1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT EAT?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
amps 398
gave .5u
wont eat-tried all the tricks i could that were available
he did eat a beef liver treat after a LOT of co-orsing
took one little poop seemd like he strained ot get it out and it was kinda hard ( but not black incolor anymore) < been off flagyl since sun night? < i think
marje said call vet if he doesnt eat in am, i was up to almost 3am and havent slept exhausted

when should i call _don't know for sure if she working today, but someone wil be there?
and when should i test next-REALLY want to sleep more, say til like 11 that would be+4?

yesterdays condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87906&start=100
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

It sounds like he might be constipated.. I would call the vet and suggest that and ask what to do.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

but why is he not eating?
when should i test again? i'll stay up, but working on no sleep-exhausted 3.5hrs ugh
leave food out right'?
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

I would call the vet when they open and ask what to do. I know the lack of sleep sucks, been there. Good luck paws crossed the appy returns!
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

I agree with the others. I would call the Vet. You're on the east coast, right! Most Vets here open at 7:30 am, so hopefully there should be someone there to take your call.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

It doesn't matter if it's OK or not -- that's when they can get you in. Just try to keep getting Ruben to eat as the day goes on.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

Sam...can you run to the store and get some baby food? Chicken or turkey...nothing in it but meat. Don't get anything that has onion or garlic powder or cornstarch. Musial,ynBeechnut is the best one. Try that. If he's constipated, he won't feel like eating,

eta: if you only talked to thre receptionist, I'd call back and explain that he has insulin in him and won't eat and you are concerned his BG might drop. She might not realize that. Maybe if you could talk to a tech that would understand, they could fit you in.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

If he won't eat the baby food, mix it with some warm, not hot , water into a slurry and syringe feed him at least 10 mls every hour for a few hours just to get some food into him,
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

Sam wants to know when u say syringe feed do you mean to force feed him with a syringe?
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

should i get a bg count b4 i go get bb food? he just went to poop again , again only little poo about say an inch, sofer tho
he looks a little better at least not just lying down- lookknig out the window? do you mean force feed or just in his mouth to wet appitite? doesn't seem to want anything (he may try frisky treats should i grab tham just to see if its a matter of taste ( i know not over all god for him but just o see)?
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 WONT EAT?!

+3 210
marje- you can call if i don respond to a post. get me up if you think im sleeping, i dont mind if even to get back on the forum and we can talk here, i know the rules waiting to here b4 i get the bb food- should i get the frisky's treats too, just to see if he'll eat anything (the poo issue has me a little concerned) two little poos in 3 hr and then when he jumped out a little almost liquid mixed with water dropped out
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

i know 210 is an okay number but is that a fast decline? he usually drops at night
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

Sorry...I laid back down.

First, I would try and get him to eat some of the gravy...slowly syringe it if you have to. Don't shoot it down his throat. Put it in at the side of his mouth and slowly push the plunger and give him time to swallow. If he doesn't want to do it, wrap him in a towel. Get a hand towel, out him between your legs, and drape the towel around his neck and hold it closed at the back of his neck. Then slowly try to syringe him. You have to get a few tsp of gravy in him. Then go get the baby food.

Did you call the vet again?
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

i talked to her directly she assured me he'll be okay til 230 i told her he didnt eat anything. that she was doing procedures this am and 1st availability was 230
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

mixed gg ff with some warm water, he mostly licked the gravy only a little maybe 1-1 1/2 tsp (BUT ON HIS OWN) oh thank you jesus, wasnt a whole lot. going to get bb food. marje- your the only one who super attentive with me & ruben, no words! thank you. i sit here paniced hitting refresh,refresh,refrsh, and nothing but your always on top of it. gonna get bb food my mom is gonna stay on and im gonna call her so i will get any posts
love you, i know how tired you are . im with you awoke to a burning tingly left arm and foot. fml...lol :-|
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

That's great Ruben ate some on his own! Hopefully that will jump start his appy and he'll dive right into the BF! You're doing a great job Sam.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

Good job....keep trying to get him to lick the gravy ....I don't care how much he has. We can always deal with numbers.

