1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT EAT?!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Kinda late to the game here, but I'm trying to catch up with Ruben's drama. You're relatively nearby to me. I actually live closer to Tufts than Angell, but I've never been to Tufts. An ER visit at Angell is ~$115, if I recall correctly. Just jump on 95N and catch Rte 9 East for about 7 miles to Huntington Ave.

I have leftover fluids and needles, appetite stimulant (cyproheptidine), injectable Pepcid (famotidine), probably some antinausea meds but can't remember what; and also an extra meter (Contour) plus vial of strips from when I briefly had a sugarcat in my home awaiting DCIN transport. If any of that would be of use to you, let me know.

MJ
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

thank you mj. need to rest for now
they already gave him the appitie simulant there.
what if his number is more than 200 should i give shot? he has not eaten. do i even have to test if i know im not gonna give a shot, i need some kind of break in order to be well for ruben, my condition is getting worse and i dont know how to stop it. it like suffering mini strokes at a rapid pace.
they didnt say anything about sq fluids but i will watch the video
im not doing well, im nervous for myself, bc if i stroke what happens to ruben, but if i lay down and shut computer how do i not try to find all the info i can to help him
my left side of my body is going numb and im so dizzy, i need to know what i can do tonight to help him but help me to, what is the minimum testing i can do. its not that i wont do it, but for ruben i have to take a brake at least for tonight, in order to be here for him tomorrow. im not trying to take the focus off ruben, but its for ruben i say this. this disorder is dangerous if i dont take care of it but dont know what the balence is? i dont want to jepordize rubens care for mine, that would ultimatly be worse for me? please tell me what i can do for him and me tonight, without frrling guilty for trying to relax. im the only one here to take care of him.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

update....he's eating...omg
what next? ill let you know how much when he's done
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

crap it was only a lick, but its a good sign, for the mornign, should i withhold food tonight after say 11pm so he's hungry in the am? or not cause he still has a depot and hasnt eaten all day?
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Sammy, you have invested a tremendous amount of love, time and money. I believe that for tonight you should monitor Ruben, get a pm bg, if he goes in litter box to get a urine test,shut down the computer for a few hours then RELAX, and spend some one on one time with Ruben. You need to step back and eat dinner, regroup, breath and know that Ruben will be ok. Try just for tonight to simplify things. Do a second bg around 11pm and then go to bed and get a good nights rest. I am your Mom and am concerned about your health and recent diagnosis. Im sure all here will agree for you to rest. you are burning the candle at both ends.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

DJ and Donovan left you a message here on this page. go to his ss and read his notes...lol I think you will relate to his comments
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

mom- "the waste a strip day" comment almost made me pee....hysterical can already tell i like them lots....too funny best part of my day
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

ruben still wont lay down and relax...seems funny, you think he would be tired from going to the vets want him to rest
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

I agree that you should get some rest tonight Sam. If you need to skip a shot just for your own sanity, so be it. I would try to get a ketone test for sure tho, especially if you skip tonight. He does still have a depot, so just because you don't shoot, doesn't mean he won't be getting any insulin, but try to relax and get some sleep. If you're not at your best, you can't do your best for Ruben. You're doing everything possible for him, just know you are a wonderful mom!
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Did you do Ruben pm BG? I didnt see it posted? Ruben will settle down soon.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Samantha,

I'm going to say this from the perspective of a father with a 26 year old daughter, who I love more than any single thing on God's green earth.

Listen to your Mother.

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

i havent done a test yet, he seems to agitated (not mean-more like unable to settle down) gonna try to lay down and see if he joins me.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

i havent done a test yet, he seems to agitated (not mean-more like unable to settle down) gonna try to lay down and see if he joins me.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

mommy - take off the candle!! thats for a cat that has passed on!!!!
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

I would keep feeding - he needs his nutrition and needs some food in him. You can worry about the impact on his blood glucose etc later.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

he seems hungry but wont ea his food, dont know if I should offer kibble ( not fd approved ) especially if he hasnt had his shot, already tried bb food. shoudl i try gl or jsut leave his fancy feast out and he'll eat it when he's hungry enough he seems really weird and off. like he cant relax. hasnt laid down since we got home?
hoping to head to bed soon. need some rest. haven tested, im lying down at the moment
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

You could try crushing a little kibble on his fancy feast and see if he will eat that. At this point I am more worried about him not eating than his BG.
 
Re: 1/29 Ruben amps 389 +3 230 +4.75 236 +6 214 still WONT E

Samantha

I'm sorry....my best friend needed me and I had to leave as soon as I got home. Just walked in in time to do Gracie's shot.

I'm with Carl. Listen to your mother. She is wise and you absolutely must take care of yourself and rest. While we typically recommend you get a test if you aren't going to shoot, he can't hypo without a shot tonight. If you are up to it, try to get him to eat some and if not, put a ton of food down and get some rest. Tomorrow when you are feeling better, you can work at getting him to eat.

The mirtz will make him sniff around and act agitated. The behavior you described is normal when they give mirtz. I just wish vets would consider nausea before they give an appetite stimulant. If they did not give him pain meds there, be sure you give him some before you go to bed if it's time.

Take care of you. We''ll be here tomorrow and you can focus on him again then but tonight...focus on you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

And also...MJ is an amazing, wonderful, generous, person. I would take her up on her offer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top