1/29 Sami PMPS 142; +2 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
So far it looks like my decision to reduce the dose to 1.25 last night worked. She surfed the greens most of the night and started to rise at +6, but slowly, which is exactly what we wanted. As you can see Sami even came up with a BLUE AMPS this morning. I hope today is a repeat of yesterday, but I won't be totally surprised if she has a bounce.

Last night during all her low numbers she did seem a little dazed, but I am assuming that it was just because she isn't use to those lower numbers yet. She did eat almost every time I put food in front of her but she didn't go to it on her own, at least not that I noticed. And I really didn’t let her get too low so maybe had she been lower she might have gone on her own. Her lowest was 64 last night. I fed only LC variety foods, no HC needed. This morning she is doing great and seems to be a little more alert than last night.

Here is the question of the day:

We have all heard of Liver Training, and know it is the livers response to low blood glucose to dump sugar into the system. So let me ask you this. If the liver is smart this way, why doesn't it prevent the low blood sugar before it actually happens?

Hope everyone has a great start to the day.
 
Re: 1/29 Sami AMPS 172 - Liver Question

I think you ask a great question about the liver......I wish I knew the answer.
Nice blue AMPS Sami. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/29 Sami AMPS 172 - Liver Question

The answer is long and complicated, but here's the short version.....

First of all glucagon is a hormone produced by the pancreas in response to low BG, glucagon signals the liver to begin converting stored glycogen into glucose to be released into the blood, this process takes time so the response is not immediate. Further hormones are also increased in response to hypoglycemia (catacholomines, acetylcholine, and plasma amino acids) these have a longer duration effect, the increased amino acids protect from hypoglycemia when an all protein meal is consumed (which is what cats eat mainly) increased amino acids stimulate further the production of glucagon which may be why our cats bounce from low numbers longer and harder than humans do (humans eat less protein and more carbohydrates). Another effect is that insulin itself inhibits glucagon, so when you have caused the low BG by giving exogenous insulin the action of glucagon is further inhibited. Typically we manage the low BG by giving food however the glucagon remains in the blood stream later as the insulin is mostly used up the glucagon begins to activate and bind with receptors on the heptocyctes of the liver and stimulate it to release glucose, this is perhaps why the bounce occurs at the end of the cycle resulting in a higher PS number when the insulin levels are low.

Again my theory based on my knowledge of biochemistry. Does it sound plausible? :-D
 
Re: 1/29 Sami AMPS 172 - Liver Question

Monique & Spooky said:
The answer is long and complicated, but here's the short version.....

First of all glucagon is a hormone produced by the pancreas in response to low BG, glucagon signals the liver to begin converting stored glycogen into glucose to be released into the blood, this process takes time so the response is not immediate. Further hormones are also increased in response to hypoglycemia (catacholomines, acetylcholine, and plasma amino acids) these have a longer duration effect, the increased amino acids protect from hypoglycemia when an all protein meal is consumed (which is what cats eat mainly) increased amino acids stimulate further the production of glucagon which may be why our cats bounce from low numbers longer and harder than humans do (humans eat less protein and more carbohydrates). Another effect is that insulin itself inhibits glucagon, so when you have caused the low BG by giving exogenous insulin the action of glucagon is further inhibited. Typically we manage the low BG by giving food however the glucagon remains in the blood stream later as the insulin is mostly used up the glucagon begins to activate and bind with receptors on the heptocyctes of the liver and stimulate it to release glucose, this is perhaps why the bounce occurs at the end of the cycle resulting in a higher PS number when the insulin levels are low.

Again my theory based on my knowledge of biochemistry. Does it sound plausible? :-D

Monique,

Yes it does sound plausible and I thank you for the informaiton. I have had to read it a few times, and I am still trying to absorb it, but I do get it. Thanks again.
 
Re: 1/29 Sami AMPS 172 - +6 54; +7 56

So far today Sami is surfing those greens again. She is above 50 so I have been giving her LC. She ate about ¾ can of Fancy Feast just after +6. I expected her to come up a little more than just 2 points after eating that much food, but I just gave her more food and will test again in another 30 minutes or so. As long as she stays above 50 I won't be forcing the food or giving HC. If she falls below 50 then I will give some MC food and see how she goes.

She seems just fine, she was up and about exploring the office, but now she is taking a snooze. I hate to wake her up to test, but I need to make sure she isn't dropping below 50.

Hope your Friday is a good one.
 
Re: 1/29 Sami AMPS 172 - +6 54

Tina
Look at Sami today! Wow.
So nice again. Seeing that she is doing so well at the office you might want to
really put her to work, lol.
Have a great rest of the day.
 
Re: 1/29 Sami PMPS 142;

Sami's PMPS came in at 142. I had hoped that she would surf the greens all the way through PMPS, but 142 is still a great number, and it made me feel comfortable giving her the full dose of 1.5 units. I will still be keeping an eye on her tonight and will be getting in a few tests before bedtime, and probably a couple more overnight. I am hoping that she will be back in the green tonight and into the morning.
 
Re: 1/29 Sami PMPS 142;

haha_smiley Randi is soooooo funny! Doing so good at work, you might as well put her to work! Made me smile for the first time all day & it is nearly 6pm.
Congrats on the great PMPS #, safe & steady :thumbup
 
Looks like Sami is experiencing her bounce. The only thing this means for me is that I just might get to sleep tonight. Hope Sami is back on track tomorrow.
 
Peeked at her SS. The yellow tonight is a combo of bounce and the effect of the reduced dose last night (and maybe some moon effect thrown in too). When you reduce/BCS it can not show up fully until a few cycles later. The beauty of the shed. :smile:

Sami is doing very well!
 
Cassandra and Sasha said:
Peeked at her SS. The yellow tonight is a combo of bounce and the effect of the reduced dose last night (and maybe some moon effect thrown in too). When you reduce/BCS it can not show up fully until a few cycles later. The beauty of the shed. :smile:

Sami is doing very well!

Thanks Cassandra,

I think next time I will shot the full dose and be ready if she goes too low, because I really hate seeing these higher numbers. She is currently over 300 and her AMPS is shortly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top