Also...if you haven't left yet, please test him. If you have, test him as soon as you get back.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

She already left, Im on the phone with her now, she says she pulled up GL but left regular wet down just incase. Wasnt sure. Says she'll test soon as she returns
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

Sam at store, only have Beech nut stage 1 chicken and chicken broth, and Turkey and turkey broth list no other ingrediance
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 still WONT EAT?!

Sounds great. Thanks, Robin. It's ok to give him the GL if hes not eating the other. We can always deal with numbers that go up but it's harder to deal with numbers that come down with a cat that won't eat.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 398 +3 210 +4.75 236 still WONT EAT?!

+236 +4.75
will NOT eat doesnt want anything to do with the bb food or his favorite treats (not friskies marje, temptations) even crushed a treat to put on gl and still turned his nose up.
his hnumber is ok, do i hae to syringe, it wont be pretty but i will
do i tell the vet i was trying to get him to eat? she seemed to be again non chalaunt about it, "he's fine on .5u his number was high enough"
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 still WONT EAT?!

His numbers are safe for now. I'd keep an eye on them, though. Check him again at +6. If his number is staying in this range or going up, don't worry about making him eat before the vet appt. if they start down, get some more gravy in him, ok? Check him before you leave for the vet, too.

If your vet does not understand the need for a diabetic cat to have food with insulin, then I'd start looking for a new vet.

I have to leave in 10 mins for an appt and to run errands. Once I am out of the appt, I can check back from my phone. Just keep updating here. Hang in there. You are an awesome mom to Ruben. But you had a great teacher in your mom.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 still WONT EAT?!

:sad:
marje- can ruben and i come stay with you until he gets regulated? :smile: jk but wish i could, i. am. exhausted. i go to slepp with worry and wake with that same pit feeling
i am grateful his numbers are safe, but we all know what he likes to do at night. sorry, thank you for dancing with us. I hate this dance :roll:
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 still WONT EAT?!

I know...it certainly has not been my favorite dance either.

Gotta run but will check in. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 still WONT EAT?!

OK, you're still going to the vet at 2:30, right?

I think that at this point, with these numbers, he's safe and that the shot this morning isn't going to cause him to drop too low even if he isn't eating well.

The big issue is him not eating. Your vet's job today is to figure that out.
- Have her check him to see if constipation is an issue.
-Have her look in his mouth to see if there's any sort of dental trouble. My civvie, Mullet had an episode last year where he all of a sudden wouldn't eat. On the 2nd day, I brought him in, and they found he had a broken tooth that had caused sores to develop on his tongue, and it turns out eating was painful.
-Have her check to see if he's hydrated.
-Have her poke around his abdomen to see if there's any pain there.

It obviously isn't a "menu" issue, because you've offered him lots of different choices. He just doesn't have any desire to eat, and there has to be an underlying reason for that which has nothing to do with the insulin dose or the BG numbers. He needs to get some food in him so he doesn't start going down the "fatty liver" road.

Although it isn't something that's an attractive option, you could just stop with the insulin and not have to worry about him crashing because he's getting insulin and not eating anything. The best option is to figure out why he won't eat, fix that, and then you won't have to worry.

You're paying this vet good money, and "nonchalance" is not an option. Make her earn that money.

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 still WONT EAT?!

LOVE YOU carl <dian, meant only in the most innocent way. ;-)

thank you carl and marje for staying up with us. i guess we have to see what his numbers are tonight and make a decision wether to shoot or not to shoot, but ill cross that bridge when i get there.
i called tufts-they dont refer out. im pretty far from them and kinda going broke-who am i kidding not kinda, its happened. my vet now only charges $40 a visit cause i dropped sooo much already she feels bad.

thank you for arming me with issues to bring up to her.
ive never prayed so much in my whole life, told the vet hospital they need a chapel in there, all other hospitals do.

going to test brb cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

amps 389
+3 230
+4.75 236
+6 214
wont eat
going to vet at 2:30
gonna test before i leave
i havent eaten either, maybe i should have her look at me too, im an animal also..lol down 10lbs tho Yay :lol:
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Samantha,

EAT something! Ruben needs you at the top of your game. :smile: Feline Diabetes is a great "weight loss plan". Bob lost 10 pounds pre-diagnosis. Of course, he most likely would have preferred to NOT become a diabetic in the first place.

