1/29 - Xander | DOSE - Going <90 even after 2 reductions. Reduce more?

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
Didn't post for a couple of days, but here's my last thread.

It's been an up and down few days lol

On the 25th we decreased from 2 units to 1.75 based on the SLGS method because he was going below 90. On the 28th we decreased further down to 1.5 for the same reason.

1/25 AM: 1.75 | PM: 1.75
1/26 AM: 1 (AMPS <150) | 1.75
1/27 AM: 1.75 | PM: Skipped (PMPS <100)
1/28 AM: 1.5 | PM: 1.5

As of this morning, he's <90 again (71 1s the lowest I've seen so far today, but he tends to drop more into the low 50s if he goes this low).

We have to skip this morning's dose, unfortunately, because we have a vet appointment at the same time and with how traumatic it is to get him into a carrier to go, we can't have it associated with doing injections or he'll never come near me again. lol

Just wondering if we should be decreasing again down to 1.25 units, or if maybe this is just wonkiness. Like I've said before, it's hard to give full doses consistently if he's so often below the threshold for dosing at all, so maybe the inconsistency is making it weirder. I'm starting to wonder if there's any dose that both gets him to good numbers but doesn't make me unable to shoot by the time the next injection rolls around.

Should we decrease to 1.25?

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
He hasn’t dropped under 90 that I can see since you reduced to 1.5 so I would not reduce again. Did I miss something ? I hope you have a productive vet visit.
 
He hasn’t dropped under 90 that I can see since you reduced to 1.5 so I would not reduce again. Did I miss something ? I hope you have a productive vet visit.

He did, it just didn't end up at the exact time the SS is set up for. He was at 71 at about 7:45. (That often seems to be the case; the lowest number doesn't end up on the SS because it's between the time slots.)
 
I am glad I asked. Reduce to 1.5. Congrats!

I'll reduce tonight! (1.25, but I get the drift lol) Thank you for your advice as always!

I'm glad that this seems to be a good thing rather than a bad thing. I was starting to worry that maybe it was still not the right insulin for him, but it sounds like he's just doing so well on it that he doesn't even need very much?
 
Not sure if anyone has mentioned this, but if there’s something worth having in the SS you can put another number in the cell and manually color code it. For example something like “+4 90, +4.5 70”.

I had been doing that at first, but wasn't sure if it was too messy and would annoy people, so I started just doing it on the x:30 mark. I usually include something in the remarks about a low though. Do you think it would be worthwhile at a time like 7:30 this morning where he did hit lower than that shortly afterward, to just put in the lower number (and the correct timestamp)?
 
I had been doing that at first, but wasn't sure if it was too messy and would annoy people, so I started just doing it on the x:30 mark. I usually include something in the remarks about a low though. Do you think it would be worthwhile at a time like 7:30 this morning where he did hit lower than that shortly afterward, to just put in the lower number (and the correct timestamp)?
I probably would, yea. Just for numbers around reduction points. That Libre data is awesome.
 
I probably would, yea. Just for numbers around reduction points. That Libre data is awesome.

Thanks for the suggestion! It makes sense to me, I just didn't want to annoy anyone who had to look at my SS for help. I'll definitely do that around times when there's something to look out for.

The Libre is incredible. It sends updates every minute so I always know what's going on. It'd be a million times harder to prick his ears a few times a day so I'm super grateful that I'm able to get it and he leaves it alone.
 
Back
Top