1/29 Mao amps 338 +3 82 +4 57

Status
Not open for further replies.

miaomi

Member Since 2013
Pmps 399
+3 45 fed hc
+3.15 59
+3.30 76


I am going to test her every 15 minuets, if the number are above 50, should I feed the hc food or lc food, how much can I feed her?
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45

Feed 1-2 tsp of high carb food and test again in 20 minutes. It takes 20-30 minutes for the food to go from the tummy to the blood stream.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45

Sorry, I meant to add, if she comes above 50, you can feed a bit of low carb food.

And now Mao has earned that decrease down to .75U.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45

OK. Her # is 79 now. How much lc food can I feed her. Her number is rising.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45

Julie, could you update your first subject line with your new numbers?

You can feed her a couple tsp of low carb food now. I'd test again in an hour if you can set an alarm for an hour for now. The high carb food can wear off and the numbers could come down again. One thing to always have handy is the post on handling low numbers. I have it printed out in case power should ever go out or I can't get on my computer when I need it.

If Mao is still below 100 in an hour from now, you have a couple options. If you could, I'd test again an hour after that.You do want two stable or rising numbers without influence of food before calling it a night. If you can't get up again, leave how some food for her to snack on if her numbers go low again. With my kitty, I find that high carb food lasts about 2 hours, then the numbers can come down again.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +3.30 76 +4.15 89

Or test again (which was my first thought anyway before saying 20-30 minutes) like Wendy suggested. Good job on bringing Mao's # up! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +3.30 76 +4.15 89

As Angela said, she is coming up nicely and not too quickly. This is the range of numbers that heals the pancreas. :-D

I usually test once an hour if above 80 and more frequently if below, depending on where in the cycle my cat is. If the last high carb food you gave her was at +3, you won't have long to wait to see how she's doing. If you test around +5 and she hasn't gone down, you can go to bed. Leave out low carb food if you are worried.

Great job handling the numbers tonight Julie!
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +3.30 76 +4.15 89

+4.50 83 lower than +4.15, I fed her little LC food, she's starving.

+4.15 89
+4.50 83 pooped, fed LC
+5.40 126
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

Don't forget to put her #s in the spread sheet so that others can take a look at how she's doing. It looks like she's coming down again. Are you able to get another test in to be sure she isn't?
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

OK. I just tested her, her number was 126 after eating little LC food. She wants to eat now. Should I give her food?
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

How much longer do you have before her next shot time? I think part of the protocol states to not feed 2 hours before the shot.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

I give the insulin at 11 am. So I can feed her right?
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

You're in Connecticut, which is 2 hours ahead of me, I think, which would make your current time at 7:00 a.m. I'd say sure, but a small amount, like a snack. You don't want to give a whole lot, though, as it could raise her #s too much. Then, hold off until shot time, unless someone else with more experience than I have tells you otherwise.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

I forgot to mention.. Feed a small snack of LC food, not medium or high, just low. The other 2 carb foods will raise her too much. You don't want that.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

My time is 6:12a.m. Have you gone to bed yet? It's late. I fed her little bit food mixed with water, she is so hungry. It's LC.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

Until she gets regulated, she's going to want to eat all the time. I've been through this very same thing, and so have others on here. After rethinking this, you can feed her up to 2 hours before shot time, however, I would do snacks, though, just to keep her tummy happy for a bit... maybe give a snack every hour.

I've been to bed at 10, but been awake since 2 this morning. I'll take a nap later, maybe. I'll be fine.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao +3 45 +3.15 59 +4.15 89 +4.5 83

Hi guys .. wow, what an exciting night! And congrats on the reducie! I love seeing the support on this board, it's what makes it so amazing .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/29 Mao amps 338

Thank you guys for all your help. Mao had been shaking lot this morning, she's so hungry and I fed her lot. She stopped shivering after she felt full. I have been thinking that Mao maybe need to be fed more food frequently because she pooped lot and does not digest will. She has to keep some food in her stomach or body.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao amps 338 +2.15 111 possible other below 50?

Yes, I think she does not have enough food in her system. I just called my vet and expecting a returning call. The reading after +2.15 was 111, that's scaring, she may have other low reading today.
My vet just called me, she said she wanted to have more tests done, she wanted to do the B12, PFL, and Folic, so the appointment's set up on Saturday.
 
Re: 1/29 Mao amps 338 +2.15 111 possible other below 50?

If you are worried about her, it's OK to give Mao some high carb food now to slow her down. She just earned a reduction to .75U and this may be the depot from yesterday's 1U that is making her go low today.

You might want to ask your vet about digestive enzymes. It sounds like Mao isn't processing her food right. Maybe some probiotics?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top