But I don't think the FDA would approve the "FD Diet" as a good choice for humans. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Hello Sam and Reuben! I've been lurking, but not wanting to post until Reuben was in safe numbers. I just want to wish you good vetty vines. I hope they can find out why Reuben won't eat and it's an easy fix. You're doing so awesome with him! Don't forget to take care of yourself, too! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((FDMF)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
thank you guys. lost without you
carl you are hysterical..the fda wont approve the fd diet- almost peed myself i laughed so hard thank i needed that

i am trying to eat, i know how important it is i stay healthy, but this pit makes me feel sick to my stomach, made an unbelievable roasted root veggie dish, turnip, fingerling pot, carrots, onions, parsnip, galic, fresh rosemary tyme s&p evoo < shite looked bomb!!! put it in front of me, and felt like ruben. couldnt do it.

thanks for the concern, 10lbs isnt gonna kill me, i could stand to loose 20lb to be honest.
when ruben is better i will be too.
thank god i never had kids, couldnt handle it
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Ruben just tested 300 +7 Sam is on the way to vets now
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Great! Thanks for the update. We can worry about high numbers later. I'd rather have him here and safe until they get the constipation figured out.

I'm just getting to my errands. Will check back soon....hope vet helps.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

lol Sam. I trust my man,. ;-)

there are a lot of us following this event. most are not posting because you have who is needed to help you through this. too many giving advice would be too confusing and frustrating cause then you would not know who to listen too.

everyone is doing a great job.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

im here i have ruben with me. he has abdominal pain..im gonna type up what the vet said, do get you opinion. jus wanted to le you know to look for me
thanks for those that are waching that i dont know of your vines are felt be back in five after i type this up
dont know what to think, def not good bu he's here with me
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Did you have Ruben checked for pancreatitis? Not eating and abdominal pain could be indicitive of it. They can run a test right in the vets office for it. Please have it done, pancreatitis is nothing to mess with.
Pancreatitis will cause the cat to not want to eat due to pain and nausea. I would also have his liver enzymes checked as well.

Terri
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

"on exam, rubens belly was tense but the rest of his exam was unremarkable. as we wanted to make sure he didn't have any intestinal obstructions or issues with his belly pain, an abdominal ultrasound was preformed which did not show any new changes-his colon lymph nodes were sill a little enlarged, but this was present on his last ultrasound. rubens pancreas appeared normal and his stomach was empty. he did not appear constipated. as we discussed that this could be due to pancreatitis (which could be present despite a normal ultrasound)-side note i dont remember her saying that-frequent diet changes, or some other gi irritant. we gave ruben a dose of pain medication, some subcutaneous fluids, and a dose of cerenia, an anti nausea med that also has some anti pain properties. we are dispensing to you an appetite stimulant-mirtazepine.

if ruben is not eating tomorrow, he needs to be re-evaluated. dr. kessler will not be in but dr. block should be here and able to answer questions.

1. if ruben's bloood sugar is <200mg/dl tonight and he isnt eating you can try skipping his night time insulin dose, but he will need to recieve at least one dose saily. if he still isnt eating in the morning, as long as his blood sugar is >200mg/dl he should recieve 1/2 unit at least once daily.
2. monitor ruben's urine for ketones today and tomorrow. if ruben has any please contact osvs
3. please call dr kessler on thur with an update on how ruben is doing at home

medications
mirazapine 15mg.
give 1/4 tablet orally once every three days to help stimulate his appetite
this is an appetite stimulant


dr. kessler also said she is a vet but that she knows exhaustion when she sees it and to go easy tonight....yeah right. she's right but how do you tell a mother not to worry, if i knew how to do that i would.

