1/29 Taz, AMPS-223, +1-240, +3-131

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
We have zoomies! I haven't seen Taz run around the house in forever! He's been playing with his little sister, Bella, chasing each other and wrestling. He's also doing the kneading thing, which we call "nursie nurse". He only does it when he's really happy.

I'm going to try to get some readings today that I can't normally get. I'm sort of wanting to increase his insulin to 1.25units (he's currently on 1) but I'm scared the vet will get upset that we're not following his recommendations. We love him as a vet (he helped us a LOT with our SCL kitty years ago) and don't want to jeopardize anything.

Taz's dental will be done on March 7th. We tried to get something sooner but with the vet being short staffed, they're making appointments a month in advance. They went ahead and gave us a bloodwork appointment and the dental one now, so we won't have to chance it having to be done later than that. The vet was reluctant to give us more Bupe to have on hand because they pre-measure it into syringes and said if it isn't used quickly enough, it will evaporate. I asked for something else because I don't like the gabapentin (even though I'm happy we have it on hand now) and he gave us a prescription for Bupe at a compounding pharmacy. I feel much better knowing we'll have that and cerenia on hand, just in case pancreatitis flares up again or if he needs it because his teeth hurt.

Just wanted to give an update. :)
 
You could try an increase but not a whole lot of wiggle room. See what the others think first. Ask for dose advice again closer to his dental as well

...I have bupe that's been in syringes for months and hasn't evaporated, they have the rubber stoppers on the end. At least you have a script!
 
He's seen some low blue nadirs, an increase might get you to green. All depends what you're comfortable with!
 
Nice to see Taz is coming down today, are you perhaps planning to get another test since that +3? It would be good to see if he is going lower today, With SLGS, before considering an increase, you would run a curve after a week, your last curve was on Jan 22nd. You've had some spot checks over the last week where nadirs are below 150, including today, so per SLGS you'd hold the dose.
 
I suspect he went lower after that 131 yesterday, and now you are seeing the bounce.

Do you think it's possible that his body adjusted to the 1 unit and realized it needs an increase now? He went from 338 to 237 (+2). I thought they increase greatly after they eat, but if I'm looking at his numbers right, it seems like he's lowest right after the insulin kicks in?

Nevermind. I just went and rechecked his chart. I can see where you'd say he might be in a bounce right now. I'll get a +4 today and see where it is.
 
Back
Top