1/29 Ruby PMPS 85/+3 54/+4 74

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...219-9-207-pmps-166-2-155.258522/#post-2906330

Yesterday was a good day mobility wise. Happy the Adequan seems to work. Her numbers went a little high though and her appetite is still off. If she doesn’t eat, she doesn’t get her Lactulose, and that causes more problems. Increased her back to 3.25 today and gave her an ondansetron in the hopes it makes her feel better.

Working from home today because of snow. Hope everyone has a great Caturday! :bighug:
 
+6 = 48. Looks like that dose increase this morning was not warranted. Eeek. :eek: Going back to 3 tonight and sticking with it for another 6 cycles.

I gave her an ondansetron this morning. Dunno if that made her feel better or the Adequan is doing its thing for her pain and her numbers are coming down as a result. In any case, she was meowing at me before that +6 test so the low sugar made her super hungry and she ate all of her AMPS meal and then just now another ounce.
 
Ruby's surfing today. :D

I asked the oncologist to do cobalamin and folate tests along with her usual blood work this past week and we got the results in. Everything is entered on Ruby's lab sheet (boy, she has had A LOT of tests in the last year!). Short story is her triglycerides are off the charts, likely caused by the pred, but this does not concern the oncologist for some reason. Kidney values are good and holding steady. Cobalamin is >2000 and folate at normal levels. Ruby's never tested low for any of these values ever. Still, it's a good idea to do these tests once a year with her GI problems.
 
Wow, look at Ruby, guess she doesn't want 3.5units :D So glad to hear she has her appetite!!! I suspected being pain free might have had something to do with it. Chronic pain is not good to live with I know this personally.

Is Ruby still taking the krill oil for arthritis? Supposedly, omega 3 is good for lowering tryglicerides in humans, as well as having some sort of benefit for human arthritis. I use it.

I feel so badly you had to wait outside in the freezing cold while Ruby was at the vet! Didn't your area get hit with that snow storm I heard about on the news? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wow, look at Ruby, guess she doesn't want 3.5units :D So glad to hear she has her appetite!!! I suspected being pain free might have had something to do with it. Chronic pain is not good to live with I know this personally.

Is Ruby still taking the krill oil for arthritis? Supposedly, omega 3 is good for lowering tryglicerides in humans, as well as having some sort of benefit for human arthritis. I use it.

I feel so badly you had to wait outside in the freezing cold while Ruby was at the vet! Didn't your area get hit with that snow storm I heard about on the news? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi again Ruth! I lowered Ruby's dose back to 3 units. I was giving her a capsule of green lipped mussel extract for Omega 3s, but then she started vomiting blood so I stopped it, but I may start it again when I think her nausea might be in the clear. She's been eating well today and I want to see that continue before I start the GLM caps back up again.

We did have the snow but it wasn't that bad here in the NYC metro area, less than a foot probably. It was a lot worse on the eastern end of Long Island and in Boston where they got 30 inches.
 
Ruby's still heading downwards at +3. She's eating MC at the moment, so fingers crossed she comes up some more. I'm not really sure what to do about her dosing anymore. I know she is long term but there are too many variables for me to feel safe letting her go into the 40s.
 
Back
Top