1/30 Chloe AMPS 111 +4 120

MaryB

Member Since 2022
No insulin since 1/29 AM.
I am in shock here honestly. She had been on 2units & I wasn't testing (my fault), no energy etc
Is it safe to just stop insulin so abruptly? I understand she will need a small dose, but is this normal?
She hasn't had any dry now since last night after seeing what it did to the sugar (spiked 40 points) I understand to say no more.
This is crazy.

When am I supposed to give her insulin?
 
Thank you, sorry I’m new to this so I don’t know how to do everything yet :(

the unfortunate thing is the dry food I feed her and all my kitties is supposed to be lc carnivore food :( guess I was wrong.

to my knowledge she hasn’t ever had ketones.

im sorry to sound silly, but what does depot mean?

thanks for your help!!
 
Oh wow, ok this explains a lot. She was feeling lethargic already probably due to too much insulin, then her sugar came up a little & I gave her more & it never fully had time to get out of her body.
I can honestly tell she has felt better today. more awake if that makes any sense.
Is there a link to what normal glucose goals are? I don't know what that is. I know she is not normal, she is over 100.
Thank you!
 
Normal on a human meter is 50-100 with some low 100’s. So far she’s normal but that’s depot action I think. Get a +11 so we know if she’s heading up or not at PMPS time.
 
I actually just checked it again whoops.
An hour early, but went up 3.
Thank you for the goal guidelines:)
 
Meter variance is 20% so she’s flat. Still two hours to go. You can wait until pmps to test. Is it getting easier?
 
Well I haven’t free fed her since 1/28, but she had a few pieces over night and yesterday so maybe 30 kibble total. None since we woke up today though.
 
Will you be able to cut the dry put completely? Until you do it’s SLGS and no insulin tonight. Since we don’t have any data I would skip anyway. If her pancreas is recovering her bg will come down 3-4 hours after eating. To test that you feed her and then pick up food and test again in 3-4 hours.
 
Yes I planned to cut it out. I haven’t given any today. She’s not happy with me over it :(
This afternoon as I was brushing my teeth she heard the electric toothbrush, she came to the door like she used to and wanted to sit with me while i brushed and watch me. She hasn’t done that in months so I know she is more alert, feeling better.
 
I wonder if she was getting too low and suspect she was. Then when she was tested she was bouncing and high. The curves at the vet were likely artificially high from being there.
 
I wonder if she was getting too low and suspect she was. Then when she was tested she was bouncing and high. The curves at the vet were likely artificially high from being there.

The vet did tell me that she was stressed there and that’s why I did her last curve in Dec at home but vet didn’t change her insulin at that time…I just did the one day curve and called in the numbers to the vet. Unfortunately I didn’t know any better.
 
It’s okay. She’s fine. You are testing now and only good things will happen now.

will you be at work tomorrow?

I will be working from home. Tuesday I’ll be working away during the day, but home by 4:30pm (eastern) so plenty of time to pick up food and etc.
she’s now over 24 hours without insulin I can’t even believe it!
 
She is very upset at me over her dry food missing :(
If she is looking for some "crunch", you could try giving her some freeze dried meat as a treat.

AMPS will be around 7-7:15 am eastern time zone US
When do you leave for work on days that you go to work? Ideally you want to choose a time such that you can get a +2 before leaving for work and not have to stay up too late at night to get some tests in the PM cycle.
 
If she is looking for some "crunch", you could try giving her some freeze dried meat as a treat.


When do you leave for work on days that you go to work? Ideally you want to choose a time such that you can get a +2 before leaving for work and not have to stay up too late at night to get some tests in the PM cycle.

That is the tricky part! I haven’t been working away from home for a while. I used to get up around 530am eastern, I fed everyone at the time I got up.
 
If she is looking for some "crunch", you could try giving her some freeze dried meat as a treat.


When do you leave for work on days that you go to work? Ideally you want to choose a time such that you can get a +2 before leaving for work and not have to stay up too late at night to get some tests in the PM cycle.
Where can you purchase freeze dried meats?
 
Where can you purchase freeze dried meats?
All pet stores carry them. Life Essenttials, Vital Essentials, Pure Bites are a few brands. Viral Essentials ahi tuna is like kibble. My two that I have now never have eaten dry food. One loves tge tuna but my other one due to think it’s food. They have other flavors too.
 
Last edited:
Hi Mary, you are not the first person who has shown up on the FDMB thinking that the Tiki Born Carnivore food is low carb and safe for diabetics. I googled it and it says that it's low carb right on the Tiki website. However, it might be lower carb than most dry foods out there, but I have a very strong suspicion that it's not below 10% carbs, which is what a diabetic cat needs. The fact that your Chloe is doing so well without the Tiki Born Carnivore is a beautiful case and point!

I'm going to write to Tiki about this, as I feel it is very misleading for caregivers who are desperately looking for something safe for their sugar cats to eat. I'm actually surprised by how blatantly wrong their marketing is, because lots of people here swear by Tiki wet foods because many of them are indeed less than 10% carb and safe for diabetics.

