1/3: Pablo's AMPS 374, +4~328...increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Pablo

Member Since 2009
(No condo yesterday.)

WCR: woke me up and hour early for breakfast...he doesn't seem to understand that no matter how early he wakes me up, he doesn't get food until 8:30. He won't know what to think come next week, though. I have to start giving his shots at 5:45 in the morning to get to clinical by 7!

So I'm questioning what to do. We've been at 3.25u for just over two weeks, and we saw blue a good bit at the beginning. But now, I've seen blue twice in a week. I just figured he must be rebounding in between. But, I started thinking. Are the few-and-far-between blues just flukes? At what point to you stop calling two days of yellows and pinks "rebound" and start changing doses based on them?

He's been on Lantus for almost two months, and we rarely see green (though we've rarely seen reds again either). Should I increase?
 
Tomorrow and Tuesday I can get several spot checks, but doubtful for Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. Classes start Wednesday. And actually, my ability to get ANY daytime spot checks for the next four months is doubtful. But since his shot is being moved up to 5:45, I can get a lot of PM checks before I go to bed. It's just the AM ones that won't happen.

You know what would be nice? A neighbor I could train to do blood sugars for a couple bucks a day. Hey, Libby...you're my closest LL neighbor! Wanna do some spot checks for me? :thumbup
 
Holly and Pablo said:
You know what would be nice? A neighbor I could train to do blood sugars for a couple bucks a day. Hey, Libby...you're my closest LL neighbor! Wanna do some spot checks for me? :thumbup

riiiggggght, I'll be right over. Ya think my boss will mind if I disappear for hours each day to drive to your place to test? Probably 2-3 hours each way, right? Not a problem!

Reason I asked about spot checks is because Pablo DID get a low blue on this dose yesterday. It looks like rebound might be clearing today. Sure, there is room to push him down to green but IMHO it might be better to wait a couple more cycles. Two reasons, one, when this rebound clears he might go back down there again. And two, with the time changes (even though they are small, over time they can create some overlap) and the chance that he might be working on going green anyway, it might be smart to wait until you can get some spot checks. What do you think?
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Probably 2-3 hours each way, right? Not a problem!

Eh, 4-5 hours each way. But seriously, I said I'd give you a couple bucks! ;-)

The reason I question the bounce vs. blues being a fluke is because we've been at this dose for so long. Is is normal to experience 2-3 DAYS of rebound between a blue? That seems so unfair! I guess I'd like to know if there is an "expected" bounce time period. Or do some cats bounce for one cycle, others for four or five cycles?

If you'll notice, that's what happens to Pablo: green/blue one cycle, then yellow/pink for four or five.

If I up the dose today, I can spot check Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday of this week. If I wait until Friday, I'll only have Saturday and Sunday for checks. BUT, if you think it's worth waiting, I'm all for it.
 
Your question about pretty numbers then bouncing is probably a matter of where your cat is with respect to liver training school and the every popular, ECID. Take a look at Gabby's SS between 12/28 and 1/2. Each end has a really pretty run of green. Then in between, it's a rainbow.
 
since he has had blue on this dose, IMO we really need to give it 10 full cycles before increasing. We can look at it again tomorrow.

Yes, rebound can take up to 36 hours to clear. And yes, that is very annoying. :lol:
 
Re: 1/3: Pablo's PMPS 243, 3.25u given

Okay, I shot the usual 3.25. I will get spot checks tonight and see if he's flushing out that nasty rebound.

Libby...the rule is 10 cycles AFTER the blue? Because he's definitely been on the 3.25 for much longer than 10 cycles (something like 16 DAYS)! Sorry for the questions (I feel like we need a chat function sometimes!), but I don't want to keep him on this dose if it can be safely increased. Likewise, I don't want him to hypo because I was too hasty.
 
Re: 1/3: Pablo's PMPS 243, 3.25u given

Holly and Pablo said:
Okay, I shot the usual 3.25. I will get spot checks tonight and see if he's flushing out that nasty rebound.

Libby...the rule is 10 cycles AFTER the blue? Because he's definitely been on the 3.25 for much longer than 10 cycles (something like 16 DAYS)! Sorry for the questions (I feel like we need a chat function sometimes!), but I don't want to keep him on this dose if it can be safely increased. Likewise, I don't want him to hypo because I was too hasty.

no, you're right and I could have explained my thinking better. It is not 10 days cycles after the blue, but I started counting again after the dental. Skipped shots tend to start the "clock" over again (because they interfere with the shed), and the whole dental seems to call for starting over. Maybe I'm being extra conservative. ;-)


edited cause I'm too tired, I wrote 10 days and I meant 10 cycles.
 
Ah, I'd completely forgotten about the skipped dental shot. Makes a little more sense now. Okay, so starting from the shot the night of the dental, today's AM cycle was the 10th. That makes tonight's the 11th. If I'm still seeing yellows during tonight's spot checks, is it advisable to increase to 3.5u in the morning?

I was so hopeful that he would jump right into the greens after the dental. Silly mama bean for unrealistic hopes of things being easy! :roll:
 
Holly and Pablo said:
Ah, I'd completely forgotten about the skipped dental shot. Makes a little more sense now. Okay, so starting from the shot the night of the dental, today's AM cycle was the 10th. That makes tonight's the 11th. If I'm still seeing yellows during tonight's spot checks, is it advisable to increase to 3.5u in the morning?

following protocol, the answer is yes.
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top