low numbers. I guess it wouldn't look so strange on a kitty starting in high numbers.

Absolutely...been there, done that with Trix. At one point, we actually hit 5.00u before we hit a breakthrough...this after she had always been a 1.00ish unit kind of gal. The kitties, they change the game whenever they want.

I hope all works out with the boarding situation!!!
 
Hi Serryn. I did, indeed, have several bad experiences with boarding at a vet: They did not stick to the 12 hour cycle - Sometimes they shot at +13 and a couple of times at +10!!!! :eek: One time they shot a full dose with a 53 AMPS and didn't test again until PMPS! Another time they got a 40 at PM+5 and did not test again until AMPS. :eek::eek::eek::banghead::banghead::banghead: Sorry, not trying to scare you - just warning you!

Ask to see an example of how they keep track of the readings. Ask who gives the shot and who determines whether/how much to shoot. Ask what their protocol is in the event of a low reading - how often they feed/test and at what point they decide it's safe to stop testing. As others have mentioned, is there someone there 24 hours? Will they guarantee to stick to the 12 hour cycle?

I hope you get the right answers, or at least, answers you are comfortable with.
 
Thanks beans :) no increase tonight on vets advice to wait and see if mum has to abandon ship for a while. Can't say that I disagree, would hate for him to find his breakthrough just before mum has to leave :nailbiting:

Potential boarding vet says they understand the importance of 12 hourly dosing and there is 'someone' there around the clock. Mum is going to go and eyeball the place tomorrow, hopefully their testing is ok and they are prepared to update his spreadsheet - or put up with me calling them several times a day so I can!
 
Can't seem to get to the right part of the update thread to add it in on the iPad (technologically challenged!) will do it when I finish the rabbit run and get on to the computer but VERY EXCITED +3 is 79 second best number ever and our best run on green cycles yet! Yay for the family injury that caused the Dosecrease to be put on hold :D:D:D
 
How about those numbers!!! Guess Purrdy was pretty definite about not needing no-stinkin'-dosecrease.ri Yes, Purrdy. Point well taken.

Good thing to eyeball the boarding facility. Maybe see if they'd give some reference contacts to talk with previous clients who boarded FD cats there.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top