I have a bag of Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Chicken Recipe dry food as treats for my cats. It is one of the three actually low carb kibble alternatives recommended here, the others being Young Again and Wysong Epigen 90. I give a couple of these a day because they won't eat the freeze dried single ingredient meat treats, and they love the crunch. They are on a raw food diet otherwise.
 
It’s better if she will eat the treats. Viral Essentials are single ingredient and just like kibble. Many flavors available.
 
Hi Mary, you are not the first person who has shown up on the FDMB thinking that the Tiki Born Carnivore food is low carb and safe for diabetics. I googled it and it says that it's low carb right on the Tiki website. However, it might be lower carb than most dry foods out there, but I have a very strong suspicion that it's not below 10% carbs, which is what a diabetic cat needs. The fact that your Chloe is doing so well without the Tiki Born Carnivore is a beautiful case and point!

I'm going to write to Tiki about this, as I feel it is very misleading for caregivers who are desperately looking for something safe for their sugar cats to eat. I'm actually surprised by how blatantly wrong their marketing is, because lots of people here swear by Tiki wet foods because many of them are indeed less than 10% carb and safe for diabetics.

I have a bag of Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Chicken Recipe dry food as treats for my cats. It is one of the three actually low carb kibble alternatives recommended here, the others being Young Again and Wysong Epigen 90. I give a couple of these a day because they won't eat the freeze dried single ingredient meat treats, and they love the crunch. They are on a raw food diet otherwise.

Hi!
I thought I was doing so well choosing this food as a lc item, bc yes it said on the website and I also saw it on a diabetic safe list with ff that’s how I knew to get either when I started Chloe’s journey.
I am so happy for finding this website and the wonderful people here who are so helpful with their guidance. Thank you for your encouragement and making me feel I’m not alone! I appreciate your suggestions on treats.
 
It’s better if she will eat the treats. Viral Essentials are single ingredient and just like kibble. Many flavors available.

Im going to check out chewy, it’s time to order some things anyways, thanks for the suggestions!
 
Hi!
I thought I was doing so well choosing this food as a lc item, bc yes it said on the website and I also saw it on a diabetic safe list with ff that’s how I knew to get either when I started Chloe’s journey.
I am so happy for finding this website and the wonderful people here who are so helpful with their guidance. Thank you for your encouragement and making me feel I’m not alone! I appreciate your suggestions on treats.
That's interesting that you saw it on a list. I have already written to Tiki. Will get to the bottom of this. If it is indeed less than 10% carbs, then we will add it to our list of safe dry foods for diabetic cats as well!
 
That's interesting that you saw it on a list. I have already written to Tiki. Will get to the bottom of this. If it is indeed less than 10% carbs, then we will add it to our list of safe dry foods for diabetic cats as well!
I’m sorry but I do not recall what the list was. This was at the beginning of Chloe’s journey and I was really overwhelmed then too. I hope you are able to hear back from them. If so could you pass along information to us somehow? I would be interested to know. It increased her level pretty good from what I can tell do I would be interested to see the level of carbs it has. Thanks again!!:)
 
It’s better if she will eat the treats. Viral Essentials are single ingredient and just like kibble. Many flavors available.
Are any of the freeze dried treats ok? I have stuck with the Pure Bites chicken, but looks like there are lots of options. Just want to limit the fish, right?
 
Her pancreas is working to some extent it appears. That’s great news!
I know I must sound like a broken record but I caution you about feeding any dry food. See if she likes the freeze dried treats.

that’s good to hear! It gives me hope.
I appreciate you saying what you say, no worries. I haven’t given her any and don’t intend to after seeing the result on her sugar. I have her wet food out for her if she needs to have something :)
 
That's interesting that you saw it on a list. I have already written to Tiki. Will get to the bottom of this. If it is indeed less than 10% carbs, then we will add it to our list of safe dry foods for diabetic cats as well!
Where is the list is safe dry foods for diabetic cats?

Thanks!
 
Thanks. This is wet food only but I appreciate you responding to my post.
Is Chloe on dry food and in remission and if so which one?

Many thanks!
 
Thanks. This is wet food only but I appreciate you responding to my post.
Is Chloe on dry food and in remission and if so which one?

Many thanks!

Oh I’m sorry!
I didn’t realize. Whoops.
I’m sorry …I don’t know of a list for dry.
Chloe is off dry totally. You can take a look at her spreadsheet, but when she stopped the dry her levels dropped. I never thought she would accept wet only, but she has! She’s getting pure bites dehydrated meats once daily though. She loves the crunchiness! Yes, she’s in remission!!! OTJ officially 2/16 but really hasn’t taken since 1/29
 
Oh I’m sorry!
I didn’t realize. Whoops.
I’m sorry …I don’t know of a list for dry.
Chloe is off dry totally. You can take a look at her spreadsheet, but when she stopped the dry her levels dropped. I never thought she would accept wet only, but she has! She’s getting pure bites dehydrated meats once daily though. She loves the crunchiness! Yes, she’s in remission!!! OTJ officially 2/16 but really hasn’t taken since 1/29
Congrats on OTJ!! What wet food did your cat take to?

thanks!
 
Back
Top