? 1/29 Luna AMPS: 83; +3: 65; +3.5 103; +6 108

Michaela & Luna

Member Since 2021
I think Luna just earned a dose reduction from 0.25U! The next step is 0.1U, correct?

She just tested @65 on an Alphatrak. She's eating some medium carb food now and we will continue to monitor her throughout the day. UPDATE: +3.5 tested @103.

She had a solid green day yesterday. We were nervous to shoot @ 83 this morning but felt willing to give it a go since we can be home and monitoring all day. Is there anything else I am missing? We just need to keep a close eye on her right?

I've noticed that midday she is often at a slightly higher BG than her preshot numbers. Does anyone have any idea what that could be about?

Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-25-luna-amps-79-4-123-pmps-116.258387/#post-2905155
 
Last edited:
Hi Michaela looking at the TR protocol I could be wrong , I don't think Luna earned a reduction yet. I will tag a few members for you that are more experienced than me
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
Hi Michaela looking at the TR protocol I could be wrong , I don't think Luna earned a reduction yet. I will tag a few members for you.
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Hi Diane! We are using an Alphatrak meter so from my understanding the dose reduction happens at 68 instead of 50. Thank you for tagging the experts! I could definitely be wrong about when it's time to reduce. We just started TR like a week ago.
 
Hi Diane! We are using an Alphatrak meter so from my understanding the dose reduction happens at 68 instead of 50. Thank you for tagging the experts! I could definitely be wrong about when it's time to reduce. We just started TR like a week ago.
I think you may be thinking about this
On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number compared to 68 on the AT2.
Meaning you will need to intervene with food to bring the BG number up

I'm going to tag them again who are more experienced than me when it comes to dosing ,ladies please read her post #1, #7 and her SS from what I can tell is that she is dosing based on the pre shots, not nadar, but what do I know I don't want to give her any wrong information


Hi Michaela looking at the TR protocol I could be wrong , I don't think Luna earned a reduction yet. I will tag a few members for you.
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Adding
@FrostD

@Katherine&Ruby

@Christie & Maverick

@Chris & China (GA)

@Sue and Luci
 
Last edited:
Did you give insulin on 1-28 at PMPS it's blank, if you didn't put NS for no shot
Are you back to using the Alpha Trak? Only asking is because I see on your SS you tested with the Relion because you ran out of strips .
Most of us use the Relion or other human meters , that's what our numbers are based on
 
Last edited:
Did you give insulin on 1-28 at PMPS it's blank, if you didn't put NS for no shot
Are you back to using the Alpha Trak? Only asking is because I see on your SS you tested with the Relion because you ran out of strips .
Most of us use the Relion or other human meters , that's what our numbers are based on
Whoops forgot to fill in last night's dose. We gave the usual 0.25U. Yes we are back on alphatrak, it was just those two tests that were done on relion, as marked in the spreadsheet.
 
I thought it was any time a kitty goes hypo you were supposed to reduce the dose, and 65 on an alphatrak is considered hypo. I could totally be misunderstanding though so I am looking forward to more guidance!
 
Back
Top