so my questions are when to test again, honeslty we both need a brake if even for a few hours.
how do i handle numbers tonight.

how do you treat pancreatitus? she did not do blood work cause she would not get the result for a few days anyway so she said she did supportive treatment, which is what she would do if he had it < is that correct, is what she said up top the correct treatment

i felt so bad he was crying inpain during the exam then got shots fluids a pill hes so not himself

this is like whip cream on top of shite, she also said that while im doing this testing and focusing on the diabetis she doesnt want me to miss something else that might be going on. i asked what she thought and she couldnt say, hopes the treatment helps and for us to rest tonight

whats everyones thoughts? im sick, hope this med helps him not be in pain. when he hurts i hurt too.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

he still doesnt want ot eat, which i assumed but he did eat one of those temptations treats
hes smelling around he house for something, i think it may be the treats coudlnt say for sure. dont know what that is about but he wont relax, jsut keeps sniffing?
treat is good tho, i guess conciderinng he didnt want one earlier should i offer another one? there not fd appoved but bought them out of deperation
so confused and concerned and beside myself was a normal kitty last monday now falling apart
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

If Ruben does not eat soon please take him back to the vet and have a SNAP fPL test done for pancreatitis and have his liver enzymes checked. If a cat stops eating they can go into liver failure in a very short time.
Please I know this from experience, I lost a cat due to pancreatitis and another that went into liver failure, neither are anything to mess with.
It would depend on how serious the pancreatitis is as to how the cat can be treated. The first time my cat got it she was not a diabetic, the second time she got it was after she was diabetic. First time she had to be in the hospital for about five days.
Some people are able to treat at home with meds.

Terri
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

There are a number of GI conditions which tend to pop up in feline diabetics - pancreatitis, hepatitis, inflammatory bowel syndrome, or triaditis.

Most of the treatments are supportive - fluids, pain relief , anti-nausea meds, and appetite stimulants - and it is a matter of waiting it out.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

I know you are a vegan but have you tried either cooking a chicken breast(my cats go nuts for the smell) and love the taste when it's lukewarm or KFC?

Guys, could this also be a side effect of the flagyl?
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

The big issue is him not eating. Your vet's job today is to figure that out.
- Have her check him to see if constipation is an issue.
-Have her look in his mouth to see if there's any sort of dental trouble. My civvie, Mullet had an episode last year where he all of a sudden wouldn't eat. On the 2nd day, I brought him in, and they found he had a broken tooth that had caused sores to develop on his tongue, and it turns out eating was painful.
-Have her check to see if he's hydrated.
-Have her poke around his abdomen to see if there's any pain there.

ok I had 2 out of the four! Good that constipation doesn't seem to be a problem.
Did she check his teeth/mouth?

When I said "poke around his abdomen", I had "pancreatitis" in mind. Fluids and pain meds are two things that will help if that does turn out to be the problem.

Overall, I agree with what she told you. If he's below 200 and not eating tonight, you can skip. If so, check for ketones if you can catch him peeing.
And in the AM, if he eats or not, if he's over 200, then .5u makes sense. And if you see ketones, call them asap.
All of that sounds "good" to me.

I'm not sure what the roaming around and sniffing things is all about. He may smell "vet smells" on himself and trying to figure out where they are coming from?

CArl
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Sam

I also agree with much of what the vet said. This post I did on Pancreatitis might also be very helpful. And here is a subq video Mike, Gus, and I did to show how to give subqs at home.

I think the first thing is to be sure he has the anti nausea meds on board before you give the appetite stimulant.

So read through the post which should answer alot of questions and then let us know where you need help.

I think the recommendations on the shot tonight are fine. Stay on top of those ketone checks.

Sending you both healing vines.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

she did check his teeth.
so since he's not eating yet, skip shot, right? wait til a.m right? i think he would eat another temptations treat, but wher he's no getting insulin i dont want spike his bg, offer or not to offer treat? alreadt tried food, that was a no go.
could he be a 1x shot day kitty?
carl-thank you have genuine love and soooo much appreciation
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top